We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, very comfortable condo”
Review of Kona Banyan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Banyan Tree
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great views, very comfortable condo”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed in Banyan Tree #405 in early February 2011. This is a very nice, renovated unit with lots of amenities. We stayed with another couple and had plenty of room. We used the well-equipped kitchen for almost all our meals. It has granite counter tops, updated appliances, and a great view of the ocean through the living/dining area and lanai. Internet is provided but we could not get the wireless connected and had to use our cable to connect.

We particularly enjoyed the surfers, boogie boarders, and paddle boarders right out in front. They provided all day entertainment. The pool area was great with a hot tub and comfortable furniture. While there is only one gas grill we experienced no waits, grilling 4 nights out of 7. Security is excellent with a code required for the elevator and the pool area. We felt very safe here. We appreciated the elevator to haul groceries and luggage.

There are a few negatives: noise from Ali’i Drive in the second bedroom (moderated by the layout of the building); a narrow lanai that does not facilitate outside dining by more than two people; and, a master bathroom without a door to shut it off from the kitchen/dining area. Even a curtain across the doorway would help the situation considerably.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterwizard_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
183 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here in unit 32 in May 2010 with my wife and three small children. The apartment was fantastic and much better that i was expecting. Right on the ocean. There were lots of little extras like boogie boards, snorkels & flippers, coolers, multiple guide books, etc. The kitchen was well stocked with spices, sugar, coffee and many other things that other people had left.

It was very nice to sit and watch the surfers on the waves. The surfers were out practically all day.

Unit 32 was furnished to a very high level (much better that some of the other units). The master en-suite shower has these funky lava heads around the wall of the shower and a cool pebble stone floor. I would definitely stay here again. My children keep asking to go again!

NH
Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rautakallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife, Niece and I spent 10-days at this beautiful ocean front condo (#302) in January, 2011. We found the view/proximity of the ocean spectacular. The condo is tastefully decorated from top to bottom, including the travertine bathrooms/showers. Beds are comfortable, kitchen is well equiped. The condo is equiped with WiFi, flat screen TVs and every other entertainment gadget one may desire. The printer came in handy for printing boarding passes for our return flight home. The condo is well-stocked with all things related to snorkeling/water activities clear down to foot protection for exploring the lava rock tidal pools adjacent the property. We found the on-site manager (Dana) to be very pleasant/helpful with local directions, activity suggestions, etc. Parking (covered) is very convenient to the building elevator which was very helpful in lugging in/out all those must-have vacation items/groceries, etc.

We would definitely book this condo again and certainly recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stever127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed with friends at the Banyon Tree - Unit No. 302, for 2 weeks in December/2010 and it was an awesome holiday. Don't believe any of the negative reviews of the area as we felt very safe and had a wonderful time mingling with the locals. Our condo was the perfect location, nearly overhanging the ocean, a free show every day by the local surfers, and a perfect sunset every evening. The condo itself was lovely and equipped with everything you can imagine, the owners had thought of everything. The complex manager was wonderful and very accommodating. We are saving our nickles...we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We spent a wonderful week relaxing at this condo over Christmas. The condo is beautifully updated and remodeled. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the location right on the ocean. We loved going to sleep to the sound of crashing waves and waking up to hear the surfers already out in the ocean in the morning. Sunsets were incredible. The condo is equipped with a washer/dryer, a full kitchen of appliances and everything you need to take to the beach; including boogie boards, coolers, snorkel gear, towels, chairs and an umbrella. Fishing gear too. This condo is in a good location with covered parking and provides a great homebase for exploring the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FCP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

A very cute condo literally on the water's edge - it was great fun to watch the surfers - who seemed to almost surf up to our windows! Likewise the sunsets - a truly beautiful spot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lam1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

WE stayed in condo 302 at the Banyan tree condos, and had the best time we have had in a long long time. We watched the turtles, dolphins, and surfers from our deck every day. The place was clean and pristine. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rowzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
586 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Banyan Tree

Property: Kona Banyan Tree
Address: 76-6288 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2324
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree is a small complex of 20 individually owned condos. There is a mix of owners who live full-time at the complex, owners who live part-time at the complex, long term rentals and owners who vacation rent their condos when they are not staying in them. Every condo is uniquely decorated by their owners. No two are alike! You are not just renting a condo, you are renting someone's home. Each condo does have a full kitchen, no kitchenettes here. There is a heated pool and an adults only hot tub. Check-in/out details and rental policies are different for each condo. The owner or rental agency will give you instructions. There is not a front desk or office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Banyan Tree Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Banyan Tree Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing