We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible staff dirty rooms cold hot tub”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kona Islander Inn
Amery
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible staff dirty rooms cold hot tub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The worst customer service a place could have. No aloha spirit. The girl at the deck says they are oblivious to complaints they get so many!! No parking I had to park around the block and pay $5.00 a night. The electricity went off in my room in the middle of the night. I called security and they did not answer their phone, but I could hear it ringing in another room?!? After a half an hour of that I called the manager left a message. Then called security a few more times. I called the next number for the manager and here is where it gets good. He wants to know what I am doing up at that hour! Going to the BATHROOM I say. He tells me to call security that they live on site. I tell him I have been calling for the last 45 minutes. He then says he is not driving all the way there to flip a breaker. Showed up at 7:15 in the morning. When I thanked him he got in my face. I had to toss out the warm milk and melted ice cream. the manager guy says not his problem he works for the building not the hotel. The girl at the desk just shrugged it off cause I hear they get so many complaints they are oblivious to them! No Aloha spirit or customer service whatsoever. Every time i went through the lobby another guest was there with a problem or complaint.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this dump, with the rude manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LEVONAmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    55
    49
    74
See reviews for
53
137
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

loved it! The property location is perfect, close to everything. Nice getaway for our family. Beautiful Gounds! Friendly staff. I will return. The rooms needs some help, though what do you expect for a budget room! We changed out the shower head because it fell off when showering, no problem! The landscaping Department is doing an absolutely awesome job in maintaining the grounds. Nice pool area, BBQ grills, coolplace to hang out.

Room Tip: lower numbers are situated near convenience parking stalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After reading some of the scathing reviews, I was bracing for a poor experience. However I was pleasantly surprised with all facets of my stay. The staff were responsive, helpful and kind. The room will never be confused with a five star hotel- but this is not a five star hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and the kitchenette had a nice toaster oven, microwave and coffee maker.
While I didn't try the pool or hot tub, or the poolside BBQ, they all looked clean and inviting. And the location was just perfect- a stone's throw to the ocean and a nice walk to the center of Kailua Kona.
In short, I would return to the Kona Islander Inn without hesitation and recommend it to family and friends... unless they were looking for a five star resort, in which case I'd tell them to quit trying to find one for under $100 a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

No customer service what so ever! In fact, they are rude! They will tell you to buy your on toilet paper for the room. Unbelievable! There are plenty of other hotels who are friendly and offer better accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Covington, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading reviews I expected what I got so was not disappointed. Pool Grounds & lobby are nice. My room had a view of the ocean so it was one of the better units. Walking distance to everything. The bed was comfortable enough. didn't try the couch hide a bed. Took a while to figure it out but the wicker furniture is what smells so mildewed. Stop at Walmart and spray its face daily with Febreeze in order to endure. Wash the dishes everyday because the cabinet does have bugs that leave sawdust each night. Staff was friendly & easy to deal with. Only one towel change per week but again...got what I expected & it is Hawaii!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was hesitant to reserve a room (actually a small time-share apt) here through Hotwire but went ahead and did so because of the awesome deal I got on the nightly rate. The room was very 'retro'...definitely nothing fancy and the bed was hard but it was clean, cool, and convenient to everything in Kona. Within walking distance to shopping and eating...close to Walmart and Target. Staff was friendly, grounds are AMAZING! If you are traveling to Kona to see the sights and experience Hawaii, this is the perfect place for just a room and a shower. Get out and go! This is not a luxury accomodation by any means but it met our needs and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deidre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in # 223 in Feb 2012 for three nights. It is a clean and newly remodelled unit that I rented directly from the owner. The location is unbeatable for the price - I paid about $320, taxes and cleaning fee included. Close to shops, restaurants and there is a farmer's market about a block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#10 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kona Billfisher
Kona Billfisher
#22 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Islander Inn

Property: Kona Islander Inn
Address: 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1759
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kona Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Islander Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Islander Inn Kailua Kona
Islander Inn Kona
Kona Islander Inn Hotel
Kona Islander Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing