We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location good, hotel ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location good, hotel ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed one night there while visiting Big Island. The location was good, right in the business area, close to the beach and restaurants. The hotel is said to be one of the older ones in Kona. The room was decent size; things look old and worn; the room still looked clean. Breakfast was included, very simple continental style, by the pool. The wifi was free but hard to get on, except when in early morning.

The hotel was close to the street. At night, noise was trivial when some folks were having a good time out there with loud music and talking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat2012NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    102
    145
    74
    69
See reviews for
85
163
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

.....location is smack in the middle of town/where the action is...had a room on ground level facing Alii Drive...you can hear the action...room was clean but worn...adequate & in the style of 'old Hawaii'/retro...friendly & helpful staff...Uncle Billy was zooming around in his wheelchair making sure all was well! Great Farmer's Market is next door...shops, restaurants, historical places, more, are all nearby!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Located in main Kona shopping area and it is very noisy. Each morning 5:30AM - 6AM you can hear various machines that are used to clean Kona’s Ali drive. Inside of your room you can easily hear what your neighbor is doing in bathroom.
Room has very small refrigerator, coffee maker but no microwave. Complimentary breakfast includes terrible coffee, juices ( juice machine was broken the first 2 days), bread, jam, butter, and papaya. And it is absolutely the same each morning.
Parking is 5$ per day plus taxes.
Pool is dirty and it is better not to use.
Only one advantage is: it can be very cheap as a part of some vacation packages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitaliy94080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have come to the conclusion that it often is better to take the best room at an inexpensive hotel, than a standard room at an expensive one. Uncle Billy's was quite alright. The location is perfect, and they have a small pool. Breakfast was included although not very tasty or healthy, but the lines for the two toasters became very long after 8 am. Bring your own cheese or whatever you want to put on the bread, instead of not so nice "butter" and jam, and/or whatever you like to eat in the morning - there is a fridge in the room. We had a deluxe room on the highest, 4th, floor, and could see the ocean from the balcony. I would stay there again, especially if I was out and about during the day. The parking was 5 usd/day, but just a few steps behind the hotel parking there was a free parking area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location is great for shopping & water access. Having a fridge in the room was nice. Ice machine was only on ground floor - would have been nice having ice machines on all floors. Complementary breakfast is blah. Looks like they used to have a bar which was closed. We watched a number of people drinking beer by the pool & as soon as we went out the the pool, we were told "Alcohol is not allowed by the pool." No fitness center. Rooms were time-worn. Toilet paper was not replaced by housekeeping when it was low & we ran out. Air Conditioning did not work well so we left the balcony door open. Temperature was fine with the open balcony door, BUT, people (including employees) smoked & chatted below our outside balcony & that kind of stunk as well as disturbing our sleep. We were supposedly in a non-smoking room so the smokers below us were annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualitygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I thought I was laid back but, Uncle Billy's is way laid back and zI would recommend it to anyone coming to Kona. Centrally located in the middle of it all. Price is right, rooms are comfortable and staff is very nice. There might be some small issues, but deal with it. Take your time and enjoy where you are at in the first place. Mahalo

Room Tip: just plan ahead and made your choices early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edoetschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The ocean front location and charming layout of the hotel make up for the run down rooms. Open air balcony with a view was nice too.
The free Wi Fi did not work very well but Lava Java a few doors down had Wi Fi and excellent latte's and food. Uncle Billy's price was great for the prime location.
Love the fresh papaya for breakfast!! My family only wanted fresh local fruit while we were in Hawaii anyways so the Farmers and Flea Market directly next door with all the ripe fresh fruit and produce we could have hoped for made our location all the better.
Did paddle boarding a few doors down at Hyper and had the time of our lives!
I would stay at Uncle Billy's again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,534 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Property: Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing