We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hawaiian Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mokuaikaua Church

Mokuaikaua Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #22 of 128 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1836 by Boston missionaries.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hawaiian Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Attended church here on our vacation in Kailua Kona. The people were very friendly. The service was wonderful! Beautiful Hawaiian music and hula praising our Lord.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynette58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    122
    44
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful old church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

You can see the love andc raftmanship hip that went into this building. Whether you are a religious person or a lover of fine architecture you'll find Mokuaikua Church worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraJean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing Point, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“what a beautiful little church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have been to Kona three times and although I am not a religious person, I always seem to be drawn into this little gem for a quick visit. The work that the missionaries put into building this church that still stands proud today is worth a look and is beautifully done inside and out . I was told that it was built with no nails to fasten the timber inside like we do it now and it is a work of art
Well worth some time to have a close look.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love the history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Love the history about this church. It's well kept and there is a little cemetery in the front of the church. Enjoy going to different churches around the world. This was a quick little tour.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

For me this was a miss...not much to read or see. I'm glad I didn't go out of my way to see the church.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokuaikaua Church also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mokuaikaua Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing