We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Kona Magic Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Magic Sands
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and stayed for a week in unit 311 and really enjoyed it. Think of it as studio apartment directly above the surf with a killer sunset view. The unit was well furnished. From the lanai we watched surfers and boarders, saw fish and turtles in the waves (the water is that clear), and enjoyed glorious sunsets. The unit does not have AC but fans and the evening breeze make it quite comfortable. The complex is far enough south of the busy tourist area of Kona to be quiet and within a short drive to shopping and restaurants. The complex is well maintained with gas grills and a pool. One word of caution--with the doors open and a high surf the wave noise is fairly loud. Hardly a large issue in the grand scheme of things.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quieter and have a better surf view. Choose a room with a lanai to enjoy coff...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Kona Magic Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our second stay at Kona Magic Sands and we love the complex. The unit (#208) we stayed in the last time was a disappointment. This time we stayed in Unit 310 and loved it! When we arrived there were fresh flowers and I loved the way the unit was decorated. The murphy bed was comfortable and we left it down for our entire stay (it was not in the way). We usually snorkel in front of the condo but there was a large south swell which did not allow us to this time. When we arrived there was sand on the Magic Sands Beach but a couple days after the south swell hit, the sand was gone. Now we know why it is called Magic Sands. The one drawback: there is no elevator but the view from the condo is worth climbing 3 short flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend in April 2013. Perfect location on the ocean. Stay on 3rd floor at the south end. Good snorkeling and boogie boarding beach next door. About a mile from grocery shopping. Great condo

Room Tip: 3rd floor room 304 305 306
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank calsun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The negatives first - Can you say small? Secondly, the unit is best suited for a couple or a family of very small statue. The unit, while decorated very nicely is very small. Two adults have difficulty walking past each other in the space where you can. Everyone of us got popped by the ceiling fan (would suggest flush mount).

Now the positive - It was magical to look out the veranda and see the beautiful blue ocean below you. Magic Sand Beach, right next store was a great place to boogie board and snorkel - obvious favorite hang out the the locals. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Weber gas grills (2) and a great little pool that was hardly used. We were fortunate to meet some condo owners and got to tour their units - each was different in relationship to the layouts. One couple said they never rent to any more then couples because of the size of the units. Our unit was beautifully furnished with high-end teak furniture. If it was just my wife and I we would rent it again - but as long as we have even one of our kinds with us we will look for another property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just returned from several nights in Unit 108 at Magic Sands. Our condo had been recently redone and was small, but very nice and clean. It is centrally located near kona downtown, shopping and restaurants. The condo had everything we needed and was very economical, allowing us to do some more expensive tours. Room was very quiet at night, except for the waves :) We slept with the lanai doors open, no A/C.

Magic Sands beach is right next door, but with young kids at least in April, we found it not to be a good beach for us. The pool was nice and all rooms have an ocean view. The Murphy Bed was great, the foldout was okay for the kids but way too lumpy for adults.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Magic Sands #311 8 nights for our Anniversary. This unit is very comfortable with beautiful views of the Ocean. You can see the Yellow Tang and many other fish
from the lanai. This is a very quiet complex, the only thing you hear is the waves crashng in front which can be very loud at times but can be controled by how wide you open the lanai doors. The other residents are very friendly. We used the gas BBQ's a couple times, make sure you clean when your done. There were Boogie Boards in the unit which saved a couple dollars on rental. Great waves next door at the Beach. The lanai has bar stool height table and chairs which I really like, so you are above the railing for views, not looking through the railing like at hotels. We saw spinner dolphins go by in the mornings and a couples whales spouting off in the distance. There is a nice pool and assigned parking so your not always looking for a spot. There is no elevator so if you have bad knees choose a lower unit. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was great for making breakfast. If you like maid service or room service this isn't for you. The only thng we found that could be improved is the water pressure. Had a great experience, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay in Kona Magic Sands. Unit #307 have been recently redecorated and it feels clean. All the units in this block have a rather small kitchen area. The location is just perfect: a great beach a few steps outside and renovated facilities (BBQ, pool, and reserved car park). Units belong to private owners, so the quality can vary tremendously. Look around for reviews and ask the owner when the flat was last redecorated and to what exent.

The each is called Magic Sands because every year between Christmas and New Year the sand get washed away and rocks are exposed. During spring the cycle closes as waves carry new sand. If you happen to be there in summer there are a few sea turtles that like to visit the beach, they are not shy and somentimes bump into you if you stay in the water to the waist.

Thank Paolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaspray
Kona Seaspray
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#32 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
446 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#12 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#4 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Magic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Magic Sands

Address: 77-6452 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $182 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kona Magic Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kona Magic Sands Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Magic Sands Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing