We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahalo for making our vacation great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay was wonderful, we had a great room 233 in building 3 across from main complex, so we had all the amenities (pool, sauna, shops,beach) that the main complex offered right across the street but had a private place to stay with parking close and access to our door by just going up one set of stairs with no lobby or gates. The room was wonderful with a nice kitchen with everything we needed, the bedroom and sitting area combo perfect for relaxing and unwinding after a day of fun. The lanai had a partial ocean view and overlooked a beautiful kept lawn. The staff was very helpful and friendly when we had questions or needed anything. The Kona Bali Kai is in the perfect location, just far enough out for a quiet and peaceful stay but close enough to the shops and restaurants and sea wall to be convenient. Would definitely stay there again and will recommend to anyone who is going to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Check in after hours was a little difficult so if you are arriving after 10:00 I would suggest calli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this resort for the first time as a referral on the 4th floor in a two bedroom condo. We really enjoyed the view and the fact that it was right on the ocean front. We were able to have easy access to viewing marine life in the little pools left by the ocean water as well as seeing numerous turtles feeding in the area by the condo, which was truly amazing. We enjoyed the grills that were there and the location overall. We were disappointed in the lack of cleanliness of our room as well as the ants, lack of blankets, hardness of the bed, street noise for the front bedroom, lack of well operating shutters on the ocean front for the view, the front bathroom shower did not work properly (water just dribbled out) just numerous items we expected to be better than they were. We were also very surprised by the non-friendly staff when we voiced concern over the ants. We were surprised by the noise of the ocean also as we had expected it to be a smooth wave kind of sound but it was crashing waves. Difficult to sleep to so much so that we had to put ear plugs in. Just wasn't what we expected. Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funstlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a studio with partial ocean view across Alii from the beach.

Pros:
= Decent snorkeling and diving within a mile of the hotel (4 mile)
= Great food at Da Poke Shack - but only open til 6 pm, so get there early
= Lovely view and tidepools from the ocean side
= Good kitchen for a studio condo
= Nice glimpse of the ocean from a good-sized lanai
= Convenience store nearby
= Short, easy drive into town

Cons:
= Lots of road noise
= New, early checkout policy. 11:00 am with zero flexibility.
= Very dated decor
= Strange bathroom door - the sliding door to the toilet was bolted open
= Be careful, the office closes at 10 pm, so make arrangements if you are arriving late

Room Tip: Bit noisy if you are facing Alii
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoodyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Kona Bali Kai and Room 209 were great. The condominium complex is relatively small so you don't have to deal with lots of people. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room 209 is a two bedroom condo that had nice furnishings and beautiful views of the beach and ocean. Sunsets from the lanai were awesome. Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Kona Bali Kai and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: You should request an ocean front room as they are quiet and the ocean views are great. Note - ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Back to Hawaii again. This time wit six people. Too many for a hotel room, so I booked two Condo rooms at the Kona Bali Kai. The first one #314 was from Sunquest and the second #347 from a private owner. Both found on VRBO.

The facility is GREAT, very well maintained and kept up, even though the property is older.
YES!!! There is actually a white sand beach on the ocean side of the complex, where you can see the whales and sea turtles, watch surfers and explore the tide pool. It is not a sloping white sand beach that you can gradually walk into the ocean the sand ends and mostly lava rock, so bring water shoes. There are gas Bar-B-Que's to use and are very nice. There is a nice pool an Jacuzzi, but it doesn't get much sun since it is located between the buildings and ample parking.

Condo Unit 347 is a small one bedroom condo, although it says for up to six people, I have no clue where you would put them. The bed would hold two and then the ottoman folds out for a twin bed thing and then the couch. The condo is clean. It is NOT anything special, but will do in a pinch and the price is oh so right at $100/night. Came complete with internet, towels and a kitchen to cook your meals in. Unit over looks the street side of the complex.

Condo Unit 314 is a two bedroom / two bath condo that sleeps four - two in each bedroom. Absolutely spectacular. I would live there!!! There was not one thing missing in the kitchen (except a garbage disposal), every tool, pot or pan you could ever use is right there. The cupboards have items others have left and we left pancake mix. :-) Every linen you could possibly imagine.. Kitchen towels and hot pads, Bath Towels and Beach Towels and comfortable bed linens. The beds in both bedrooms are a little hard, but were not uncomfortable. The bed in the second bedroom squeaks horribly. The place was immaculately clean and maintained and everything looked brand new. There was shampoo and other things like sunscreen. Beach chars and boogie boards. Of all the condo's I have ever stayed in this one was the best.

The people at the Condo complex front desk and security are all very nice and made us feel comfortable.

I would absolutely go back here in a heat beat !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were not sure what we'd be getting into when our stay at Kona Bali Kai was booked. Once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised that our unit was right on the water! We heard loud surf all night, although a little distracting for sleep at times, was much enjoyed. The unit fit our family nicely and its layout worked well for us. We would definitely stay here again. There were no services offered with our booking type. We could have used a little better service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjcgmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this place! During our stay on the Big Island, we started on the Hilo side in a very beautiful but damp, moldy and cockroach ridden rental cottage. In search of sunnier weather, we spent the next night in Kona with friends in their time share. Next, was an evening at the Kona Sheraton. Nice enough but way expensive for what was provided.

Enter the Kona Bali Kai. Quite literally, a breath of fresh air. We had a unit on the top floor on the ocean side. We were greeted with a gorgeous view and were lulled to sleep and greeted every morning to the drumming surf and singing birds. Sunsets on the island are spectacular! We were not disappointed. The eastern ocean view from our lanai provided the perfect vantage point to witness nature's wonder.

We won't hesitate to stay here again. It really was a lovely breath of fresh air.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.4 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
323 reviews
3 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
835 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#12 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $132 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing