We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
42
122
180
93
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
122
180
93
100
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 537 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

To be honest, we didn't stay at Uncle Billy's initially because of the negative reviews we read. So we booked into the Kona Seaside. Well they didn't have a lot of the ammenities that Uncle Billy's had, and were more expensive!

The room was extremely clean. the king size bed was cushy comfy, with FIVE very fluffy pillows. There was a hair dryer and large TV in the room.

The internet was free in the room and around the complex.

The complimentary breakfast was great. very fresh. We stayed for a week, so the only complaint would have been that a variety of fruit would have been nice, but that's not really a complaint, cuz it was lovely.

The whole wing we were in was completely non-smoking, in fact with a $200 fine if even a whif was smelt in the room, which was reassuring.

The staff were soooo friendly and helpful.

I would not hesitate one bit to recommend Uncle Billy's hotel in Kona.

yes, it is an older hotel, and the outside sure could use some upkeep/updating but for a place to rest or head after a great day exploring Kona, we could not have asked for a better place.

Room Tip: The top floor are the larger rooms, but you hear everything at night from way down the beach - all the karaoke and live bands.... not that there's anything wrong with that. There is free parking in the lot directly behind Uncle Billy's parking lot. ask at the front desk and they will tell you.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Aloha GandK2012

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay! I’m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us in Kona; here at Uncle Billy’s we extend our warmest aloha to all of our guests visiting our beautiful island. And as you stated in your review we do offer more amenities such as free wifi and free continental breakfast at a great low rate. I’m glad that you decided to give us a try despite the negative reviews, it just goes to show that you can’t believe everything you read on the internet :).

Everyone is entitled to form their own opinions but sometimes one person’s opinion may not necessarily be the same as your own; thank you for choosing to form your own opinion.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent our last night in Kona here on Dec 29, 2011 as we had an early morning flight the next morning. We booked it last minute for $89. It's a budget hotel that isn't fancy but the bonus was a washer/dryer on the 3rd floor where our room was located and thus I could do a laundry. We packed carry-on bags for our 2 week holiday and needed a 1/2 way spot to clean the clothes ... this was the perfect timing and was convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha jjwtoronto

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay. We are budget hotel and we offer good amenities at a great rate and I’m pleased to hear that we were able to offer a convenient and pleasant stay for you on your vacation. Not all hotels have laundry facilities but we’ve found that our guests really do appreciate having them available.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Friendly front desk staff, good location in the heart of Kona and inclusion of continental breakfast (fresh fruit, toast etc) made for a great 1 night stay in Kona. Hotel is definitely older, however for the price, the room was more than adequate for our family of 4 as a place to rest our heads for the night. Our room, with lanai, faced the main street - Ali'i Drive and the ocean.
Although we didn't use the pool, it looked pleasant. Recommend this place for short stays if traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha Fav4

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay. As you mention in your review we are a budget hotel but for the amenities (such as free continental breakfast and free wifi to name a few) you certainly can’t beat the price. And of course you can’t go wrong with our friendly staff and great location in the heart of Kailua Kona!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I'm not a usual 2-star hotel customer... but, the selection was either this or something over $300 per night. I was expecting simple accommodations but this was pretty run down. On the positive side, we had a decent TV with an adequate number of channels, good water pressure, clean pool, sweet receptionist, and tolerable beds. On the negative side, the bathroom is super small and needs new grout (mildew). The sink area is lit by one old fluorescent light, only two towels and two washcloths were given with two tiny bars of soap and the whole room had a hint of urine. Cheap but not my style.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly_Daul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha TravelinMom201

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay Hotel. As you mentioned we are a budget hotel and we offer our guests a variety of amenities such as the ones you listed as well as free wifi and continental breakfast at a reasonable price. We aren’t the fanciest hotel but we pride ourselves on our aloha and treat all of our guests like ohana (family). I’ve informed management of the issues you mentioned in your review and maintenance has taken measures to ensure that these issues have been resolved.

Thank you again for your review and if you would like to provide any input/feedback on your experience I encourage you to email us at reservations@unclebilly.com.

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

If you are looking for a place just to sleep, this is the place for you. The price is reasonable and we basically just needed a place to sleep for one night. The room is very outdated and musty, but the highlight of the place its convenient and economical.

Room Tip: Take the upper floors...it is more updated then the first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha Glenda K

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay. I must apologize for your impression of our hotel during your stay; here at Uncle Billy’s our goal is to provide comfortable and pleasant accommodations for our guests without breaking the bank. I hope that you did let the front desk know of any concerns/comments on your room, if ever there is a problem our staff will work immediately to resolve the problem. Initial impressions aside, I do certainly hope that you’ll give us another try and let our front desk know what you think; we’d love to “talk story” (converse/chat) with you!
Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews