We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$381
$279
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,016
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
Courtyard
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
122
112
94
71
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
112
94
71
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontlocal surferssea turtlesceiling fans in every roomfull kitchentide poolswasher dryerno air conditioningthrough vrbomaster bedroomcooking utensilsboogie boardsslidersking bedspinner dolphinsbeach chairslava rock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 462 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Judging by our experience and the experiences of others it is important to have confidence in the unit you select. We had unit 212 and on balance our experience was very good. The unit, as is the development in total, is somewhat tired. That shows in nicks on walls and doors and some marginal furniture. Beyond that the kitchen is well equipped and functions fine. The bed is very good and the bathrooms were clean. The highlights come from the beach exposure which faces due west enabling you to experience as good a sunset as you could imagine. Further, you overlook the lava beach area with multiple tide pools to explore and enjoy regular visit from multiple turtles. You are some what away from the action in Kona itself, it is a good 30 minute walk along the paved shoulder of the busy highway.

Room Tip: 212 is good. Close the door if the noise of the surf bothers you, otherwise enjoy the ocean experience.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Kona Bali Kai is a very nice facility, pool and grounds are fantastic. Very close to everything. Unit 312 is an absolute dump. Use caution renting here as many units are not renovated. This unit was very old, extremely filthy, and worn out. Everything metal was rusty. We rented this unit through Elite Property Management Services and I would strongly recommend avoiding anything they rent. They did send the cleaners back 5 days after our arrival to clean the filthy unit and they sent the Orkin man there twice to deal with the ants and cockroaches. They also sent someone to change 4 worn out ceiling fans. However they didn't do anything about the 20 plus year old worn out beds however said the owner was aware . The only plus this unit has is the amazing waterfront lani and breathtaking sunsets. This deserved my giving the unit 1 star.

Room Tip: Read reviews the pictures being posted are very misleading.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 312 is a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests to choose from. When booking at Kona Bali Kai, go with the professionals and be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us. You will receive professional service from our onsite housekeeping, maintenance and front desk team. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been back to this complex 3 Times now. After this visit, I would hesitate a bit to recommend Castle Bali Kai. The oceanfront apartments have a fantastic view and layout of the building is pretty good as far as the swimming pool and parking. Here is the danger; every unit varies greatly in how it is maintained. So before you book look carefully at other customers' reviews. Unit 317 was borderline acceptable. It was clean, but tired. Shower in extra bathroom didn't work, Sink hardware was rusted/frozen in place. Sliding door to balcony barely slid. Washing / dryer on its last legs. Safe didn't work. Clock broken etc, etc. If you cant book another waterfront unit first, then maybe consider this one because the view and location make up for a lot.

Room Tip: Only consider Waterfront rooms at Bali Kai. Read carefully online reviews as each room is maintained to different standards
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_and_Y2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 317 in a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests. We have the largest selection of units and staff on site from 8am to 10pm. When booking at Kona Bali Kai be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place is not worth the money. The unit (367) hasn't been updated, no dish washer, no laundry, dishes and cooking utensils were dirty, carpet was stained, stained and old tub, and the worst was the apparent urine stains on the bed spread.... Will NEVER stay here again and couldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrC3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. I have reviewed your comments with my team. Our property does have Laundry facilities, our mountain side units do not have dishwashers. However all of our ocean front unit have this feature. Our linens are sent out regularly for cleaning. Again thank you for letting us know your concerns.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Unit #306. We and another couple were late evening arrivals, service did not have our booking because Front Desk hadn't notified them we would be arriving after 11:00 p.m. Manager (Stephen) was called out to confirm our booking and let us in - he was apologetic and friendly. Unit 306 was very disappointing as it was dirty, very dated, moldy shower curtain, moldy tile in bathrooms around toilets, musty smell in kitchen cabinets, old dishes and cutlery, bed in 2nd bedroom very old and stiff, dryer not functioning. Manager addressed what he could, but could not move us to a better unit as they were fully booked. Unit 306 needs a complete renovation, and staff need to do a better job of cleaning. We saw inside Unit 305, it was beautifully renovated. On the positive side, breathtaking views of ocean and sunsets. Overall a very disappointing introduction to the Big Island (our first time, usually go to Maui), and we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit on the ocean side, and review it on-line if you can before accepting it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R and B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Unit 306 had new carpet and bedroom furniture installed in September of 2013 at this time the Sofa Sleeper in the living room was completely re-upholstered. We are continuously working with our owners to upgrade units; it is disappointing the recent upgrades in this unit did not meet your expectations.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews