We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii
Ranked #9 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in the cottage and we truly spoiled on our vacation. Banana pancakes, waffles, omlettes, fresh fruit, hot coffee, and juices were served on various mornings and were all delicious. Dolores provided beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, coolers and lots of other beach equip. to make our vacation run smoother.

The B&B is in a very quiet and safe residential area with a great view of the ocean. We loved the cottage b/c it felt so private. There were so many nice things about the cottage-Dolores makes it feel like home with many small touches (you'll have to stay there to understand!) The bed was so comfortable after a long day kayaking. The kitchen was well-equipped with everything we needed to make a meal (no stove, but who wants to cook on vacation?) The entire cottage was pristine.

We fell in love with the Big Island and when we return, we will definitely book our room at 1st Class B&B! Say hello to Dolores from Chris & Amy!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaTravelGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Setagaya, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We stayed at 1st Class Bed & Breakfast for about a week for our honeymoon. The B&B is located about 10 minutes from the center of Kona, and has a very quiet, peaceful atmosphere. The cottage we stayed in was beautiful and spacious. It was also very clean and tidy. Dolores cooks you a wonderful breakfast - waffles, omelettes, pancakes, scrambled eggs, etc. - every morning. She was also very flexible and prepared breakfast early for our volcano tour and to catch our flight on the day we leave. She also had boogie boards, cooler boxes, snorkels, fins, beach mats, beach towels, etc., to use which really helped. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay with Dolores and if we ever come back to the Big Island again, we will definitely stay at 1st Class B&B.

  • Liked — Breakfasts, amenities
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Windbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Nice, clean B&B run by an elderly woman in a quiet residential neighborhood about 900 feet in elevation above the town of Kailua-Kona. Quick drive into town for scuba, dining etc, but away from the noise and traffic.
Delores is nice, cooks a great breakfast, but is kind of inflexible when it comes to breakfast time, not wearing shoes in the rooms, etc. She seemed to be having some health issues in May and may not be able to run the B&B much longer.

  • Liked — awesome views from the breakfast table
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank solarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 9, 2006

We have traveled throughout the county and have never found a place like “First Class B&B.” The rooms are spotless, the views are breath taking, the weather is perfect, and the breakfast is the best. Dolores is one of the nicest, friendliest person we have ever met. Our conversations over breakfast and coffee lasted hours. She is a pleasure to talk to. We truly made a new friend. From the time we arrived we knew that our stay here would be the best part of our trip. We are already planning our trip next year and plan to stay here the entire time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

We stayed in the studio suite of this B&B and loved it. It was tastefully decorated and was kept immaculately clean. It felt like a home away from home. The hostess is a delightful person that is easy to visit with and has a huge wealth of information about the big island.
We stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

This B&B offers consistent high levels of service and outstanding gourmet breakfast. The Inn is located in a quiet residential area and offers a stand-alone cottage and very secluded studio, each with stand alone accomodations (including bath!). The main Lanai of the house is the perfect gathering spot to sit, watch the sunset, and "talk story".

Yes, do plan on driving in to town. It's a whole five minute drive and worth it just to people watch. The town isn't that big with parking spots off the main drag where you can easily find a space, park the car, and enjoy; I recommend the lot behind LuLu's.

Delores is a gracious hostess. Just as she's fanatical about offering a clean environment, we reciprocate by keeping the place clean. Having lived in Hawaii, we're familiar with island life. For those who have not traveled to a tropical envionrment, take a lesson from Delores on how to prevent unwanted guests in your room.

Its part of our holiday schedule to visit 1st Class B&B and Delores has become part of our family. You won't be disappointed with her charm and wit, the accomodations, and by far, the varied activities of visitng the Big Island. Mahalo.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachBoyKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

This is not a typical Bed and Breakfast. The Studio and Guest House offer spacious accomodations with great views of the coast. Located on a hill overlooking Kailua-Kona, sunsets are spectacular from the second story Lanai. The property is immaculate, and the tropical flowers and plants remind you how special it is to be in Hawaii. Cooked-to-order gourmet breakfasts are a great way to start the day before heading out to tour the island. What's especially nice is Delores' attention to detail, and for repeat guests, she even remembers your preference of juice, coffee or tea. Fresh tropical fruit native to the Islands is served with every breakfast. A bonus is her flexibility and consideration of any dietary needs you may have.

Delores is a wonderful hostess, and her knowledge of the Island and its charm is welcomed. It's a short drive in to town (about five minutes), and it's peaceful and quiet at night as you relax after touring the Island.

Staying at the property is a treat, and our decision to return again has confirmed that Delores knows her customers, knows the Island, and her class and poise define First Class Bed and Breakfast.

We could stay at any one of the expansive resorts on the Island, yet migrate to First Class knowing the experience is one of the high points while spending time on the Big Island. It's becoming a tradition for us to spend time at First Class Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank KBrownKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.6 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii

Property: 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii
Address: 77-6504 Kilohana St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9744 (Formerly 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolores, your hostess of this first class vacation rental is located on the slopes of Kailua-Kona Hawaii overlooking the Kailua-Kona coastline and Kailua-Kona Bay. Located 11 miles from Kailua-Kona's airport, 4 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona Hawaii and 2 miles from the best snorkeling beaches in all the Islands of Hawaii. Dolores, a Kailua-Kona resident for 41 years and a hostess for 30 years is delighted to guide and direct her guests during their visit to the Big Island of Hawaii. In addition nearby: Fine Ambiance Dining to Local Ethnic Food, Shopping, Beaches-Beach Activities, SCUBA, Snorkeling, rental offers immaculate accommodations for special guests lodging in luxury,overlooking Kailua-Kona Bay.Your hostess also offers fresh bathing towels, trash pick-up & light house cleaning. Private Entrances Air-conditioning Wireless Internet Private Bath Custom Decor Kitchenette Cable Remote Color TV/CD Tape Stereo Beach Towels, Mats, Chairs, Umbrellas, Coolers and Boogie Boards Beautiful Views & More Light Housekeeping is Offered as a Courtesy Plus Other Little Amenities to Make Your Stay Special & Wonderful Experience. Cottage and Studio are smoke free. 3 night minimum stay - for stays of 2 nights add $10/night Check-in: 4pm to 5pm; Check-out: 11amCheck in times are stated above unless otherwise agreed to. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1st Class b&b Kona Hawaii
1st Class Bed And Breakfast Kona Hawaii Hotel Kailua-Kona
1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing