We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Kona by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,363
$1,139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$161
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
316
220
52
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
220
52
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontsandy areafull kitchendaily maid servicethe big islandliving roomwasher and dryerbedroom oceanfrontsalt water poolcovered parkingcleaned dailyunderground parkingoffice staffgreat place to staysand beachgreat ocean viewswaves crashing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 639 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here with family (dad, mom and two teenage kids) in a two-bedroom ocean front suite. We booked it using Costco travel and got a reasonably good price. The suite was a fully furnished condo, with a living room and kitchen. We never cooked but used the kitchen to make tea/coffee or cut fruits and warm food (when we had take out). Kitchen was well equipped with all utensils and a dish washer. We stayed for 4 (four) nights. It was very comfortable. View of the ocean from the balcony was gorgeous. The property is very well maintained. Free covered parking is available in the basement. There is an Expedia travel booth near the front desk. The agent of the travel booth gave us various choices to book activities on the big island. We booked the sub-marine ride with her. There is pool and hot tub on the property but we never used the facility as we were mostly out and about. There is no provision for room service, basically no food. Drink is only available from a vending machine. I wish the owners offer at least some breakfast on the property (reason for giving them 4 stars instead of 5). By the way, there is a free DVD rental and we used it to watch movies in the room. The room had a flat screen TV and DVD-player-cum-game-console. They also have free wi-fi in the room. Overall very happy with the service. Will recommend my friends to go to this property, any time.

Room Tip: Pick a ocean front accommodation and you will love it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your suggestion unfortunately it is not in our future plans but always a possibility.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Being prepared for a "value accommodation", we were very pleasantly surprised by everything about it. The suite (322) was in excellent condition with nice finishes including marble counter tops, and a full suite of appliances that all worked flawlessly. The King size bed was just like our own at home. The ocean breeze moved so effectively through the unit (once we opened some vents in the back bedroom), we didn't need the AC.

The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant and our (very) late arrival was professionally handled. We felt like we were being welcomed home. The housekeeping staff were a treat and kept us well cared for and short of nothing.

The location was ideal, just far enough outside of downtown Kailua to be away from the "tourist bustle", but close enough so that our morning runs facilitated a wake-up brew at Lava Java. While the surf on the rocky public beach out front was a little too adventurous for us, the surfers loved it. The pool and small sandy beach area on the property were well maintained and provided a perfect venue to tan, swim, bar-b-que and watch the waves, surfers and sunsets.

Overall, an excellent experience at a good price. We will be back.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the 1 bedroom units, but the two bedroom, oceanfront unit is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubbsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We always appreciate our guests that know how to have a great Hawaiian vacation. We are happy that we were a part your experience. Thank you for with staying us.

Our Ohana awaits your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in Feb 14. Nice place, good location, beautiful pool. The rooms are good size but do need a new coat of paint. Unfortunately our bed room was at the front and when sleeping, you could hear people walking by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450dominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our owners will read your comments and appreciate your feedback. When you return you might want to try our two bedroom where the master bedroom is in front of the ocean with its own sliding glass door.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose Aston Kona by the Sea through our travel agent’s broker, Go Go Travels. We have yet to learn how much is cost us per night.

Pros:
- washer/dryer
- fully equipped kitchen
- nice view from the lanai
- friendly staff
- clean
- Covered parking

Cons:
- No beach within short walking distance. Feel the photos on the internet were deceiving.
- Bedroom at opposite end of ocean; could not be lulled to sleep by the waves
- Too far to walk from bedroom to lanai
- Too far from “downtown”
- Two full baths with one bed. What was the point?
- Amenity fee for mostly useless items; daily paper, DVD, Play Station, local toll free phone calls.

We were there to explore that side of the Big Island, not read the paper, watch movies or play games regardless of the weather. In fact, we toured the Kohala Coast in the rain! Don’t miss it!

This has nothing to do with this establishment but Kailua Kona has certainly exploded since we were there 20 years ago. It has become a terrible tourist trap. After this most recent trip, we have no desire to ever return.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to a beach, don't stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milbillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We sincerely hope you one day change your mind of our beautiful Island. Kona by the Sea will always welcome you back.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friends and I have stayed here four times over the past seven years, and I would return again. This is perfect for those who don't mind paying a premium price and get a premium experience. I have stayed in three different units, all within the same building and the view keeps us coming back. Each unit seems a bit different, especially in the quality of the mattresses and furniture, I do have a favorite unit which I feel is one of the main reasons we keep returning to Kona by the Sea.

The grounds are very well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. There isn't much of a beach here, just a sand area with palm trees and lounge chairs. There is a decent pool and hot tub, but I rarely use them. The outside entertainment, free of charge, comes from the locals surfing the waves and others hanging out by the sea pool getting splashed with incoming waves.

This place is a bit of a hike from town, so you will need a rental car to get around if you stay here, however if you know Kona well, you can find the good parking spots in town.

I think the main reason why my friends and I keep returning, is the fantastic ocean view from the lanai as we tend to chill out during the morning and have a Kona coffee, then in the evening watch the magnificent sunset drinking a icy Longboard beer.

To tell you the truth, I wish (more of my friends wish) I could give this property a poor rating to keep all the tourists away and keep this gem all to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitalroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We understand wanting exclusive visits but we need everyone to keep us available just for you. We definitely appreciate your loyalty.

Your ohana waits for your return soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews