We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in 207 and its a very nice unit. This unit has a washer and dryer, dishwasher, and everything you need in the kitchen for cooking. Comfortable king bed and two bathrooms. We listened to the surf every night, and slept great with the trade winds blowing through the unit. You are right on the water, and sitting out on the lanai on nice patio furniture for meals is fabulous. Cant beat the view and sunsets. The unit is decorated very nicely with Hawaiian touches everywhere and nice comfy sofas and chairs. Kona is close by, and really easy to get to for shopping and nice restaurants. There is a little market right across the street, and a surf shop in the complex to rent boards or snorkel equipment (Millers). This unit is in the south end of the complex, and a bonus for this unit is watching the surfers at Banyon's directly in front of you, You dont have to carry your surfboard far. Lots of sea turtles too. Staff friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank surfingsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Aloha,

Unit 207 is one of many units that have recently been upgraded. From your posting I would say that you agree with the owners selection of décor used for their upgrade. On your next trip to The Island of Hawaii give us a call and if available we will get you into the same unit. WE look forward to your next visit.

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 449 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a nice condo on the south edge of downtown Kailua-Kona on the Big Island. Castle Resorts manages this resort condo at present for individual owners of the various units.

We were show two rooms that had BIG differences in decoration and furniture quality because of different unit owners and their desire to manage upkeep. One was run down, worn and scary.

The second one was much better with the only problem of an old tired refrigerator that spoiled our food and a hot water heater too small for more than one shower every half hour.

This are nice big 2 bedroom and bath units. One bedroom had an king bed, the other tiny single beds OK for kids.

The pull out sofa bed, not available in all units, was HORRIBLE. My back is still getting over it.

The rates were fabulous on our off-season stay and the Jenn Air stainless steel grill available for guest to use along the water front were super!

Close to town and activities. Pay for ocean view. The street side of ALL units can be noisy there by the main road.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front rooms. If you don't like the first room they show you - many are dumpy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamerRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Bali Kai for nine nights, and it was very pleasant. The place was clean, the staff was very helpful and the view was awesome! We did however have one little problem which was addressed immediately! It is close to a nice beach called the magic sands and not too far from the town, which was where all the restaurants and stores were. If I go back I most likely would stay there again, because it was a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306, which was quiet, except for the sounds of the ocean waves, that kinda just lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabanana9155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent two nights here and stayed in room 212..overlooking beach
Just a little out of Kona itself so a bit of a hike for restaurants etc but otherwise very happy with our choice
The fully equipped apartments..kitchen,, laundry etc...are large and spotlessly clean
We are so close to the beach we can see the turtles from our lanai.
Beautiful sunsets
Staff friendly and accommodating
Will def stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm a pretty easy going person and I'm not one to stay in luxury hotels - but this place was just disappointing. Everything was as pictured, but with a layer of dust or even more over it! All the fans had layers of dust on them, the towels were all moldy smelling, and even worse - there was actual visible mold on the shower curtain! You could have bought a new one for under $5 -- why leave a moldy one up! I truly don't think this was cleaned before we came. Additionally, I went to use a shower and a strange black, rust/dirt had filled the tub! It must of come from the little vent in the bathroom (mind you it didn't work!)

Our biggest complaint is that there as no A/C at ALL! We called the company and they said A/C wasn't on the listing which is true -- but they just totally omitted it! At least write A/C - no. You have to keep all the windows and doors open and being on the second floor near the public beach, we were very concerned about theft. They did bring us fans after we complained several times and thank god!

I can say the view was awesome. You're right on the ocean and facing west for sunset. It was very enjoyable to watch the surfers in the morning.

Overall, the accommodation is nice -- but NOT clean. I would never give this place a second chance.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cloud31286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai Resort. Castle Resorts & Hotels operates a rental program at Kona Bali Kai featuring over 60 units for our guests. There are a few smaller rental companies operating at Kona Bali Kai. I cannot confirm that the unit you stayed in was part of our rental program. We have brand new bath linen that we began using at the end of July; this leads me to the conclusion that you used a private or smaller rental company. If this is not the case please contact me and I will respond to you directly.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The bed in our room made so much noise that sleeping was impossible ! Everytime my husband or I would move we would wake the other up! The overhead lights in the kitchen did not work and the walls could have really used some paint ! The grime on yhrm was gross !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Aloha
Our team works daily to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in the units, this is one of our most critical areas and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I only wish that I knew which unit has a specific issue with the bed, this is an area of personal taste and I wish you had contacted me directly, during your stay and I could have addressed your concerns immediately.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

But your money is probably spent better elsewhere. Despite a pretty good location, closer to Kona's beaches than the social center, this place suffers from a myriad of management quality and housekeeping issues that largely detract from staying here. Mentioned previously has been the poor quality pull out sofa; not mentioned was the fact that there is only 1 a/c unit for a 2 BR apt! When we stayed, the internet did not work for the 1st 2 days of the stay; the bedsheets/blankets were 'ratty'; we discovered a kitchen cabinet full of empty beer and liquor bottles; and the the areas behind the bedroom bureaus had obviously not been cleaned in some time, as there were various wrappers/toiletries items behind them. The kitchen itself is pretty inadequate for anything but the most basic food preparation - generally a melange of old and mismatched cooking items. Overall, it seemed like the owner/management company was only interested in doing the bare minimum to provide a suitable living environment. Not a place I would recommend.

Room Tip: if you have a chance, view a room 1st to check that all of the above items I mention have been addre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $124 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing