We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from the room, well equipped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view from the room, well equipped.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights, using it as our base from which to explore the big island. The suite was well equipped. The decor leans bit toward the 70s but was fine. The balcony is a generous size, room for a table, chairs and a chaise. Easy to enjoy breakfast out on the balcony. The view was excellent and the property includes a pool, a barbecue area, and a beach with chairs, tables, umbrellas and lounge chairs, protected by a seawall The staff was very good. town.

The one negative is that the showers were installed at an unusually low height. We are both 5'8" and had to duck well down to get underneath the shower head. There was no hope of leaning back to put your face under the stream.

It's about a mile-and-a-half to the shops and restaurants of Kona and you can end up sitting in heavy traffic as there are only a few routes between the condo and town.

Some covered parking some outdoor parking—first come, first serve. There is a DVD rental machine in the check-in area and we received a card good for two free rentals. In addition to the Concierge there is a desk from which you can book activities and also sign up for a time share presentation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We fully understand your concern of the height of the shower and will work with the owner on a solution. Thank you for staying with us and we hope for your return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    205
    49
    32
    15
See reviews for
239
218
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked 2 suites for our last trip, a one bedroom partial ocean view and a 2 bedroom ocean front suite. The extra cost for the ocean front unit was well worth the money - dinning at the balcony and watch the sun goes down. This vacation condo is well kept for its age and managed by a wonderful group of people; from the manager, front desk staff, to house and ground keepers. Pools are at the edge of ocean accompanied by a (miniature) beach, don't forget to bring your steaks and family to the poolside for a sunset BBQ.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The two things our guests love about us are the two things you mentioned our staff and the beautiful ocean. We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked Aston Kona by the Sea through Donna Bender of MauiCalls who is an Aston Specialist. The unit was huge and had such a lovely view of the ocean! There was a sandy area under the palm trees that was perfect for reading and relaxing. We used the outdoor BBQ grills a couple of times, and found it to be kind of a social hour with the other residents! Covered parking was nice, and the pool was great. We had a rental car so getting around was easy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your great review it will help our readers make the right decision.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have stayed at this condo resort twice in the last 10 years. The condo was wonderful with a fabulous view, nice furnishings and linens. The kitchen was nicely equipped for our cooking needs. Perhaps what stood out the most was the staff. The lobby staff was always attentive and wonderfully friendly. The housekeeping staff was friendly and met our requests in a timely way. We highly recommend this place !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We always believed our staff is why our guests return year after year.

Thank you for sharing with our readers what we believe in.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We again stayed here on our trip to Kona this past January. We stayed in a two-bedroom ocean front condo. The condo was perfect, the staff was helpful and friendly and it's a great location. We'll be back next year again.

Room Tip: The ocean front condos are your best view but are a little more expensive. We also like to be higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We look forward to be of service to you and your family very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here with family (dad, mom and two teenage kids) in a two-bedroom ocean front suite. We booked it using Costco travel and got a reasonably good price. The suite was a fully furnished condo, with a living room and kitchen. We never cooked but used the kitchen to make tea/coffee or cut fruits and warm food (when we had take out). Kitchen was well equipped with all utensils and a dish washer. We stayed for 4 (four) nights. It was very comfortable. View of the ocean from the balcony was gorgeous. The property is very well maintained. Free covered parking is available in the basement. There is an Expedia travel booth near the front desk. The agent of the travel booth gave us various choices to book activities on the big island. We booked the sub-marine ride with her. There is pool and hot tub on the property but we never used the facility as we were mostly out and about. There is no provision for room service, basically no food. Drink is only available from a vending machine. I wish the owners offer at least some breakfast on the property (reason for giving them 4 stars instead of 5). By the way, there is a free DVD rental and we used it to watch movies in the room. The room had a flat screen TV and DVD-player-cum-game-console. They also have free wi-fi in the room. Overall very happy with the service. Will recommend my friends to go to this property, any time.

Room Tip: Pick a ocean front accommodation and you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mksahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your suggestion unfortunately it is not in our future plans but always a possibility.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Being prepared for a "value accommodation", we were very pleasantly surprised by everything about it. The suite (322) was in excellent condition with nice finishes including marble counter tops, and a full suite of appliances that all worked flawlessly. The King size bed was just like our own at home. The ocean breeze moved so effectively through the unit (once we opened some vents in the back bedroom), we didn't need the AC.

The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant and our (very) late arrival was professionally handled. We felt like we were being welcomed home. The housekeeping staff were a treat and kept us well cared for and short of nothing.

The location was ideal, just far enough outside of downtown Kailua to be away from the "tourist bustle", but close enough so that our morning runs facilitated a wake-up brew at Lava Java. While the surf on the rocky public beach out front was a little too adventurous for us, the surfers loved it. The pool and small sandy beach area on the property were well maintained and provided a perfect venue to tan, swim, bar-b-que and watch the waves, surfers and sunsets.

Overall, an excellent experience at a good price. We will be back.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the 1 bedroom units, but the two bedroom, oceanfront unit is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We always appreciate our guests that know how to have a great Hawaiian vacation. We are happy that we were a part your experience. Thank you for with staying us.

Our Ohana awaits your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
24.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
24.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Property: Aston Kona by the Sea
Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing