We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Kona Bali Kai
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,363
$1,139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$161
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
122
113
94
71
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
113
94
71
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontlocal surferssea turtlesceiling fans in every roomfull kitchentide poolswasher dryerno air conditioningthrough vrbomaster bedroomcooking utensilsboogie boardsslidersking bedspinner dolphinsbeach chairslava rock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 464 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

DO NOT GO MOUNTAINSIDE. I booked mountainside and got a 'lovely' view of the roadside and oceanfront accommodation and accommodation behind me.

Areas of concern:
There was absolutely no mountain view.
Bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab.
Linen was not clean and duvet was covered in lint (ie like it had been washed with towels)
Bath tub and grouting had bad discoloration.
Severe lack of light in the room.
Room looked nothing like what was on picture.
Opened up cupboards and there was old paint containers, cleaning products, tiling. etc.
Internet cable given over reception desk did not even work!!
Reception shut over night and reopen at 8am.
I would rate this one above a backpackers...


Good notes:
Sunnys discount activities in the lounge area were fantastic with great deals.
If you take the time to head onto the beach infront of the ocean view rooms, the beach is lovely with deck chairs provided.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Based on previous reviews, we had identified there was a certain consistency in the way people experience this hotel because there are multiple buildings - some on the ocean side, and some on the other side of Ali'i Drive. Those with oceanfront rooms were very happy, whilst those with either partial ocean view or mountain view rooms in the building across the street from the primary building were less satisfied. We booked an oceanfront room as a result.

Alas, due to a plumbing issue in the room we booked, we were downgraded to a partial ocean view room across the street. This obviously was not the preferred room we wanted but given our choices were (1) a room with plumbing problems vs (2) a room which could still see the ocean and was problem-free, it was the best possible alternative that could be provided. The manager and reception staff were quite apologetic about needing to downgrade us, so we received good service on that front.

However, the main thing that really dragged down the review of this hotel is that paying customers are locked out of the lobby after 10pm. Apparently this is to stop people using the pool (which is located near the lobby) but when the only wifi internet provided is within the lobby, this means any guests wanting wifi end up sitting on the street kerb and holding their device close to the metal grated fence in order to get a wifi signal. There is no shelter from the weather so even a light misty rain makes this quite unpleasant. After a couple of nights of this, I found we could walk through a side carpark and into a dark corridor which got us out of the rain, but didn't give us any better seating - we still had to sit on hard concrete instead of comfortable seating. This seriously detracted from the sense of being a hotel guest - if you were in the oceanside building, you'd be able to drag a chair out of your room and sit on the area overlooking the pool and lobby, but those on the other side of the road were left to feel like second class citizens within the hotel hierarchy.

The second issue with the hotel was the lack of light within the room. Without a main bedroom ceiling light, for example, we had to feel our way through the gloom to the bedside lamp in the far corner. Due to the lampshade, there was not even enough light thrown through the room to check what colour shirt you were fishing out of a suitcase so we ended up using a flashlight to navigate inside sometimes. The living room was also odd - the ceiling light above the dining table was installed post-construction so turning it on involved following an extension cord along the floor behind some furniture, instead of just being a simple light switch. You could argue these aren't dealbreakers, but it's just a nuisance which could be easily avoided by the installation of decent/any ceiling light fixtures/switches.

On the positive side, the kitchen was extremely well-equipped with all manner of pots, pans, and cooking utensils so self-catering was a breeze. It even had a dishwasher if you didn't feel like doing dishes by hand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Based on previous reviews, we had identified there was a certain consistency in the way people experience this hotel because there are multiple buildings - some on the ocean side, and some on the other side of Ali'i Drive. Those with oceanfront rooms were very happy, whilst those with either partial ocean view or mountain view rooms in the building across the street from the primary building were less satisfied. We booked an oceanfront room as a result.

Alas, due to a plumbing issue in the room we booked, we were downgraded to a partial ocean view room across the street. This obviously was not the preferred room we wanted but given our choices were (1) a room with plumbing problems vs (2) a room which could still see the ocean and was problem-free, it was the best possible alternative that could be provided. The manager and reception staff were quite apologetic about needing to downgrade us, so we received good service on that front.

However, the main thing that really dragged down the review of this hotel is that paying customers are locked out of the lobby after 10pm. Apparently this is to stop people using the pool (which is located near the lobby) but when the only wifi internet provided is within the lobby, this means any guests wanting wifi end up sitting on the street kerb and holding their device close to the metal grated fence in order to get a wifi signal. There is no shelter from the weather so even a light misty rain makes this quite unpleasant. After a couple of nights of this, I found we could walk through a side carpark and into a dark corridor which got us out of the rain, but didn't give us any better seating - we still had to sit on hard concrete instead of comfortable seating. This seriously detracted from the sense of being a hotel guest - if you were in the oceanside building, you'd be able to drag a chair out of your room and sit on the area overlooking the pool and lobby, but those on the other side of the road were left to feel like second class citizens within the hotel hierarchy.

The second issue with the hotel was the lack of light within the room. Without a main bedroom ceiling light, for example, we had to feel our way through the gloom to the bedside lamp in the far corner. Due to the lampshade, there was not even enough light thrown through the room to check what colour shirt you were fishing out of a suitcase so we ended up using a flashlight to navigate inside sometimes. The living room was also odd - the ceiling light above the dining table was installed post-construction so turning it on involved following an extension cord along the floor behind some furniture, instead of just being a simple light switch. You could argue these aren't dealbreakers, but it's just a nuisance which could be easily avoided by the installation of decent/any ceiling light fixtures/switches.

On the positive side, the kitchen was extremely well-equipped with all manner of pots, pans, and cooking utensils so self-catering was a breeze. It even had a dishwasher if you didn't feel like doing dishes by hand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. We were in an ocean-view apartment on the third floor. Unfortunately, this apartment didn't appear to be updated for well over 15 years and had several flaws.

Pros:
- Ocean view and lanai was excellent
- Good value for sleeping 5 people

Cons:
- Turning on the fans threw some kind of residue all over the room. Don't know if it was condensation or some cleaning substance, but it didn't air-dry.
- Front bed was extremely hard. Dad said it was like putting a sheet on a box-spring.
- Bathrooms weren't especially clean - junk in the tub, discolored grout.
- Everything seemed outdated and in need of deep cleaning/overhaul

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TechieTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in an Ocean Front One Bedroom (unit 207) for a week in November 2012. We paid about $140/night with an internet special. I would not stay at Kona Bali Kai unless you book in the Ocean Front building. The location of the Ocean Front building and its proximity to the shore are spectacular. The rooms the space is well designed to ensure the best views from the living room and bedroom (both of which open onto the Lanai). The Lanai was beautiful and we were able to watch the sea turtles at almost any time of day. The sea turtles were so Omni-present we took to calling the condo Honu-House. The ocean front units have ceiling fans but no air-conditioning. That said, I don't think you need it. The breeze really comes up in the evening and cools the unit down. We loved the pounding surf and it lulled us to sleep, but I can imagine some very light sleepers having trouble with it. It was awesomely loud.

Additional great things:
--Check in and Check out were really easy and fast
--Plentiful parking.
--The pool and hot tub were rarely busy.
--Da Poke Shack is attached to the resort and serves the most amazing Pokes. We ate there three times in 7 days and everything we ordered was spectacular. Dinners for 2 Poke, sides, and a cold longboard, ran us less than $30. They have table but we always took it to go.
--The kitchen was well stocked and appliances were in good shape.

Needs improvement:
--The bed in our unit was way too old. It needed to be replaced and instead they had just but a memory foam topper on it. Both of us found it uncomfortable.
--There is no wireless in the rooms. There is wireless in the lobby or Ethernet access in the rooms. They will lend you an Ethernet cable. That said, we expect fast wireless access these days.
-- The clothes dryer didn't work very well. A balcony door wouldn't latch. We raised both these issues and no one ever came to check or fix them.
--The mid-week cleaning was very cursory. It would have been nice if they'd cleaned and not just made the bed.

Summary: We would definitely stay at the Bali Kai again. That said, I think we would try and rent through VRBO or Flip Key so that we could select a unit with a new bed and perhaps Wi-Fi. I think an ocean front condo at this complex would be easily work $200 night, so if you can ensure an updated unit...this complex is a great value.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms on any floor. Ask about when the bed was replaced.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews