We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Maintained Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poorly Maintained Property”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom unit for our first night on the Big Island. Although the unit was spacious, it was dirty and poorly maintained. Dust was everywhere, particularly when moving cushions around. Given that 3 people in our party of 4 have dust allergies it was a very unpleasant night. One of the bedrooms was actually just a pull-out futon and no linens had been provided for it. The floors felt sticky and some of the utensils we took out in the kitchen were not clean. The rooms facing Ali'i Drive were noisy. We were also not impressed with having to ask for pool towels at the front desk, the implied distrust of paying guests is very off-putting.

Room Tip: Chose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your recent stay. Our team works daily to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in the units, this is one of our most critical concerns and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are continuously striving to make the units clean and presentable upon the arrival of every guest. The sheets for the futon are visibly displayed on the closet shelve. We provide pool towels at the Front Desk, so that we are able to provide clean fresh Pool towels daily to our guests. We strive to exceed the expectation of every guest and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    111
    89
    66
    58
See reviews for
136
181
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in Unit #205 the first part of March. We booked our Hawaii trip through our travel agency and this is where they put us. The condo had a oceanfront view and was spacious. However Unit #205 was anything but “pleasant.” It definitely was not as pictured on website and was very disappointing. It was dirty, dusty and noisy, with unsafe wiring and in serious need of updating and maintenance. The most disturbing event occurred on our last day, while we were gone. Unit #205 was entered without our permission and the front door was left propped wide open for anyone to enter. Because of our experience, I do not recommend staying at Kona Bali Kai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OhioSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The units with kitchens are across the street from the beach and not all will have ocean views. Ours did and we enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the surf. We used the BBQ and enjoyed the beautiful garden setting surrounding the buildings. There is easy access to the beach with lawn chairs and park benches available. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pans and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3MjPj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent four wonderful nights in a 2BR/2bath condo. The room could benefit with a remodeling update, but it was adequately maintained. The ocean views are exceptional and complemented by the sound of waves. A great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March and then again for several nights in April. The lanai overlooking the ocean was wonderful. Big surf and surfers right in front of us and the roar of the surf at night made it very enjoyable. The rooms themselves were nice but dated. Clearly a reinvestment is in order. That being said there was a full kitchen, living room area and two bedrooms. The second bedroom was lacking. Wifi was very weak in the rooms we occupied. A bus passes by regularly to take you into Kona proper and taxis are reasonable. Good overall and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaeveK261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location right on the beach and wonderful to watch the sunset. Our apartment had great facilities with a full kitchen. Internet was fast with free DSL in room which was great when travelling with a laptop. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MP_and_HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was a bit nervous booking this property based on the mixed reviews. But, I'm SO happy we took the chance!
Our friends were getting married @ The Royal Kona Resort, but having been there before we wanted to stay somewhere different, but still close by.
We ended up in room 205, which is a 2bdrm/2bath condo (even though we booked a 1bed) with the most incredible view of the ocean from the huge balcony (lanai). We watched the local surfers of all ages from dawn til dusk, and listened to the waves crashing all night long!
The condo is very spacious and clean, although very outdated. If you need luxury, this is not your condo. For us, the balcony & location made up for the outdated kitchen/bathrooms and the fact that there is NO WIFI IN THE ROOM. There's free wifi in the lobby/pool area, and Ethernet cable option in the room. Luckily we always travel with our own wifi device so we were able to get online with our iPads from our lanai (where I'm writing this review now!)
We would definitely book this condo again in the future.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the only room type I would book here. The balconies practically hang over the ocean! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
59.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
22.7 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#8 of 13 in Waikoloa
244 reviews
23.1 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Property: Castle Kona Bali Kai
Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing