We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$381
$279
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,117
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$172
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$312
$279
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
122
112
94
71
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
112
94
71
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontlocal surferssea turtlesceiling fans in every roomfull kitchentide poolswasher dryerno air conditioningthrough vrbomaster bedroomcooking utensilsboogie boardsslidersking bedspinner dolphinsbeach chairslava rock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 462 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel is 3 miles outside city center. Not really within walking distance. Staff was very particular about check in time being precisely at 3:00. Made us wait 4 minutes by stating the room was not ready. Then shift change at 3 and suddenly our room was ready. Room had head hair on top cover. Hotel is converted 70's apartments. Cheaper but be wary you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808Surfrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our room was a partial ocean view suite, it was located across Ali'i drive from the main hotel. Traffic noise was terrible. The room was outdated and in bad need of some renovations. The bed was sagged into the middle so bad that even though it was a king size bed we always ended up in the middle. A lot of the everyday kitchen items were missing IE: spatula, steak knives, frying pan, etc. The folks at the front desk were the only redeeming value at the resort. They were quick to help resolve all of the issues within their power.

Room Tip: From talking with others at the resort book in the main building or building 5.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just wanted to advise that Kona Bali Kai has been totally renovated and is just wonderful. New Kitchen with new cabinets and granite counter tops, new bathrooms with beautiful walk in showers, new tile and tiled lanai, full size washer and dryer. This is one of the best units at the Bali Kai and we enjoy coming every year. The owners advertise on VRBO, listing number 283901. Book early as the condo stay full most of the time with repeat guests. We just love it.

Room Tip: 409 is on the top floor and no noise from above. Plus only 3 units down from the elevator. Great for long term stays.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konasunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kona Bali Kai. Our condo was lovely and the service we received was great. The individuals at the front desk were helpful, the women who touched up our condo, mid stay, were warm and friendly, and the view was spectacular. We will definitely return to the Kona Bali Kai and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

First of all Hotel does not compare to photos they have posted. I was booked in a Mountain view suite and I had no Mountain view or Ocean view, My room was facing the main street across the street from main lobby of hotel. The traffic there was so loud it made it hard to sleep. The air conditioner was in the living room and only had a fan in the room that was also loud. The bed was not a king size like it said I would have. It was so old that when my husband and I laid on it, it sank in the middle. The sofa bed was also horrible, you could fill the bars from the frame. Sprinklers went off @ 330am right outside the bedroom window. There is no room service unless you book 7 days and if you want room service they charge per day. You have to wash your own towels and if you want extra they charge for them also I would not return to this hotel, from what I seen there are better hotels around this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irenevaldivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews