We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“303 Magic Sands”
Review of Kona Magic Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Magic Sands
Quadra Island BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“303 Magic Sands”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a fabulous condo unit with the beach next door. It iis well situated on the third floor with a great view of the ocean activity, dolphins, turtles, and colorful fish (the spinner dolphins put on a great display for an hour). Sunsets are, of course, dramatic and watching the swimmers in the surf is a hoot. The condo has been completely redone and the owners have done it in a classy style, the lighting, furnishings, kitchen, bath, bed, all of it was perfect. The owners are most helpful and accommodating. You can't go wrong renting this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank buckaroo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    18
    14
    12
See reviews for
16
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This location is perfect if you want to stay close to Kailua's touristy area but far enough away for it to be quiet.

Pros:
- Beautiful view of the water (I got to see dolphins playing one morning!)
- Great kitchen -- fully stocked with tools, pans, utensils, etc.
- Plenty of towels for showering, beach and kitchen.
- Good hair dryer and straightener!
- Washer and dryer with detergent and dryer sheets
- Snorkel gear!

Cons:
- No in unit wifi, we stole from someone else.
- Bed is VERY firm, too much for us.
- Bathroom is a little too open ... noise wise.

Overall, a fantastic place and we would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The bedding was worn. I found some newer sheets in a closet which I put on the bed. The bed is hard and well worn. Some of the furniture have rips in them. At least the TV is new and the place is clean. If you want to see and hear ocean waves, this is the place, but don't expect more than bare-bones accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a great get-away spot for my hubby and me.The studio was clean, cute, and roomy. The bed was extra comfy, and everything we needed was there from cooking apparatus, to seasonings, to boogie boards! We ate on pretty dishes at a table practically on the ocean. The view was stunning, and we could even watch colored fish in the water from inside the condo. The ocean sounds soothed us to sleep, and mornings brought the chance to play at the lovely white sandy beach next door. We swam in clear water with sea turtles and saw spinner dolphins in the distance. A truly magical Hawaiian vacation!

Room Tip: Units are individually owned and maintained. 310 was one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed there this summer in unit 106 it was great. We found the unit in vrbo.com. We were a little apprehensiveness at first due to the large deposit $500.00. But after we communicated with the owners we realized they had allot of amenities worth protecting and they just purchased two 21 speed mountain bikes. Hey we left too early to enter Ironman championship "might of won". The place had everything you needed in it. Like laundry soap and even quarters for the machines. The laundry room is clean and down the corridor. My wife made me carry the laundry so I know. There was a nice king bed with lots of pillow and the bedding was new. We liked the pool our friends would come over from the other hotels because my pool was ocean front and not crowded. We were right there and handed out the drinks through the sliding glass door, all of our drinks were in plastic cups. The owner did have nice dishes and margarita glasses. Hey even the big flat screen turned out and faced the pool was able to pick up the ball games and won my bet. So going back to the chores of cooking for our pool buddies we had a nice little kitchen with everything you needed and more. Plus we had allot of towels and our friends used them and there was still more in the linen closet. The unit is 1st floor so no stairs to climb and the view is great being by the pool and interacting with the other travelers. I had to help a couple old people carry their luggage up the flight of stairs. They wanted to trade for a lower unit after they found out there was no elevator. The building is a concrete so there is no upstairs noise unless you are yelling up to your buddies. Well that's it for the place I will stay again and I like the Debbie and Dave they were great owners and their help only a phone call away. As for the magic sands beach next door it was gone there was a little sand. So the pool and studio made up for it along with my new friends. Much maholo and aloha from the future Hawaiin after we save up.

Room Tip: Go to VRBO.com and check out their sight if there is no deposit required they have nothing to loose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in this wonderful unit for 7 days in late July (just came back) and simply can’t say enough great things about it. This complex is located on the best beach in Kona. Location couldn't have been better. It is a short driving distance to lots of shopping and dining options, quite a few within walking distance. As for the unit itself, it is beautifully furnished and equipped with everything we needed or even more (they even had a wine cooler-wow ! that was awesome). Everything is brand new and good quality. The bed was large and very comfortable (there was also an extra pull-out sofa that sleeps 2). Nice finishes in the bathroom .We enjoyed being able to prepare our own food (the kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals) and eat it on the nicely furnished Lanai watching incredible sunsets. We also found the sounds of the waves very relaxing. A few great restaurants are within walking distance, if you feel you need a break from cooking. The third floor location adds more privacy as neighbor condos cannot see down into your space. The beach is right there below, just walk out the door, down the stairs and there you are. Perfect for swimming or snorkeling. This complex has also a swimming pool and barbeque grill – which we used a lot. There was central air conditioning, but we found it to be comfortable with the fans and the ocean breezes. We have been to Big Island several times, but this was our first condo experience in Hawaii and this was by far the most enjoyable stay. The price is very affordable too, not cheap but much less than hotel/resort and the experience of being in your own condo is MUCH better than what you'd experience in a hotel. We don’t know any hotel located so close to the ocean. You can almost touch the waves from the lanai. This place is simply magic. We highly recommend it to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nycman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The condo is simple and modest but quite clean. This unit is great because it is one of the few in the building with a large lanai (balcony). The lanai and the condo are VERY close to the ocean so you can see the tropical fish swimming in the ocean just by standing on the balcony - no snorkel required. The magic sands beach is a few steps away and has great boogie boarding - a turtle swam at my feet a few steps from shore! If you love the sound of the ocean - this is the place for you! The condo is conveniently located along alii drive a few minutes drive from the main shopping strip. We had great day trips to Honauanau (incredible snorkeling), Mauna Kea and waipio valley.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hikergirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaspray
Kona Seaspray
#13 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
0.9 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#29 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#4 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Magic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Magic Sands

Property: Kona Magic Sands
Address: 77-6452 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kona Magic Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kona Magic Sands Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Magic Sands Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing