We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst nightmare!”
Review of Kona Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kona Islander Inn
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst nightmare!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

No customer service what so ever! In fact, they are rude! They will tell you to buy your on toilet paper for the room. Unbelievable! There are plenty of other hotels who are friendly and offer better accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    55
    50
    76
See reviews for
53
140
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading reviews I expected what I got so was not disappointed. Pool Grounds & lobby are nice. My room had a view of the ocean so it was one of the better units. Walking distance to everything. The bed was comfortable enough. didn't try the couch hide a bed. Took a while to figure it out but the wicker furniture is what smells so mildewed. Stop at Walmart and spray its face daily with Febreeze in order to endure. Wash the dishes everyday because the cabinet does have bugs that leave sawdust each night. Staff was friendly & easy to deal with. Only one towel change per week but again...got what I expected & it is Hawaii!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was hesitant to reserve a room (actually a small time-share apt) here through Hotwire but went ahead and did so because of the awesome deal I got on the nightly rate. The room was very 'retro'...definitely nothing fancy and the bed was hard but it was clean, cool, and convenient to everything in Kona. Within walking distance to shopping and eating...close to Walmart and Target. Staff was friendly, grounds are AMAZING! If you are traveling to Kona to see the sights and experience Hawaii, this is the perfect place for just a room and a shower. Get out and go! This is not a luxury accomodation by any means but it met our needs and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deidre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in # 223 in Feb 2012 for three nights. It is a clean and newly remodelled unit that I rented directly from the owner. The location is unbeatable for the price - I paid about $320, taxes and cleaning fee included. Close to shops, restaurants and there is a farmer's market about a block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am sitting on the Lanier of the lobby of the Kona islander inn, the best feature of the place, with the pool and the grounds however the rooms are not at all acceptable. I have never seen a place so run down, the shower filthy, curtains falling off hooks, screen door broken, little kitchenette dirty, table with old stains, rug. Ugh. I covered the bed with a new towel I bought, and did the same for my covers. I live in Hawaii, was here for the canoe races, and am not vey picky, so when I say it is an embarressment, I mean it. Please do not think this represents places on this beautiful island. And then they bill it as a five star. This is false advertising. To the places credit the staff are understanding, they only work here as rooms are individually owned. Please think about what you want before you commit to this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Atma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at #216, privately owned condo and definately agree with the previous review. I prefer dealing directly with the owner operated condos and # 216 owner's definately take pride in their ownership of their condo. When we arrived, the condo was very clean and inviting. The owners have made wonderful upgrades to their condo. The kitchen and bathroom have recently been upgraded making the area's bright and workable. The condo is pleasantly decorated and the lani looks over the pool area through wonderful plumeria trees, giving you privacy, yet also having an openess. It is so nice to sit out on the lani taking in the birds and wonderful aroma of the flowers. The owners are great to communicate with and are very helpful. They want you to enjoy their condo while you are there. I will definately be going back to Kona and will definately contact the owners of #216 to rent their condo again. Please don't let the management of this wonder place deter people from coming. There are many owner's like the ones in #216 who would probably appreciate seeing some positive reviews of those condos which are being taken care of. The Kona Islander Inn is very central to everything, it has beautiful grounds and hopefully the management will read these reviews and work towards improving their customer service and those condos which need improvements to them.

Room Tip: Recommend Room #216..the rating is for room 216 and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Alohasister3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed twice in #216 which is a privately owned condo. I was very impressed with our accommodation for a 'budget minded' traveller. This unit has a newly renovated kitchenette and bathroom. I found it to be very clean and well cared for. All the extras - boogie boards, hair dryer, cooler, beach chairs etc were fantastic. This unit overlooks the pool area, all the lit up tikis and the location can't be beat. These owners truly care about their guests stay. We are planning a return visit soon!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank westcoaststar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#31 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Islander Inn

Property: Kona Islander Inn
Address: 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1759
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Islander Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Islander Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Islander Inn Kailua Kona
Islander Inn Kona
Kona Islander Inn Hotel
Kona Islander Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing