We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Awesome! Mike is the best!”

Kona Mike's Surf Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf lessons, stand up paddle lessons and guided tours - for beginners and experienced surfers - with the best instructors on the Big Island! We surf twice a day, seven days a week. Book your adventure today!
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome! Mike is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Semi-private lesson -- two kids w/one instructor. Fuzzy was the best! Well-organized and efficient operation...no wasted time. Great instruction had them surfing in on time. The bay used for the lessons is perfect -- great waves for learning and excellent photo-ops for moms and dads. The only issue was finding the "shop." The tent is located in the Ali'i Gardens Marketplace on Ali'i Drive and is not marked well. Other than this hiccup, the overall experience was excellent. HIGHLY recommend Mike!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Oregon
1 review
“Efficient, well organized, and safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Did a group lesson with three other people that I didn't now and had a blast. Got up my 4th try! Instruction was clear and safe. They used two instuctors because the current was really strong ( local shops wouldn't even rent boards due to current). Your shoulders will be wasted from paddling, two hours ends up being plenty of time. Good company!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kona Mike's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I did a 2 hour private surf lesson with Logan. We had great conditions and Logan had me up on my first wave. Would definetely use them again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank H8954BVds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Supportive & Chill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The lesson was the right balance of chill and encouraging. Mike was supportive, providing the great pointers and advise. I'd highly recommend a lesson with Kona Mike's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton on
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surf's up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Mike and Logan were awesome surf instructors. They were patient and informative. They kept with and encouraging us. Highly recommended by both myself an my husband.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Melanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Mike's Surf Adventures also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Mike's Surf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing