We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical morning watching whales”

Living Ocean Adventures
Ranked #70 of 132 things to do in Kailua-Kona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kona Whale Watching and Sport Fishing Charters--------------------------------------------------------------------------------Year-round, off the Kona Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii Recommended by Travel BooksCaptain Tom BottrellLiving Ocean Adventures offers personalized boat charters (six-passengers maximum) with owner-operator Captain Tom Bottrell, a professionally trained marine ecologist and USCG licensed Master since 1977, aboard his Bertram 31' Sportfisherman SPINNER. Captain Tom sailed into Kona in 1975 with Project Jonah to study whales and dolphins, and has been here ever since.
western Mass
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical morning watching whales”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a fantastic time with Captain Tom. I'd never seen a whale in the wild before until we went out on the Spinner and saw one, then two, and a third humpback breach! We saw many more humpbacks that morning, and loads of spinner dolphins. The spinner dolphins actually approached the boat and jumped and spun in the air all over the place - the babies, too! A friend of ours who was there with us that day got some really nice photos with a good zoom lens with an image stabilizer. For the dolphins, the zoom would have hardly been necessary. Captain Tom was very knowledgable about the whales and dolphins. It was great to have the boat to ourselves - we were able to move to whatever part of the boat offered the best view without worry of blocking anyone's view or vice versa. Tom was also very helpful and flexible in scheduling our trip - we didn't plan it as far ahead as some people might but he was still able to accommodate us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiknLitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Whale and dolphin watching with Captain Tom”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful experience on this whale and dolphin watching cruise. Our party (5 of us) met at 7:00 am at the marina. The boat was easy to find and Captain Tom was cordial and friendly. We had the boat to ourselves. I understand that it accommodates up to six people. Water is offered on board and there is a cooler for guests to use.
We were out for a little over 4 hours. The sunrise over the mountain peaks viewed from the boat was lovely. We saw numerous humpback whales, some of them breeching, a mother humpback and her calf and several huge pods of spinner dolphins and spotted dolphins. Captain Tom made sure that we go a good view of both whales and dolphins without disturbing the ocean wildlife. Captain Tom is extremely knowledgeable concerning wildlife and we enjoyed his narrative. We had a wonderful time and wholeheartedly recommend this excursion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ed_hendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Whale Watching Tour!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Captain Tom at Living Ocean Adventures took my family on a private whale watching charter in early January. We left the dock before the sun was up and were treated to a magnificent view of the sunrise from the boat (which was impeccably clean!). Captain Tom was incredibly knowledgeable and certainly knew how to "read the whales". We saw a minimum of 15 whales on our trip. What was especially neat is how Captain Tom respected the whales, unlike some zodiac boats who are only on the ocean for a cheap thrill. Our trip lasted 4 hours which was a great amount of time. I recommend this tour for any potential whale watchers out there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale watch and sport fishing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

4hrs of non-stopcruise speed no fishing offered once on boat. Very load engines, 2x4-53 Detroit Diesels. Overall all in our party was very disapointed with the exclusive charter.

Helpful?
Thank SCOTT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOA113, Owner at Living Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
All activities on a 4 hr. exclusive charter are approved by the charterers. Fishing is done by trolling at 8 kts. Fishing is always offered therefore it must have been turned down by a member of the charter group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing in every aspect!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Their staff made us feel extremely comfortable, gave us all the information we needed along with some additional helpful facts. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy, and got to see and do everything we wanted and more! couldn't have asked for a better tour and would recommend anyone and everyone! whether looking for a thrill and adventurous time, or a calm relaxing one, they can help to make sure you see and do what you want!

We went scuba diving and they made sure we saw a huge variety of sea life from multiple sea turtles and eels, to scorpion and puffer fish. Amazing trip and will be sure to visit them again for another great trip when i return to the island!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank cstrombeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Ocean Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Living Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing