We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Owner”
Review of Kona Country Club

Kona Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kona Country Club has been designed by William Bell and sits along the Pacific Ocean with stunning mountain views. This beautiful golf course has breathtaking Kona coastline views, trails of ancient lava flow and is enriched with Hawaiian culture and wild life. This Big Island golf course can be enjoyed by both beginners and advanced golfers. Built in 1966, this William Bell designed course maintains its charm by incorporating natural settings along the Pacific Ocean. Be ready to take a picture on our signature holes #3 and #12. Enjoy seeing the grand splash on hole #13 where you will see the blow hole known as "puka" in Hawaiian. Keep a lookout for Humpback whales during November through March. Home of LPGA Takefuji Classic in 2000 and 2001, this 18 hole championship course offers wide, lush fairways, Bermuda grass greens and numerous sand bunkers.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beware of Owner”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have taken golf lessons at the country club and had breakfast and lunch in their Vista Restaurant. Everything is lovely - unless the owner is in town. This course and restaurant are his personal toys at that time. Expect your tee time to be cancelled so he doesn't have to see anyone else while he plays a round. And if you have reservations at the restaurant, better have a back-up plan because he doesn't allow anyone else there while entertaining his friends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
278 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Now just before you tee off!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

b'fast is always great and the wait help right on top of it. The view is grand and parking is no problem unless there is a tourney going on. Clean, chef is always spot on the food is hot. The bar is so so, golfers talking about the missed putts and such. I miss about 2-3 per hole and score donuts a lot. The ball rolls makai all the time so watch that. fun in any case. then drive south down the road to the end of the world and walk the shore...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs a little sprucing up”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We've golfed here for several years in January. This year we found the Ocean and Mountain courses in need of work; particularly the cart paths. We also had multiple mix ups with our bookings. Several times we booked the Ocean but were put on the Mountain. We also miss the fact this club is no longer part of Golf Hawaii.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Ottawa_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We will be playing the two courses later in the week but our group walked down to the resturant and had breakfast. The setting is fantastic looking down toward the bay and Sheraton hotel. Food was excellent and very reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank rstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean views”
Reviewed January 26, 2013



Some holes have beautiful ocean views. Course is not in good shape. Look for deals and don't pay full price. Staff could be friendlier. Course allows fivesomes and we are a twosome behind them.

Helpful?
Thank wendy0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Country Club also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing