We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ocean Views on a Very Busy Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just completed a week's stay at the Kona Bali Kai. We had a 1 bedroom ocean view suite on the 4th floor. The water view is amazing and the sound of the surf was exactly what we hoped to experience. Sea turtles can be seen right from the balcony. Our bedroom, unfortunately was at the back of the suite so we had a lot of street noise from the very busy Alii Drive. Our suite was a little tired and outdated but other suites seemed to be more recently renovated. There are lots of positives about this property, however, but I would encourage you to get an ocean view suite. If you are renting a 2 bedroom suite it is quite likely one of the bedrooms will face the water. Our suite had everything we needed for preparing meals and the staff were really helpful. The facility does not charge a resort fee, the cost of parking is included in your rental as is the cost of in-suite internet. These were all big +s for us.

Room Tip: Only consider the ocean front suites. Avoid balconies that look out over Alii Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 449 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our one bedroom condo on third floor is well situated. Even though it's across the road from the main property the view of the ocean is great. A little noise comes from the road but not bad and quiets down at night. Homey and very comfortable. Parking is handy behind the building. Washer and dryer are in the unit.

Room Tip: No elevator to this third floor unit which can be a chore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A condo with an ocean view sounds great. Sounds is the important note here. The condo was clean and reasonably furnished. It was ground floor and facing the ocean just across the street. Waves were visible. Unfortunately the street sounds around the clock drowned the ocean sounds. Management was unable to move us to a quieter location as we were only staying three nights. The beach access which is rocky tidepool was as fascinating as any location on the big island. On site outdoor pool was also available. The condos are quite variable in decor and upkeep. Be specific if noise affects your sleep or enjoyment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goletagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Here is the feedback we gave to Castle Resorts, the realtor handling the condo we booked (413): Overall we found the place very nice. Great view, well equipped, spacious, attractive. We just spent one night but it is definitely a place we would consider if we returned to the island anytime in the future. The conceirge(s), both evening and day time were very friendly and helpful. Parking was convenient, great having an elevator! Here is a list of things to consider if you are looking for opportunities for improvement:
1. Sliding screen very difficult to open and close-salt problems? I had to remount one that was off its slide
2. The “shutters” were more or less locked shut-no levers to open them with and I had to use my hands to pry one open to get more ventilation
3. We don’t watch TV much on vacation but like to use them to view our pictures and videos. This one worked ok, but was pretty small.
4. No ice at all in the freezer. Trays empty and ice maker empty. Weird.
5. My wife noticed the carpet was stained in a few places and there were smudges along the doors-kids or handicapped folks since they were lower than normal.
I would add it is not a swimming beach due to the rocks, but very pretty. We read where the surfers next door might be kind of rowdy. They were there, since there appears to be a very small public beach access next door, but there were no issues at all. It was kind of fun to watch them. Great deal for the money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Kona Bali Kai for 5 nights in a nicely equipped and decorated condo with a lanai facing the ocean. The unit had great sliding doors in both the living room and bedroom which opened onto the lanai so with the ceiling fans and the breeze from the ocean air conditioning is not needed. Although the building is a bit aged the condo, a 1 bedroom 2 bath,has been well maintained by the owner and is conveniently located. The unit we had had insuite laundry which is always handy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frustration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at Kona Bali Kai for a one night work trip. It was a last minute reservation, and at a good price. The complex is about 5 min from Kona town (not ideal, but really just a quick drive).The condo I was in had a full kitchen (coffee maker, stove, micro, refrigerator), two bathrooms (!!) and a lovely lanai facing the ocean. The condo had no air con, but no need because it was loaded with ceiling fans, and the ocean breeze was perfect.
This was an unexpected accommodation, as I usually try to stay in Kona town for work, but for future trips, I will book here!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room... definitely a delight to fall asleep to the sound of surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skilarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here during Memorial Day Weekend last summer. It was a last minute vacation, but the place was clean, well maintained and location was convenient for snorkeling and activities. Just off Allii drive. A couple of miles to the south is a snorkeling beach which we found very safe and abundant in fish. There was a coin operated laundry facility, which was convenient too. On the down side , if you are close to the road on the downstairs unit you may get some noise from the road as Alii drive is a somewhat busy street.

Room Tip: Downstairs room closer to Allii drive may have more road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campbell95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $124 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing