We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location but old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Daly City, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great price and location but old”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Kona. The location of the hotel was great, walking distance to shops, restaurants and tourist area. The farmer's market was just across the street. There were Walmart, Safeway, Target and other stores within 5 - 10 minutes drive away. Price was great comparing to other hotels in the area. Parking was only $5 a night. The staffs there were friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was clean but had some problems: 1. air conditioner only made noise but produced no cold air, luckily the original fan when the hotel was built still worked and provided us with small relieve. So there's no reason to take showers because the room has a constant 80 degree temperature even with the make believe AC and fan on, you'll be sweating after shower anyway; 2. The safe inside our room didn't work. The front desk staff offered us to change room and gave us new keys to two other rooms next door but none of the safe worked, so at the end we stayed in our original room; 3. Our sink had some plumbing issue, it took a while before the water could drain. If you don't mind the above inconvenience and you just want a place to sleep and take shower at night then this hotel is great for the price and the location. This hotel also provides complimentary breakfast everyday with fresh half-cut papaya, english muffins, toast, little assorted muffins, coffee, tea, and juices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avocadoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Aloha avocadoagogo

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I apologize for the room temperature, Kona is one of those places that is warm all year round but summers can be so hot that the A/C sometimes has a little trouble keeping up. We also apologize for the room safe malfunctions, these safes have since been repaired and we hope that you weren’t too inconvenienced in the meantime. Maintenance has also been informed of the slow drain and is working on this as well. Thank you for letting us know about these issues; our goal is to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay for all of our guests and if there are ever any issues that we need to address we’ll work to resolve them as soon as possible.

I’m very glad to hear that you did enjoy your overall stay; at Uncle Billy’s we truly want you to have an enjoyable and memorable time visiting the Big Island.


Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    117
    162
    85
    84
See reviews for
101
192
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is my third time staying at Uncle Billy's and I just love it here! There is no where else I'd stay in Kona. It is charming, clean, and very friendly. The location is fantastic and you can't ask for a better price. Uncle Billy's has wonderful character and a great vibe. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Aloha Nancyclis,

Mahalo (thank you) for your review! We have many guests that are repeat customers and they all say the same thing; they keep coming back for the friendly service and great rates. Here at Uncle Billy’s we believe that aloha goes a long way and we truly appreciate all of our guests that choose to stay with us.

Thanks again for staying with us and a hui hou (until we meet again),

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location is unbeatable in the heart of Kailua and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, nothing special. The room was fine, but quite run down and there was some gross in the shower and sink areas. $5 on site parking was nice, but cramped.
Overall it's a solid place to rest your head at night in the heart of Kailua for cheap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Aloha Maddoggy2…

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do apologize for the condition of the bathroom; we are an older hotel and are continually working to make improvements to the property. Our parking lot can get full on busy nights but it is patrolled by security and preferable to street parking. You can’t put a price on aloha but here at Uncle Billy’s we’d like to think that reasonable rates, friendly service, and location help out a little too.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at Uncle Billys for 5 days prior to checking into our timeshare June 2011. The rooms could really use a facelift however our room and linens were always clean, the free breakfast was always fresh, and the location is superb.

Uncle Billys is centrally located in the town of Kauila-Kona. We walked to restaurants and shopping and truly enjoyed staying in the "city".

For the money - it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathierossitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Aloha kathieros…

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Uncle Billy’s is not the fanciest or newest hotel but we always strive to offer the best service at the best rate and as you’ve seen for yourself our hotel is centrally located and a great place to stay.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I read the other reviews on Uncle Billy's about the room problems. Yes, there does need to be some major upgrades to the bathroom. However, the staff was very friendly (gave us a room upgrade for free). The breakfast was fine with fresh papaya. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking and shopping the local shops. We spent most of our day outside walking or swimming in the pool. We only used the room for sleeping before we left the next day to fly home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Aloha lapr,

Mahalo (thank you) for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is not fancy and our bathrooms are a bit dated but we offer the basics at a great rate and we don’t skimp on that good ol’ Hawaiian charm! We are centrally located right in the heart of Kailua-Kona which is one of the many reasons our guests choose to stay with us. The money you save staying with us can be put towards a plethora of activities (excursions, hiking, shopping, etc) that are found on the lovely Big Island of Hawaii.

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at uncle Billy's for 5 nights while on our honeymoon. The hotel is nice enough for the price, a bit dated. We were given an 'upgraded' room so had comfy king size bed in decent size room. There was a fridge and safe in the room which was handy. The pool is nice enough. Breakfast is very basic. The staf are friendly and the hotel is in a good locaiton for the shops and bars.
Would recommend Uncle Billy's for a simple hotel at a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Aloha HAtravell...

Mahalo (thank you) for your review and choosing to stay with us on your honeymoon. We always try to give a little extra to celebrate special occasions and a free upgrade is one way we can share our aloha with you. As you say, the amenities such as a mini-refrigerator, room safe, wifi, and continental breakfast are a plus and to top it all off they are also free! At Uncle Billy’s we believe that our guests should be treated like ‘ohana (family) and we want to offer you the best value at the best rate with aloha and smiles to spare.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-D-C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

if your there just to sleep? good prices ! great location, then you have a great spot

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiloBayHotel, Manager at Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Aloha Bendix11

Mahalo (thank you) for your review; as you put it (short and sweet) we’ve got great prices, a great location and a great spot. Come and experience for yourself the aloha and savings at Uncle Billy’s Kona Bay Hotel!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future,

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much),

Aaron Whiting
Reservations Manager
Uncle Billy’s Hilo Bay & Kona Bay Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Property: Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing