We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Overbooked - Reservation withdrawn shortly before arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Resort Overbooked - Reservation withdrawn shortly before arrival”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We put a deposit on two rooms 3 months prior to our arrival. 4 weeks prior to our arrival we got an email saying that the Aston Kona by the Sea was overbooked and we were being moved to an associated Aston resort which had very poor reviews. Given the poor reviews, I said that the alternate was not acceptable, so they found a third resort for us to stay which was acceptable to both us and the management of Kona by the Sea. We had confirmed reservations at this resort.

The saga continues...2-½ weeks prior to our arrival we got another email saying that the Aston Kona by the Sea suddenly had rooms for us again, and they had cancelled our reservation at the third location. My suspicion is that the initial plan to move us to their associated, poorly rated resort was an attempt to fill that resort. When we refused to go there, I suspect some other poor customer was coerced to move their reservation from Kona by the Sea.

We cancelled our reservation with this company. I would not trust them and will not do business here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gypsy_Adventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the over-booking situation that had occurred. We try our utmost to accommodate every reservation request but in this situation, a booking error had occurred.

We had to make alternate arrangements to try to remedy the situation and we were willing to cover the additional costs incurred. It is never our intent to relocate anyone to fill another neighboring hotel. (Aston Kona by the Sea is the only Aston property in Kailua Kona.) Due to two cancellations, rooms became available and we were happy to be able to offer you accommodations at our property as originally requested.

Over-booking situations do not happen very often, but when they do, our policy is to find accommodations equal to or better than the room our guests had originally booked. Again, we sincerely apologize for the handling of your reservations and hope you give us another opportunity to get it right in the future. Please call me personally at 808-327-2350 for your next visit to Kailua Kona. Aloha, David Hadrick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    204
    49
    32
    15
See reviews for
236
216
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The view from our two bedroom condo was jaw-dropping. We had breakfast on the balcony, and hated to leave each morning to sightsee. At night the sound of the waves was like a lullaby which was worth paying extra for a two bedroom. A door from the bedroom opened to the balcony, as did one from the living room. The condo was very spacious. The only drawback was that you couldn't swim in the ocean. There is a small access to the water but the waves were rough. Parking is underground so the car stayed cool. We had to ask the maid for lotion since those amentities were not provided daily. Bathroom had beach towels which was nice. Grounds are immaculate with an open-air lobby.

Room Tip: We were in room 302 which was at the end building away from the pool. We were close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We wish we could take full reponsibility for the views but we made sure by putting you close to the ocean for jaw dropping views and sounds. Thank you for staying with us we wait for your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our second stay at Kona Aston By the Sea, and we won't go there again ! All the units are indiviually owned, with very little consistency or standards among them. Our first unit had a terrible smell (like old wet smelly socks), and looked as if it hadn't been "updated" in countless years (mid 1970's era - countertops/very dirty old flooring, walls that hadn't been painted in years etc). After a long day of travel, we were looking at multiple units, trying to decide on the least offensive one. The manager was pleasant, and trying to help, but it was very limited. The unit we finally chose was only minimally clean, and we had to stand up to look out 2 small windows at our "ocean front" view. There is quite a difference in cost between "ocean front" and "ocean view" and we were very specific when we made the reservation. They didn't offer us a credit, and we were too tired to ask for it. This was our 2nd visit to Aston Kona by the Sea, and our first time was exactly the same, as far as having to choose between the least offensive units "available". The first time they eventually offered us a pleasant unit that was what we'd paid for, but they made us work for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillyseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sincerely disappointed to read of an experience far below our standards. I am very surpised the unit I showed you was not satisfactory. I apologize for my misunderstanding and believed we did find a unit to your satisfaction. Please be assured your concerns are taken very seriously and conversation had begun to resolve the situation. I offer my personal assistance in the hopes you change your mind and decide to return. I will be happy to work with you in providing that great Hawaiian vacation you expected while here at Aston Kona by the Sea.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Indeed, a great apartment complex with covered parking. It is located about 11-12 miles south of the Kona airport. The cando is about 2 miles south of Kona downtown. Safeway, Wallmart, Target and other stores are also at driving distance. Costco is midway between the airport and the Cando on Hina Lina street.

We stayed in Apt 304 for 7 nights. This is a well decorated ocean front apartment and away from the pool. The master bedroom is spacious. Both the rooms have ceiling fans. The view from the balcony is great. I will attach a few pictures. We kept the sliding door open all night to hear the tides crashing onto the edge. However there is no beach access. There is a small beach about a mile north of the property on Alii street after the first stop sign. The public access very next to the property that takes you closer to the Ocean. The ridge is very rocky.

The service was great and we did not have any issues. We had a problem with the rice cooker but we got the replacement at once. Other than that, my vacation was great and i will recommend this property.

Just a FYI: A $10 resort fee will be charged per night. This fee is for news paper, wifi, coffee, etc. The coffee is 10% Kona blend. It will great if they they could provide 100% Kona.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank STERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Its always location, location, location. Especially when our beautiful ocean is right in front of you. Thank you for the great review its always a pleasure to be thought of as awesome. By the way we have contracted with a new vendor for our coffee so please look forward to that.

We look forward to your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was the perfect location, the rooms were clean and well kept. I loved having a kitchen and an elevator. I highly recommend this hotel because it is only a few minutes from downtown, shopping, and restaurants. Easy in and out and it has a covered garage...very rare. Even though the property does not have a beach, it had a pool and sand leading up to the lava built wall. Most hotels on the Big Island do not have a beach because it a volconic island. Loved it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Aloha and thankyou for staying with us. We appreciate that you shared your experience making Aston Kona by the Sea an easy choice.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetawan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This resort is located on Alii Drive just a few miles south of Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii and 11 miles south of the Kona Airport. The resort is right on the ocean however the coastline in front is rocky and you cannot enter the ocean here. There are however numerous well maintained beach parks along Alii Drive that offer sandy/safe beach access within walking distance of the resort .

We had a spacious 1 bedroom, 2 bath condo with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The kitchen included a full size fridge and stove with a blender, coffee maker, rice cooker, microwave, etc. Both bathrooms were complete with shower/tub combos so guests staying on the pull-out couch in the livingroom would have their own private bathroom. The lanai was very spacious and included a table with 4 chairs, 2 loungers and a small side table. Each day, maids came in to make the bed, empty trash and straighten up the room.

The resort is only 4 stories high with less than 100 rooms, which we consider small and intimate and is what we prefer. Our room #211, was on the second floor and was ocean front offering the spectacular sights and sounds of the ocean!!! Parking here is underground so your car is shaded during the day and each of the 2 buildings has an elevator which takes you from the garage up to your floor.

The resort does charge a daily resort fee of $10 which includes a daily newspaper, coffee & tead, in room safe, high-speed internet access, unlimited DVD and Playstation 2 game rentals and local and toll-free phone calls. As well a daily room tax rate of 13.416% is added to your bill. Reception staff are incredibly friendly and were very accomodating to our needs!

Overall, we found this location to be a perfect place to explore the big island of Hawaii and we would highly recommend it to other travellers!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so you don't have to worry about getting a room that overlooks the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your efforts to share your experience with us. Please return very soon and share the beauty of Hawaii with us.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for 6 nights. Our room had a partial ocean view, and if you sat on the lanai it was a full view. The rooms are huge with a fully equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and large bedroom, they all had a Hawaiian touch to them.
The swimming pool was really clean, and the hotel provides separate pool/beach towels for your use, a great idea! The location is good for travelling around the island, and its only minutes back to the township if you are eating out, but why bother, they provide very clean grills to make your own dinner and watch the sunset from your room.
Staff very friendly and helpful. The in-room wireless is a great bonus, and the dvd rentals tho we thought we wouldn't use them were really nice to have to just relax and stay "home"
Very much recommend Kona by the Sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwialaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. This is the best way to help our readers decide with confidence we are the perfect choice for a great Hawaiian vacation.

Please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
809 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Property: Aston Kona by the Sea
Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing