We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
amazing experience with a cool team!

stephanie and i (yannik) made a night dive and saw some very beautiful mantas and other interesting... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Safari12497666406
via mobile
One of the best dive operators anywhere!

I have been diving for nearly 40 years and Kona Diving Company is one of best. They are extremely... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CNMark
Read all 1,237 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
from $85.00
More Info
from $220.32
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
from $287.96
More Info
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveler rating
1,188
32
6
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,188
32
6
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manta night dive dive master brownie dive shop hot shower the big island fish air consumption great dive two tank morning dives safety stop experienced divers captain mike eagle rays octopus rental gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We had our dive booked for a Monday, but upon their recommendation (which we greatly appreciated--they could have kept our money for a bad dive in bad conditions) we rebooked two days later. All equipment was top notch, great briefings, and dive masters were very attentive to detail and safety...and good sense of humor, too. While the mantas didn't show (and they had not for about 10 days running), Ian had Plan 'B' for us, which was a great night dive on the reef. Still worth it. They even offered half price manta dive in the future, which was quite generous. Alas, we had to fly out two days hence, but hope to return. Great operation.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Navy-CU-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We did four great dive days with Kona.

Each of our in-water dive guides -- Mark, Ian, Imran, and David -- were fun, friendly, helpful and informative. The boats were well run, uncrowded and well kept up (as was the rental gear). The guides made sure we were properly weighted and made sure that didn't miss the underwater highlights. The lunch wraps, salty snacks, and sodas were well stocked and fresh, and they happily accommodated us as vegetarians. Of course, there was also the owner's fresh baked, signature brownies on board. Yum.

Both captains, Jeff and Nate, were also very knowledgeable and friendly and encouraged us go up the ladder to the top of the boat where they were steering.

Tiger sharks were on our wish list, and Kona chose spots that gave us the best chance. Whether it was fish, structure, good photos, Kona made the adjustment to suit the needs of those on board. Even though the mantas didn't show for our night dive, our guide turned the dive into an exploration of the reef and its active night life. Afterwards, Kona made suggestions on where the mantas might show on other nights and how to see them.

Our guides were well informed about the reef and ecosystem, showing pictures pre-dive and looking up the oddball creatures we had seen. Each guide also had an underwater slate to point out things they hadn't showed us on the surface. We were coached about reef-friendly sunscreen, and one of our guides, Imran, even started a program handing out free re-usable metal straws to keep plastics out of the oceans.

We dive all over the world, and this is clearly a top company. We are not alone in this opinion; most of the others on-board were return divers with Kona... "the only Big Island company we will dive with". 'Nuf said!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank SaidWhatWhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

Me and my husband dove with KDC for 5 days in Kona. We dove with David, Mark, Kerry, Haley and Daniel.

All of them displayed the same attributes that makes them stand out from other dive outfits. The professionalism with a mix of fun and laid back energy, the attentiveness to each diver's needs, the profound knowledge and passion about marine life, the brilliant spotting skills underwater and of course the amazing brownies makes them distinctively KDC.

KDC has boats that are very well suited for diving. Easy entry and exit, nice warm shower and sufficient comfortable seatings. The 'Hale Kai' and the 'Imi Kai' are the only boats that I've been on that provides conditioner onboard.

For me personally what I appreciate the most about this dive shop is the detail attention they gave to each diver. I lost my fin buckle during a snorkle session and had to use their fins. Kerry noticed how flimpsy the fins are for me and offered a better pairs for me to try out.

They also noticed that my husband was wearing weights high up on his body for trimming purpose and they suggested steel tank instead so he be more comfortable underwater.

If there is one teeny bit issue would be the check in. Perhaps there was some confusion that we received our schedule and the map on the first day but we didn't.
The only thing we received was an email with a summary of our dives prior and the only timing stated was on the first day. For the rest of the days we didn't really know what are the timings.

When we enquired through the office staff, the response was rather unfriendly which was quite surprising.

Nonetheless I would still come back to KDC and highly recommend them as I truly had a fantastic time.

Highlight of our dives would be the mantas, tiger sharks, hawksbill turtles, snowflake eel, harlequin shrimp, 7/11 crab, squids, frog fishes, giant trevillis, barracuda, Morey eel eating a fish... it's a circus down there.

All thanks to the good folks from KDC.

Mahalo

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Fathiahlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

KDC is a great diving company and well worth its money. We did the 2 tank manta dive with them, which was absolutely amazing!! Luke, our divemaster, gave an extensive explanation about gear, safety on bord, the dive sites and sealife. He was a professional dive guide, respectful to nature and fish. We felt safe during both dives, had plenty of time underwater and were shown lots of rare fish. We saw Manta Rays on both dives and were lucky enough to watch 7 Mantas during the night dive for an hour! There was plenty of food and drinks on board. Dive gear was new and assembled for us. Jeremy, the captain of our boat, was very attentive and helpful as well. Would highly recommend to choose this diving company!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 725nadinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Wow, we did the 2 dive Manta trip. What an experience, beginning with the staff. Sara, Daniel and captain Nate were incredibly nice and made the trip so much fun. Our guide Daniel was very knowledgeable about the local fishes and did a really good job during the dives, finding a lot of interesting things to see. Before the night dive Sara did a great and very entertaining briefing about the mantas. Both Sara and Daniel are passionate about their work and it makes a world of difference. Of course seeing the manta ray was an incredible and humbling experience that will stay with us for a long time. I highly recommend choosing this company for your diving while in Kona.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews