We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Our 2-bedroom condo on the 3rd floor had a marvelous view of the Pacific Ocean, but I'd never book this property again. Both the ceiling fixtures in the diningroom and the master bathroom were non-functional. Both I and my wife reported the problem at the front desk soon after our arrival, but to no avail. The person at the desk told us, "We'll send someone to fix it as soon as possible." "Soon as possible" turned out to be "not at all", because it wasn't fixed by the end of our 4-night stay. My wife had to move a table lamp into the master bathroom, just so we could see enough to take a shower and brush our teeth. (For the $400/night we paid for this condo, you'd think at least the lights would work!) The other problem
with our 2-bedroom condo was that the second bedroom was so tiny there was barely enough room to walk around the queen bed which filled most of the room, and no room for suitcases. The condo doesn't
have any collapsible tables to put your suitcases on. There were no dressers in the second bedroom, either. So, basically, the folks in the second bedroom are "out of luck". The words that describe our experience of the Bali Kai are UNACCEPTABLE, DISAPPOINTING, AND UNRESPONSIVE.

  • Liked — Great view.
  • Disliked — Two lighting fixtures in condo were non-functional, and staff wouldn't fix the problem.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OaklandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    110
    88
    66
    54
See reviews for
133
180
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Our party of three couples stayed here from April 6 to April 10, 2007. We were surprised that one of the three bedrooms had twin beds, but the condo itself was nice. We did have issues with a leaking toilet. You couldn't leave so much as a dirty glass on the counter without inviting hundreds of ants to dine. They did have a sign posted that the units would be sprayed (the day we left). But the condo itself was cosy and kind of homey. Nicely decorated with personal touches by the owners, which was nice. There is no beach to speak of, as you must enter the water via the rocks. There was the threat of sea urchins as well. But there was a little sandy area that we could sit on and watch the surfers. We did not spend a lot of time at the condo, as we were out exploring volcanoes etc.
If you are looking for a place to stay and relax the whole time, this place will not be for you. If you need a nice place to sleep and cook a few meals, but otherwise will not be around much, this place is perfect.

  • Liked — It was close to town and the views of the ocean and mountains was incredible
  • Disliked — no beach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

For our cheap vacation it was exactly what we expected. Not necessarily exceptional, but we were at the sites and ocean most of the time anyways. I checked online again and the "Outrigger" resort was cheaper, so its pretty much luck. We were kinda unlucky because "Outrigger" looks so beautiful and has an oceanfront pool, (after a long day it was nice to sit in the hot tub but the view from the tub is only other condos at Castle Kona). But don't get me wrong, the condo is just normal..not bad, not good. As for the pests, we asked for a 3rd floor and that worked excellent, we only saw ants once when we left something out on the counter all day and the very rare occurance of geckos were just amazing actually.

As for the staff, they were the sweetest people we met the WHOLE vacation, disregard the pretty much drive up window office, and it was the most wonderful first impression because they were so great. Be sure to see the active volcano at dusk and if you rent gear use the store at the hotel, he is the sweetest man and has a book that tells all the secrets!! Our vacation was amazing. ROOM 372 (mountain view so we could have a higher level to avoid the native roaches, but still just fine!!). If you have any questions feel free to email at dreamerhercy@comcast.net.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamerherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los ANgeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Kona Bali Kai (when you make sure you are in the oceanfront building) has some of the most memorable views in the world. The surf crashing, the sunsets, the turtles, surfers out there from dawn to dusk, boats sailing by.....it was truely magical.
While this property has a front desk, the units are still all owned by individuals. Some people take great pride and care, while others hardly ever get involved, hence the discrepancy in the units.
When we checked in, we knew there wasn't a/c, and frankly didn't want it, as we love to hear the ocean, day and night. However this particular unit, had no ceiling fans and to top it off, the windows in the back were so rusted (not surprising with the salt) that they wouldn't open. It was really feeling warm, and annoying.
It was just a simple request at the desk (they are very nice) and we were moved to a room that the windows opened, and there were fans. It was WONDERFUL.
Full kitchen, washer/dryer in the units, lanai that is extensive and goes across the masterbedroom and the living room............just a peaceful, romantic atmosphere.
I would return, just make sure you either rent from a private party that takes pride in their units, (that way you can see pics of the exact unit you are going to).......or let the front desk know that you are sure they have "nice units" and some "not fixed up".............you will pay the same, so you may as well get the best.
Make sure you are on the oceanfront side, not across the street.

  • Liked — View, Location, Great Surf,Laundry in Room, Full Kitchen, Dining on Large Lanai, Turtles on property.
  • Disliked — Would like wireless in room.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Do not confuse this with the Hale Kona Kai that has been written about - different properties/different addresses. We stayed in "Castle" Kona Bali Kai #408 at 76-6246 Alii Drive. The interior is a dump. It is in serious need of a MAJOR remodel. The second day we were there we started looking for alternate accommodations. When we found one, we vacated and moved, we are going to try to negotiate a refund. We had cockroaches (live!), not enough toilet paper, trash bags, face/bath soap or laundry soap, and no face cloths; we had plenty of mold, rust, and dirty carpet. The kitchen needs better and more cookware - eventhough it is so dirty and outdated that we didn't want to use it. The twin bed room has no access to the closet that is jam packed full of vacuum cleaners and who knows what else. The smell inside was musty. After the first day we were afraid to look in cabinets for pans, etc. because of the cockroaches. The spa was not working the week we had to stay. The one bright spot was the view from the balcony, but don't stay here for that alone. I would not stay here if it was the last place on the island - all three people in our party have the same sentiments about this place.

  • Liked — View from the balcony
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, amenities
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank barbgbArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

I had read some of the reviews prior to booking and figured to go for it. I wish I had not.

The only thing going for this place is the great ocean front and the sounds of the waves - terrific.

That was it - the kitchen was dingy and greasy - not to mention covered in grease ants. I understand salt air and what it does to appliances, but his was greasy, uncleaned appliances - straight out filth!

The carpets were filthy, my husband walked from the bedroom (oceanfront to the 2nd bathroom) and his socks were black.

There were ants in the bathroom also.

It took over an 1 1/2 to find out when I could check out without getting burned (manager couldn't be found). Thank goodness there was no real emergency to get a hold of manager.

The carpets outside - should give you a clue of the overall upkeep of this complex. Black but I think they were at one time blue.

Way overpriced for a building that needs major rehab and new everything - not to mention pest control. Oh yeah they don't mention anything to you but when you see the bug killer at the sink you kind of wonder why they don't give you a heads up - no secret.

Also I was told by the reservationist that there was air conditioning and of course - NO OCEANFRONTS have air conditioning - completly different from the reservations clerk.

Pretty misleading and no where near what they are worth - the asking price for the rooms. We were booked to stay 8 days and checked out after one night (the soonest we could) and found another place - cheaper and 100x nicer than this hotel.

It also sits right next to a pubic access to ocean - so there are a lot of locals parking in hotel reserved parking and surfing from the private area in front of hotel. It's a local hangout.

  • Liked — Right on ocean
  • Disliked — Cleanliness - terrible and full of ants!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

I booked my stay on Priceline. Realizing the cheapest would not be ocean view, I called and was able to "upgrade" ($10 a night) to a partial ocean view. The condo was nice but the dissapointing part was that the "partial ocean view" was minimal and the condo was on Alii drive so the noise of the traffic was a problem (also the map of the condos on the web site are missleading...the partial ocean front condos are well back!) After two nights, an oceanfront condo became available and I paid the $30 a night extra for it (Bringing my room charge to $40 a night over the Priceline deal) but it was well worth it!! My condo was well appointed and clean. Overall I was happy with my stay. If you are looking for a condo with a nice pool to catch some sun at....don't stay here. But the staff were polite, friendly and professional, the value was excellent and the views priceless.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank Rhodie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
59.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
22.9 mi away
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
1.0 mi away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Property: Castle Kona Bali Kai
Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing