We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kona spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great condo location close to town. Website has great info and pictures.
Only slight downfall is the salt-water pool. We were in three condos, each had great views and were well appointed. Saw dolphins and turtles right from the lanai!



Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank retail20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 353 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

#204 ocean zen. Calm, clean,and amazing ocean views. Truly comfortable with a Select Comfort Sleep number queen bed, this unit places emphasis on minimal distractions. No need for curtains, with a view from both the livingroom and bedroom of nothing but ocean. Lanai high table set makes viewing easy and picture taking of the tide pools unforgettable . The unit also features a Subzero refrig, a cedar closet, exercise bike,and plenty of room to spread out. Local reading material and games make this wifi included unit a place to do something or nothing. The lanai door and bedroom window frame the beautiful ocean canvas that changes hourly. Totally private and still. This unit makes coming home, seem like home, without the distractions and sounds of Kailua town. With the detachable motion light on the entry door, the ability to see as you enter is maximized. Remodeled in 2011 the furniture and finishings are clean, no rust or smells.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I chose this rental after looking at (literally) hundreds of others. We were not disappointed! The condo had everything we needed and more. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and cookware. The living room had several helpful visitor books - our favorite was "Hawaii: The Big Island Revealed." This book traveled with us all around the island. The bedroom was pretty big with a comfortable bed. Closets even included some beach items (chairs, snorkeling equipment). The bathroom was very clean and had lots of towels. Rooms had ceiling fans, and the air conditioning worked great. Our favorite part, however, was the amazing view! This condo is right on the ocean. Looking down from our lanai (which was another huge bonus), we saw big waves, lava rock, sea turtles, colorful fish, and even a few eel. Sunsets were also incredible. Office staff was extremely friendly and the main 'city' strip was located just a few blocks over. It was nice to take a 5-10 minute walk onto the main street but also escape to our quiet condo. Saltwater pool was kept nice and clean. The Royal Kona (located a few buildings over) also put on a really fun luau with great food. Pricing for this condo was very fair, and we would definitely recommend Room 404!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in unit 404 for a week and wish it could have been a month. Loved the view and the sound of the crashing surf. Not fond of Kailua-Kona town, but it seemed worlds away from our 4th floor lanai. We really enjoyed watching all the activity in the bay, morning and late afternoon. Only used a/c once.
The unit appeared to have been remodeled in recent years, with granite countertops, new refrigerator, nice cupboards, and beautiful tiled shower. French doors between the bedroom and the living room make unit feel airy and larger than it is.
I must admit, there was a musty smell in some of the dresser drawers, probably due to proximity to the ocean, so we just kept clothes in closet or our suitcases. not a problem.
Suggestions: My husband would have liked a recliner in living room and a folding lounger on the lanai, for even more comfort.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. Hale Kona Kai is a great bargin and I whole-heartedly recommend it, especially unit 404.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unit #413 of Hale Kona Kai: The first impression was of the strong chemical odor of the cleaning chemicals used in the condo. But after opening the windows and doors to let the great sea air in it wasn't a problem. This is a very, very basic condo that could use an update, but was totally acceptable because it was clean and we enjoyed the lanai so much, which was over the ocean. We turned the ac off each night and opened the windows to the the sound of the waves. The king size bed is on the hard side. We have usually stayed further north but this was a nice change in the heart of Kona. Close by we recommend Kahalu'u Beach Park for snorkeling, UFO for parasailing, Jack's Diving, Lava Java for breakfast and music, and Splasher's Grill for the view, service, and wonderful coconut shrimp and chowder.

Room Tip: #413 is a good choice due to the proximity of the ocean, altho the condo itself is average. Quiet ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Hale Kona Kai unit 407 in August, 2013 for 3 nights. When we first arrived the condo smelled strongly of a chemical air freshener. It was overpowering. After about 1 day the air freshener scent had worn off, and the real underlying smell was evident. It was overpowering when we walked into the unit. It was very unpleasant. We are not sure what was causing the smell, but perhaps a moldy or damp carpet.

We loved the Kona area, but found our condo very disappointing due to this problem. I also found the list of suggested activities out of date and poorly written. Their top suggestion for snorkelling is a beach that the University of Hawaii has asked every business in the Kona area to avoid due to over use, dying coral and the need for healing and re-growth time. This still appeared as the top choice for snorkelling in the area on their suggestions list.

Overall, this condo was a disappointment, especially the foul smell. This unit should not be rented again until the problem is fixed.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the wing that juts out to the north of the pool since otherwise you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Mahalo for your input on your stay and thank you for emailing me after you left regarding this issue.
We had a new maid who used (with a heavy hand) Febreze in the condo. She was told she could never ever use it again. We had the carpets cleaned, fabric items washed and had her wipe down the walls to be sure the smell was removed. We are assured by the guests in there now that there is no lingering odor. I am sorry we were not informed while you were staying with us, we would have immediately moved you and handle this early. Again thank you for letting us know so we could solve the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a corner wraparound lanai on the south end, toward the Royal Kona Hotel for an 8 day stay. The tide pools below were fascinating, and we saw turtles below us every day..one day we even saw a manta glide over the rocks. The lanai hangs at the edge of the crashing surf. The condos face west, and sunsets were awesome. We also faced the July 4th fireworks in the bay.

Besides the great lanai location, the condo was very nicely appointed, had everything we needed for our stay, and the bedding/furniture was comfortable and in very nice condition. The air conditioning was great, as our other locations had depended on ocean breezes to cool, sometimes not so well. Appliances all worked (has a dishwasher).

You can check out all the condos at this location online and see pictures of interiors and views. I made reservations by phone and got all necessary information prior to finalizing condo choice and our dates. Everyone on staff was friendly, helpful, and gave good information about the area. We felt the price for what we received was a great value. I hope we can go back, and if we do, we will stay there...wouldn't even look for anything else.

Room Tip: Rooms on south corner 213, 313, 413 have unblocked views west and south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing