We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Absolute Best Dive Operation in the state of Hawaii”

Kona Diving Company
Ranked #4 of 200 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2014, Kona Diving Company offers SCUBA diving adventures off of their custom dive boat on the Kona coast of the Big Island of Hawaii. Contact us for certification of all levels, introductory dives & night dives/manta ray dives. Multi-day dive packages available. A wonderful shop and friendly staff will welcome you!
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best Dive Operation in the state of Hawaii”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My first dive with KDC was in March 2013 and I've been hooked ever since. This is a Full Service dive operation. Your job is to dive and have fun. Their job is to make sure that happens and they do it with great enthusiasm and expertise.
Your gear is set up for you, you are given an excellent briefing on what to expect at each dive site, your comfort is assured.
The dive masters will take you to the most beautiful places; amazing vistas, unique underwater topography, abundant and diverse ocean creatures are yours to discover.
During the surface interval there are tasty grinds: wraps, sodas, hot tea, water (and Very Delicious Fresh Homemade Brownies).
Should there be something particularly interesting while the boat is headed somewhere (next site or back to the harbor) such as a pod of dolphins or some whales then you'll get to enjoy that, too!
I cannot make enough positive comments to describe this crew. They are knowledgable, they are fun, they are like family and I recommend them highly if you want to have an amazing dive experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lorwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    23
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fun, Friendly, and Fantastic”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

These guys were great and they really make you feel at home on the boat. The Manta Ray Night Dive was a highlight as Big Bertha a 14' pregnant Manta flew over our heads repeatedly.

We also had beautiful clear warm water and they stay in with you until you use up your air so I really got good dives for my money staying in over 90 minutes for each dive.

Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_Wakeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still great”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Still the best dive operator in the area. Very friendly, knowledgeable, safe and fun! The dive leaders and crew are all long termers and therefor are very familiar with the dive sites and the wildlife. Really, I haven't found a nicer group anywhere! You know they are good when you see people who live on the island diving with them over and over.
I will note that they now have a 48 hour cancellation policy which I ran into because of an illness. However they were more than generous in how they handled it. I will be back (actually already scheduled it!).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nudibranch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“made our 25th”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

we spent an evening with the crew on our usa tour for our 25th made us feel welcome my husband dives and i only snorkel a fab time was had by both of us an afternoon in the water followed by a break and some info on the mantas before our night time manta experience we were the last ones in and the last ones out and all the other boat crews had left leaving our boat the only one there so we had the mantas all to ourselves a fab experience just trying to save to do it all again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“another great dive at Kona”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

One of the best , if not the best diving company on the Island. Friendly staff, great food/snacks,, and just a great diving company to dive with

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Diving Company also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Diving Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing