We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average condo with wonderful view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Kona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average condo with wonderful view”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unit #413 of Hale Kona Kai: The first impression was of the strong chemical odor of the cleaning chemicals used in the condo. But after opening the windows and doors to let the great sea air in it wasn't a problem. This is a very, very basic condo that could use an update, but was totally acceptable because it was clean and we enjoyed the lanai so much, which was over the ocean. We turned the ac off each night and opened the windows to the the sound of the waves. The king size bed is on the hard side. We have usually stayed further north but this was a nice change in the heart of Kona. Close by we recommend Kahalu'u Beach Park for snorkeling, UFO for parasailing, Jack's Diving, Lava Java for breakfast and music, and Splasher's Grill for the view, service, and wonderful coconut shrimp and chowder.

Room Tip: #413 is a good choice due to the proximity of the ocean, altho the condo itself is average. Quiet ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    90
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
41
207
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Hale Kona Kai unit 407 in August, 2013 for 3 nights. When we first arrived the condo smelled strongly of a chemical air freshener. It was overpowering. After about 1 day the air freshener scent had worn off, and the real underlying smell was evident. It was overpowering when we walked into the unit. It was very unpleasant. We are not sure what was causing the smell, but perhaps a moldy or damp carpet.

We loved the Kona area, but found our condo very disappointing due to this problem. I also found the list of suggested activities out of date and poorly written. Their top suggestion for snorkelling is a beach that the University of Hawaii has asked every business in the Kona area to avoid due to over use, dying coral and the need for healing and re-growth time. This still appeared as the top choice for snorkelling in the area on their suggestions list.

Overall, this condo was a disappointment, especially the foul smell. This unit should not be rented again until the problem is fixed.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the wing that juts out to the north of the pool since otherwise you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Mahalo for your input on your stay and thank you for emailing me after you left regarding this issue.
We had a new maid who used (with a heavy hand) Febreze in the condo. She was told she could never ever use it again. We had the carpets cleaned, fabric items washed and had her wipe down the walls to be sure the smell was removed. We are assured by the guests in there now that there is no lingering odor. I am sorry we were not informed while you were staying with us, we would have immediately moved you and handle this early. Again thank you for letting us know so we could solve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a corner wraparound lanai on the south end, toward the Royal Kona Hotel for an 8 day stay. The tide pools below were fascinating, and we saw turtles below us every day..one day we even saw a manta glide over the rocks. The lanai hangs at the edge of the crashing surf. The condos face west, and sunsets were awesome. We also faced the July 4th fireworks in the bay.

Besides the great lanai location, the condo was very nicely appointed, had everything we needed for our stay, and the bedding/furniture was comfortable and in very nice condition. The air conditioning was great, as our other locations had depended on ocean breezes to cool, sometimes not so well. Appliances all worked (has a dishwasher).

You can check out all the condos at this location online and see pictures of interiors and views. I made reservations by phone and got all necessary information prior to finalizing condo choice and our dates. Everyone on staff was friendly, helpful, and gave good information about the area. We felt the price for what we received was a great value. I hope we can go back, and if we do, we will stay there...wouldn't even look for anything else.

Room Tip: Rooms on south corner 213, 313, 413 have unblocked views west and south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in 408 due to a previous favorable rating of it. It was nice but needed some good cleaning; the kitchen floor looked like it had not been washed since the last people had been there and places could be seen where stuff had been spilled on the floor and not cleaned up. We stayed there for four days and all the while kept smelling a fishy odor everytime we went into the kitchen. Checked all over to see where it was coming from, but couldn't find it til I went to wash the dishes and opened the dishwasher! Whew and OMG! It smelled so FOUL it nearly knocked me over; like there was rotting fish inside of it or something. Needless to say I did not put the dishes in there. Did let the management know about this problem on check out so hopefully they will take care of it because otherwise I loved the place. The Lanai overlooking tide pools and a regular pool was wonderful; the location so close to the crashing waves and also a quick walk to the shops in Kona can't be beat. The rest of the condo was ok, didn't notice any other major problems, the bed was comfortable, the ac worked, internet and cable all ok. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Mahalo for letting our office know about the dish washer, the owners had it replaced with a new one within 24 hours of your report. In addition the cleaner was replaced, don't feel sad, she has other complex's that she works for.. we just can not allow for a dirty floor at Hale Kona Kai. Again Mahalo and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hello Tripadvisor,

Ok, the Hale Kona Kai, my wife and I have stayed here 4 times now. We love the location, the ocean front views and the condo complex is very well taken care of on the outside. These condos always get excellent reviews, which again are understandable for the location, but all the condos we have stayed in are not excellent on the interior by any standards. They are a good value and as mentioned you cannot beat the location. The staff is very nice and the pool and public areas are very well maintained.

Now as for the rooms we have stayed in, they were all located on the forth (top) floor. This condo complex is directly next to the ocean so all the appliances and fixtures are rusting in the sea air as you would expect. You will have a moldy musty ocean smell, again nothing can be done about this being next to the ocean. The condos we have stayed in are showing their age and the owners, all condos is individually owned, need to spend more time keeping the interiors clean and fresh. Every description on the website for this Condo Complex says “updated interior” maybe 5 to 7 years ago it was updated, but not recently. In our bedroom this time there was a chair with food stains on it and little white insects crawling all over it. We immediately placed a sheet from the closet over the chair. The interiors of all the condo’s need to be deep-cleaned after every use, we have always had to clean when we arrive for the first few hours to get the place up to our standards. Wiping down the entire greasy surface and cleaning the windows. The window and mirrors are always smeared. Maybe they could raise the rates a little more and do a little better maintaining the interior! I’m sure people would be glad to pay extra for things to be a little nicer.

It is sad, but this will probably be our last time to visit the Hale Kona Kai it is time to move on. PS, we have met some of the Condo owners at the pool during our stays and understand why things are the way they are.

Good luck with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enjoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a nicely updated unit #304 and everything about it was perfect. It was very clean, with a newly updated kitchen & bathroom sink area, plus new bedroom furniture. The view from the lanai was great, we even saw turtles and fish right below our unit. The short walk into town for shopping, lunch/dinner and Mai Tais was very convenient. Having coin-operated laundry available came in very handy. We look forward to our next stay at the Hale Kona Kai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalhero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

When I wrote my last review for Hale Kona Kai, I was reluctant to fully recommend it because while the location and service were excellent, the unit was in need of updating. We were in an updated unit (#408) this time, and I'm happy to say that everything was perfect. We had a great time enjoying the views from our lanai and taking short walks into town for breakfast at Island Lava Java and happy hour at Huggo's on the Rocks. I'm sure this wasn't our last visit to Hale Kona Kai.

Room Tip: Check their website so you can see the unit locations and request an updated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#10 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Property: Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing