We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sunsets, good location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Nalu

Kona Nalu
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Nalu
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunsets, good location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We enjoyed 6 nights at Kona Nalu #105, the condo was the best part of the trip, the sunsets from the lanai, the sound of crashing waves. The decor was pleasing and everything was satisfactory. There are boogie boards, beach towels for use. The bathroom towels could have been updated, they are very rough, however. There were a couple lightbulbs out, but everything else was great! We arrived to music, lights on and cool central air. That was very appreciated. Visit Huggo's for dinner when there. The island is pretty spread out, so plan your time wisely! If you go, this condo would be my choice! Especially if you don't care for the big resorts and having to walk a distance to get through hotels. Having a home away from home is so much better! Abbey Vacations is A plus!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annettencalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

We have stayed in #301 numerous times. What a wonderful place. The owners are updating it constantly, with new linens and up to date furniture and colors. The locationis fabulous, you couldn't be any closer to the ocean. The whales are great to watch along with the spinner dolphins and sea turtles. The sunsets cannot be beat. I would highly recommend #301 at the Kona Nalu, Kona, Hawaii The lanai is the BEST!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youandmeinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed in unit 105, managed by Abbey Vacation Rentals.

We loved the location--right on the ocean!--close enough to hear the surf crashing all night long when we slept with our patio doors open. We ate every meal on the lanai to enjoy the ocean view. We could walk to a nearby small beach (a short but tricky walk over some lava), perfect for kids, and one afternoon 4 big turtles swam with us for about 3 hours. They were so close that they occasionally bumped into us while swimming. Wow.

We liked the decorating scheme, and the furniture was all quite comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked, and we really appreciated having sand toys and boogie boards and beach towels included. (One suggestion: it would have been great to have a portable crib--I imagine other families would really appreciate having this as well.)

Our big complaint was the general grunge. The condo had been cleaned as well as possible, and we didn't see any bugs. But either the unit was getting old, or corners were cut in the building process. The 2nd bathroom had lots of mildew; paint was flaking off of the lanai table and chairs (pretty yucky when the kids tracked that into the condo); the keys to the pool were unnecessary because the locks were rusted out; the pool shower had become detached from the fence and was hanging at an angle; etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed here in April 2008. All the pics show is the gorgeous view, and a fairly nice living and master. What they don't show is a horribly old and outdated tiny, closed-in kitchen overrun with ants everywhere and god knows what else. Then if you have CHILDREN BEWARE, many unsecured cabinets holding insecticides, toxic paint cans and many other harmful products. Shouldn't all this be stored off site or locked at least? Front bedroom is way far from master which is connected to the lanai. It is right beside the parking area with an easily accessible window . I could not put my child that far from me and moved a bed next to ours. Sunquest was an absolute nightmare to deal with. There was a note upon arrival saying the cabinets had been repainted that day!!! The fumes were unbearable, and I was pregnant besides, and my mother has asthma and Sunquest thought this was fine??!!!! Just awful...I have seen other updated units in this complex that had removed kitchen walls that changed the layout and had everything updated. I wish we would have seen them before...The only nice point was a bit of sand for some beachcombing outfront with our 4 year old was fun and the view was really nice. We saw dolphins one day and whales. I would say any other unit here might be better. Just research!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

My wife and I recently returned from a week at Kona nalu unit # 302. The property is about 3 miles south of Kailua Kona, so far enough away to be quiet, but very conventient to downtown shopping, etc.

The complex sits on a small beach, with a reef right out front where turtles could be observed feeding in the mornings. The lights of Kona are visible from the deck, and sunsets are perfect!

The complex is relatively small, with only 15 condos. Each condo is enormous though, with expansive decks, and is very clean and well maintained. Each one is decorated by the owner, so I cannot comment on other units.

Unit 302 was very well furnished, with light fabrics and carpets, and very complete linens and kitchen furnishings. In addition, beach chairs, umbrellas, and a cooler were all available to borrow from the unit.

The rate was comparable to other units in the area, and we both feel that we got a lot more than we paid for. This was our 6th trip to Hawaii, and by far the best condo we've found.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — Parking was a little tight
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mgershenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.0 mi away
Kona Seaspray
Kona Seaspray
#13 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#4 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#10 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#27 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kona Billfisher
Kona Billfisher
#22 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Nalu

Property: Kona Nalu
Address: 76-6212 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Nalu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Nalu Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing