We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long time customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed August 25, 2013

when i go through Hawaii I stay at Billys/Kona Bay. My first visit was almost 20 years ago. the free wifi is ok, cable is ok and decor is ok. it has seen better days.

pros: location, price, parking ( for a fee of course), beds are comfy, nice furniture

people seem to complain about the price and what you get. don't forget your in Hawaii, To stay at the HNL airport will cost over 100 and that's with a view of the freeway or the airport.

at least at Billys you are a stones through from the ocean and downtown kona. staff have always been nice and i cant really complain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

i stayed here for one night because of work - it was august , the hot season - the A/C was marginal at best and everything in the room had seen better days - the carpet was worn and ratty the furniture was beat up and worn - everything said millions and millions of tourists had been thru here over the years it is what it is ,,,,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms are basic, clean and roomy. Ours had a nice lanai with view. Friendly staff. Good continental breakfast includes pastries, toast, papaya, juices and coffee. Wonderful location in the middle of Kona. Walk to shops and restaurants. Good hotel for families. Not fancy but a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great location in Kona - close to all restaurants, shops, beaches, bars etc. - walking distance. Nice farmers market just accross the road. The hotel is old and and dated. The beds are good, the rooms clean but old and worn. The batrooms small but fuctional. The price is great compared to the ridiculosly expensive resorts and includes a continental breakfast. A good place for a nigth or two. Celing fans in rooms are great and a necessity in the hot climate. You also get a small fridge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place may have been spectacular in its hay-day but today it is just plain run down-nothing like the website pics! The continental breakfast offered no more than English muffins, wheat or white bread for toast, and 2 kinds of mini muffins (the kind from Wal-Mart), and papaya slices. There was no cereal, juice, pastry, or other fruit options. The only nice part of breakfast was the ukulele songstress! Our room was dingy, needed repainting and carpet cleaning, and I found someone else’s used dental floss and hair on the shower walls! Disgusting! I will never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: This place may have been spectacular in its hay-day but today it is just plain run down-nothing like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well I swore after my last experience I would never return. I'm glad I gave them a second chance!! I was here over New year's and it was horrible! Now I'm glad I returned! I brought my family this time and it was 100% better! I now highly recommend Uncle Billy's! Fantastic Wonderful! Will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angyal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew on to Maui. It was convenient and not as expensive as many other places. We got what we paid for. I would not have stayed for more than one night since the facility is older and in need of updating. It was alright for one night though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $145 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing