We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our Big Island trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kona by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saved our Big Island trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

After a disastrous stay at Halii Kai at Waikoloa we were able to move to Aston Kona by the Sea with great assistance from Jeffrey at Costco Travel. We moved from a miles from ocean condo to an ocean front condo with kind employees and a wonderful feel. The condo was homey and comfortable and we enjoyed it very much. The pool was very nice, though nothing fancy. We spent hours there, literally as we spent much of our last day at the pool after we formally checked out since we had a late night flight. The registration desk attendant was very nice about letting us continue to hang out and kill time. There is not a real beach, but there is a nice sandy area and great tidepools just beyond the pool. We were in room 101 and it was wonderful. Great views from the Lanai and very comfy. The daily cleaning was nice and the washer and dryer were life savers, travelling with three kids. It was very nice to actually be in what really felt like a beach town and we loved our stay. If we hadn't been able to move, it would have been a tolerable week on the Big Island after our week on Kauai, as it was we had a wonderful time on the Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are very happy that we saved your stay in Hawaii. We welcome you to our ohana and look forward to many more visits.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    179
    43
    30
    12
See reviews for
196
186
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a while ago and absolutely loved it. The rates were reasonable so we opted for the ocean front room. It was huge! Great island decor an literally just steps from the water. There isn't a "beach" but there is a lagoon where you will see turtles and fish congregating and a nice sandy area to sun bathe. Friendly staff and gorgeous pool as well! Love this place!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 116RyanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just returned from Kona and we stayed here for the first night we arrived. I wanted a location that was ocean front and not just view and we received just that. We stayed in room 101 and the view was amazing of the ocean. Even though it's the first floor, it's not ground level so you will be able to get a nice view of the waves crashing on the rocks.

The rooms were a nice size and when we checked out, we were told that room was getting new furniture. We said that if we came back to Kona and needed a place to stay for an extended period of time, then this would be the place.

We didn't get in the pool there but I guess it was a decent size. There is also a small stretch of beach but you have to climb down a wall and over rocks to get to the water which isn't very swim safe. We did see some small marine life and a turtle that was being pushed back from the waves.

All in all, we loved this place and it was a great way to start the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaPaMa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
First impressions are always important. We are happy that we kicked off a great vacation. We hope now that you found us you will stay longer.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
342 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Aston Kona by the Sea for a full week and loved the entire time. Our room faced directly out onto the ocean and it was so close it sounded like the waves were right at our doorstep. The room was a condo-type room, so had everything that one might need, including a full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, stove, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils, etc. It also had a washer/drier, safe, two televisions, etc. The hotel is about two miles south of the town of Kailua-Kona. We loved our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Kona by the Sea is calling for your return. We appreciate your great review.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

If coming to Kona, you must stay at the Kona by the Sea. The modern decor with some original Hawaiian art, clean carpets, and great ocean front view of Room 323 is perfect for couples even though the sofa sleeper could accommodate 2 more easily. Relax in the chase lounge on the spacious balcony and watch the waves crash against the rocks. The facilities are clean and nice and you are only 2 miles on Alii drive from all the oceanfront action. Free videos (we only tried one night to watch videos but couldn't figure out how to operate the DVD player), daily room service and pool and hot tub makes this condo an ideal relaxing place to stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
When you return we are happy to show you how our Play station works. Please return very soon your ohana is looking forward to it.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I loved staying here. Our room was amazing, clean and had an amazing view. I would stay here again and would recommend staying here for anyone. We just left on 6/17/14 and want to go back!
If you are looking for a nice family friendly place, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review. You are right we are perfect for families. We make you feel at home.

Please return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and three kids for one night, but we honestly could have stayed a week. Great 2-bedroom oceanfront unit, worth the extra to upgrade. Beautiful view, wonderful freshwater pool, and great location. Expedia rep on site made it so much easier to book scuba trips and other excursions. Loved it, so tough to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We hope you do plan at least a week with us one night is definitely not enough.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,491 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#5 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Property: Aston Kona by the Sea
Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing