We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last chance hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Last chance hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were looking for a single night accomodation before our flight out of Hawaii, and so close to the Christmas season, we were forced to choose this hotel. As the cheapest option, you get what you pay for. Be prepared to test your patience with the check-in desk, the single employee there took an inordinant amount of time (30+ minutes) to check us into our prepaid rooms. As a tip, print out any documents you have related to your reservation. At 3:30pm (30 minutes after their earliest check-in time), they were still cleaning our 'standard' rooms so we got upgraded to their 'superior' rooms. Couldn't honestly tell what was the upgraded feature(s). The rooms were outdated and linens threadbare, but relatively clean. A/C was very loud and minimally effective. Breakfast included coffee, juice, hollowed out papayas, and stale bread/english muffins. Their only saving grace is it's proximity to the 'downtown' area. Also, their pool looked very popular with the younger kids and their families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    113
    158
    81
    82
See reviews for
96
185
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We chose Uncle Billy for its location and price. The location was right in the centre of Kona and could not have been more perfect! The price was great but as they say - you get what you pay for. The hotel was basic, clean and very outdated. The beds were comfortable and the room serviced daily. The bathroom was old and very small. Breakfast was included in the price. It consisted of papaya, english muffins, mini muffins, toast and jam. It was nice enough but got a bit boring by the third day.
Would I stay again - maybe, but now that I know where everything is located in the town I may look at other options first.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sealeaner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here because it was the cheapest place I could find which was central. The rooms, service and breakfast are a bit miserable, and its best to spend as much time as possible not there. I also got woken up every morning by this horrible squawking noise which was the singer at breakfast, but they managed to change my room so that I didn't have such an unpleasant start to the day. Basically Uncle Billy is senile, he runs the same establishment as he did 40 or 50 years ago or whatever, and has no idea how dreadful it is in 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vamoose45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Irvine, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Ive stayed at billys so many times i have lost track. Its a good location, fair price for hawaii and the rooms are clean. this trip was early dec 2013. made the res. on the website, the official website, and check in was a breeze. the room on the 2nd floor looked like it had some fresh paint. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The remote didnt work even after a new battery was put in at the front desk. The tvs are old crt style so the coulld be better. The cable has alot of shopping channels but had all the sports and the news and a few educational ones. Pretty good.

The breakfast has really gone down hill. The old days you had a buffet then it went to a continental style. Now you toast/english muffin, papya and coffee. couldnt we have some cereal? seems a little lacking.

but, in general i am still a fan and will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

3rd time to the Islands, and I have to say.. WOW!!! Now bear in mind, (Wife and I are both in our mid-forties) I'm not one for the "Mega" hotels. When we go to Vegas, we stay off the strip (Unlce Billy's is close to the "Rat Pack" type of hotel from Vegas from years gone by). Uncle Billy's is what Hawaii used to be, and should still be. 60's style hotel, located in the center of Kona, We have been here two days already and have not had to drive anywhere. The office is in the center of the property and looks like the traditional Hawaiian village building.
Hotel Staff is AWESOME!
Rooms are nice, view of the ocean from any of the third and fourth floors. Only concern in the room was the toilet leaked when flushed. We let staff know and it was fixed within a couple of hours.
Pool looks to be maintained everyday (We are from CA so we were up around 4am local time), and we watched as they cleaned the pool both days.
If you are looking for big and flashy, maybe you should go to Maui. If you want a great affordable place to stay with friendly staff, this is the spot!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe rooms, still affordable and upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom_Amy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Why charge $5/day for parking with a free lot next door?
The faucet sink leaked by the 4th day causing water on the floor.
There was also a live big roach on the wall one morning.
The beds were okay with daily maid service.
The AC and ceiling fan kept the room comfortable.
The shower and toilet worked fine.
The continental breakfast consisted of cut papaya, mini muffins, bread or English muffins for toasting, juices from a machine dispenser, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate for beverages.
The pool was small with 5 feet on all sides. The lobby is outdoors with a hut roof. You get free wi- fi or can pay to use the lobby computer.
The location is in the heart of the tourist shops and restaurants, and you can or jog on the sidewalk near the bay beach area. There is a beach park within 5 miles of the hotel that has a concession stand for renting all the beach equipment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dandy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Uncle Billy's in Kona, at times is the most affordable place in Kona.

The rooms are basic, but if you get a room facing the front of the hotel you might get a view of the ocean. The hotel sits on Ali'i drive, and is well located. Aside from that the rooms are outdated, a bit musty and need a facelift.

Its a basic place with a decent enough continental breakfast, we would stay again if everything else was booked but would otherwise stay elsewhere.

Our next time in Kona we will be staying in a condo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
60.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Property: Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing