We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation home”
other travelers have booked this property
Snorkeling with Honu right offshore at Hale Honu, Turtle Cove, Kailua-Kona
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snorkeling with Honu right offshore at Hale Honu, Turtle Cove, Kailua-Kona
Yes, Hale Honu is right on the ocean! Hale Honu view toward the south from Lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Snorkeling with Honu right offshore at Hale Honu, Turtle Cove, Kailua-Kona
Yes, Hale Honu is right on the ocean!
Hale Honu view toward the south from Lanai
Hale Honu view toward the North from Lanai
Breaching Humpback.  Photo taken from Hale Honu lanai, January 2015
Kitchen, Bamboo Flooring
Kitchen, Bamboo Flooring
Upstairs living room.
Master Bed Room, King Bed facing ocean
Master bathroom, jetted tub
view from master bed
Viewed through the upper floor bedroom windows, the sun sets on another perfect day at Hale Honu
Ground Floor Studio / Suite King Bed
Ground floor studio living room
Kitchen in ground level studio suite
3rd bedroom upstairs.  Head of bed looks to ocean, side looks to Pahoehoe Park next door
Hot Tub at the Ocean's Edge (5-6 person Hot Springs Spa)
This is the beach 300 feet away -Magic Sands is a popular swimming and boogie-boarding beach
View of Turtle Cove from Lanai.  We enter ocean from here
Imagine yourself here without another care in the world!
Hawaiian Sea Turtle ~ 'Honu' ~ in Turtle Cove
Spinner Dolphins putting on a show in Turtle Cove, Hale Honu, January 2015
'Honu' (sea turtle) at Pahoehoe Park 50 feet from house
Honu on Pahoehoe Beach.  Hale Honu is in the back ground
Keiki on beach at Pahoehoe Beach, photo from Hale Honu lanai
Hale Honu Sunset
'Lay aside all earthly cares' here at Hale Honu
Panoramic Sunset over turtle cove
Yoga sessions in Pahoehoe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vittorio...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation home”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Now that we are back on the mainland I'd like to thank you for making your beautiful house on the Big Island available to us. It was my 70th birthday and I had decided to bring my entire family, my wife, my first son, his wife and their three children, my second son and his wife (they got married on July 1st) and my daughter. We all had a great time in the house, dining on the lanai, watching the sunset, going to beaches, the volcano and to Mauna Kea. Both the main house and the studio were ideal for our stay. Kitchen fully equipped, beach amenities, beds, towels, etc. all perfect. The proximity to the White Sands beach made it a favorite for the kids. We’ll have pleasant memories for a long time.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravBugs0...
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stumbled upon Hale Hona after a so-so stay at a large resort in the area. We were so glad we did! All the provisions you could ask for, a beautiful property, wonderful hosts, and an incredible on-the-water location. Close to Kona town and a gorgeous swimming beach. You can watch the sea turtles and fish swim 30 feet from the patio. It was the perfect stay for us; highly highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular ocean side house with turtles and amazing sunsets.”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The house is really nice and comfortable. Well equipped kitchen, wonderful balcony, hot tub, snorkeling gear, beach towels, everything you need for beach. Ocean views and sun sets kept us on the balcony for hours. I would go back in a second!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Property - Great Location”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As advertised, Hale Honu has all amenities you will need for a great vacation. We bought some groceries on day 1 - but did not want for anything after that. Every detail addressed from snorkel gear, towels, etc to fully stocked kitchen with spices and condiments. Washing machine, grill, hot tub all worked very well - no issues at all. Buy yourself some Kona whole been coffee and use the bean grinder for a fresh pot every day.

We had six in our party - my wife and I in master upstairs, my kids each had a room upstairs. My brother and his wife downstairs in efficiency. It was perfect for our group. Easily could accommodate a third couple in the 2nd bedroom upstairs instead of a single. 3rd bedroom is a bit cozy for two.

The close proximity to town is very nice. Other reviews noted ocean noise from surf at night- duh, you are staying at an ocean front property. If this bothers you, stay elsewhere.

We snorkeled with the turtles several days - my wife and kids counted six on the last day we were there. Entry is a bit tricky - follow the recommendations from Pete and you will be fine.

I set this trip up for the family and got high praise from our entire group on the selection of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, View, well stocked house
Liked least: Bugs at night - remember to shut doors or turn off lights after dusk
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelina...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property was amazing! The hosts have thought of everything. I don't know where to begin...the various deck areas lend themselves to amazing views, regarding of the time of day. We loved watching the sea turtles and colorful tropical fish, which could be seen from all areas of the property. The property is comprised of a downstairs studio, and upstairs living unit. We traveled with 3 teenagers so we thought it might be prudent to rent the entire property, which ended up working for us. This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we can't wait to return...hopefully Hale Honu House will be available as we will definitely return!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Offerred all the comforts of home!
Liked least: road noise behind the property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Aloha David and Angelina! Mahalo nui loa for choosing Hale Honu. We're happy you loved your first trip to Hawaii and that Hale Honu was a big part of a great vacation for your family, and that our efforts to "think of everything" are recognized and appreciated. Look us us when you come back ~ we plan on keeping this gem in our family In perpetuity!
With warmest aloha ~ Peter and Darla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Getaway in Paradise”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having just closed our stressful business and retired, my wife and I needed a place to escape, think and rejuvenate as we finally now have the time to actually enjoy life as it is meant to be. Jill found the HALE HONU HOUSE on line and booked a six day stay. To say the property met all of our expectations is an understatement. We went to sleep to the sound of the surf and spent idyllic days and nights in a truly gorgeous very private oceanfront home. While close to the many attractions of Kailua-Kona village, we found great contentment just hanging out in the honeymoon suite with all the windows open or outside in the covered lanai. Our hosts, Peter and Darla, could not have been more attentive to our every need. Thanks to both of you guys for a truly memorable and very relaxing vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Oceanfront location
Liked least: There is nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of ocean
Liked least: Can be windy there
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing