We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view - it doesn't get much better!”
Review of Kona Banyan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Banyan Tree
Reviewed November 16, 2010

A very cute condo literally on the water's edge - it was great fun to watch the surfers - who seemed to almost surf up to our windows! Likewise the sunsets - a truly beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank lam1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

WE stayed in condo 302 at the Banyan tree condos, and had the best time we have had in a long long time. We watched the turtles, dolphins, and surfers from our deck every day. The place was clean and pristine. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rowzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

What a fantastic discovery! This beautiful complex sits right onthe ocean, with one of the few OCEAN FRONT POOLS in Kailua-Kona! Covered parking, beautiful shared common spaces. Stayed in unit 302 which took my breath away when we stepped insode. There are floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean with a spectacular view--Check out the pics we got of the amazing sunsets from the lanai. Full kitchen was well stocked with equipment and great spice collection too! Master bed was devine and we left the screen open to hear the ocean at night. Everything done in tastefully elegant Hawaiian style furnishings. Daughter liked the spacious second bedroom with the "Woodies and surfboards" theme. Also a full supply of beach toys, chairs, games. Really liked the location too. Close to everything and handy convenience store right across the street. No reason to stay ANYWHERE ELSE when we come back to the BIG ISLAND!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fperf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I booked via VRBO listing #254626, which listed Unit #401 as a "luxury condo". The listing also indicated that the condo had been renovated in 2008, but the bathrooms and kitchens were outdated and in need of renovation. So I was a little disappointed when I saw that the condo was not recently updated...I have booked many places through VRBO in the past, and every time I have been pleasantly surprised by how much better the places were than how they looked on-line. This is the first time that I have been a little disappointed.

However, the condo was clean, and the oceanfront location was spectacular. There is a palm tree right in front of the balcony, but it only blocked our view of the surfers and provided us with some shade in the afternoon and evening. The building and pool area was very well maintained and felt very safe, and the other residents were friendly.

This unit did have air conditioning, although we never used it . The oceanfront location provided a nice breeze, and we just used the desk fans within the unit while the kids were napping in the afternoon and sometimes at night. The kitchen was not as well-supplied as was implied when we booked - there wasn't even a pair of scissors and it was obvious that all the utensils/appliances and pots/pans were second-hand or very cheap (except for the brand new microwave). And I was shocked at the ancient rice cooker sitting in the pantry! There were no extra bed sheets as indicated in their inventory list, so that was annoying given we stayed for 10 days and the washing machine was very small.

Overall, everything was sufficient and we had a great time on the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanna100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This is property is a hidden gem. My partner and I loved the centralized location, picture perfect ocean front property, and modern living space. The condo included a well equipped full size kitchen, tasteful decor, and a view that is to die for. Oh and there is a washer and dryer in the unit. We had dinner on the balcony while watching the sunset every night. The building amenities included: Pool, Jacuzzi, BBQ, parking space and secured access to condos. The pool overlooked ocean with plush grass.

Great value for location.

Cons - located on busy Alii drive. No central air, unit gets very hot while washer and dryer are running.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atomicroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Can't imagine going anywhere else. This Ocean Front is awesome. Starting with working with the owner we had a good feeling about our vacation. Getting access to the property when perfect. Our first walk down the hallway to the living room was absolutely breath taking and every time after was the same. Well furnished and ready to go, could not be better. The view great and the sunsets where postcard perfect. We saw and watched fish, sea turtles swimming right from the Lanai and or living room couch. Surfers from sun raise to sunset everyday. Professional photographers taking action shoots from the beach of the surfers. Snorkeling only minutes away. Downtown Kona only minutes away also. Perfect location. The sound of the surf in every room. We highly recommend to anyone or family. Would love to come back to Banyan Tree again. Thank you for a vacation of a life time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kwajsandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Are you kidding me? It was so dirty and run down, we refused to stay there. They did give us a full refund, however.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank onthegoCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
1.0 mi away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Banyan Tree

Address: 76-6288 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2324
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree is a small complex of 20 individually owned condos. There is a mix of owners who live full-time at the complex, owners who live part-time at the complex, long term rentals and owners who vacation rent their condos when they are not staying in them. Every condo is uniquely decorated by their owners. No two are alike! You are not just renting a condo, you are renting someone's home. Each condo does have a full kitchen, no kitchenettes here. There is a heated pool and an adults only hot tub. Check-in/out details and rental policies are different for each condo. The owner or rental agency will give you instructions. There is not a front desk or office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Banyan Tree Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Banyan Tree Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing