We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a second!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would go back in a second!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was the perfect location, the rooms were clean and well kept. I loved having a kitchen and an elevator. I highly recommend this hotel because it is only a few minutes from downtown, shopping, and restaurants. Easy in and out and it has a covered garage...very rare. Even though the property does not have a beach, it had a pool and sand leading up to the lava built wall. Most hotels on the Big Island do not have a beach because it a volconic island. Loved it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Aloha and thankyou for staying with us. We appreciate that you shared your experience making Aston Kona by the Sea an easy choice.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    204
    49
    32
    15
See reviews for
236
216
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetawan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This resort is located on Alii Drive just a few miles south of Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii and 11 miles south of the Kona Airport. The resort is right on the ocean however the coastline in front is rocky and you cannot enter the ocean here. There are however numerous well maintained beach parks along Alii Drive that offer sandy/safe beach access within walking distance of the resort .

We had a spacious 1 bedroom, 2 bath condo with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The kitchen included a full size fridge and stove with a blender, coffee maker, rice cooker, microwave, etc. Both bathrooms were complete with shower/tub combos so guests staying on the pull-out couch in the livingroom would have their own private bathroom. The lanai was very spacious and included a table with 4 chairs, 2 loungers and a small side table. Each day, maids came in to make the bed, empty trash and straighten up the room.

The resort is only 4 stories high with less than 100 rooms, which we consider small and intimate and is what we prefer. Our room #211, was on the second floor and was ocean front offering the spectacular sights and sounds of the ocean!!! Parking here is underground so your car is shaded during the day and each of the 2 buildings has an elevator which takes you from the garage up to your floor.

The resort does charge a daily resort fee of $10 which includes a daily newspaper, coffee & tead, in room safe, high-speed internet access, unlimited DVD and Playstation 2 game rentals and local and toll-free phone calls. As well a daily room tax rate of 13.416% is added to your bill. Reception staff are incredibly friendly and were very accomodating to our needs!

Overall, we found this location to be a perfect place to explore the big island of Hawaii and we would highly recommend it to other travellers!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so you don't have to worry about getting a room that overlooks the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your efforts to share your experience with us. Please return very soon and share the beauty of Hawaii with us.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for 6 nights. Our room had a partial ocean view, and if you sat on the lanai it was a full view. The rooms are huge with a fully equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and large bedroom, they all had a Hawaiian touch to them.
The swimming pool was really clean, and the hotel provides separate pool/beach towels for your use, a great idea! The location is good for travelling around the island, and its only minutes back to the township if you are eating out, but why bother, they provide very clean grills to make your own dinner and watch the sunset from your room.
Staff very friendly and helpful. The in-room wireless is a great bonus, and the dvd rentals tho we thought we wouldn't use them were really nice to have to just relax and stay "home"
Very much recommend Kona by the Sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwialaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. This is the best way to help our readers decide with confidence we are the perfect choice for a great Hawaiian vacation.

Please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at the Kona by the sea for 7 nights the place was big enough that my family were not on top of each other while in the building big Lanai we ate breakfast out there every morning where we had a perfect view of the ocean. Could not see or hear other neighbors around you. Kitchen was equipped with supplies but I wish they would have just a few more items. New towels and sheets for you every day. Down fall you must drive to most places you want to go, not much in walking distance. Beaches were up the street one direction and shops the other.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wantavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Our spacious units with full amenities, kitchen, two full baths, washer/dryer add the beautiful ocean and you have a perfect home away from home.

Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family stayed here for 4 days and we were happy to have a fully equipped kitchen to prepare breakfast and lunch. Although groceries are very expensive it was still cheaper to prepare breakfast and lunch then it was to eat out. The pool area was nice. Great view of the ocean although you could not swim there. It was also nice to have two full baths. You were able to rent two free movies each day from the lobby which was great and a lot of new releases. We would take one each morning on our way out and return in the evening to watch it. This unit also had a washer and dryer and free detergent which was nice. Close to shopping and dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amyn301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Providing options other than restaurants and in room pay per view helps you include more activities to experience the beauty of our Island . Thankyou for staying with us and we hope to have you return soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice place near the things in town you need. Our first place the refridgerator died, but they quickly had us move to another equally nice place. Great ocean views but no swimming along the rough lava coastline. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Upper floors are a little better...you don' t have bread the kids are feeding the birds flying b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mulebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and sister-in-law and I were very impressed with the condo we rented for 8 days.Each day it was cleaned by an adorable cleaning woman and was spotless. there were two bedrooms and bathrooms which made it optimal for our needs. The kitchen was well equipped and the wifi worked well - we could see the waves breaking over the rocks and the palm trees swaying. We ate on the lannai and it was very pleasant. If I were to return to the area I would stay there again without hesitation and recommend it to others. We wished to see the volcanos and they were very helpful booking our helicopter ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Our readers can only appreciate your review helping a sometimes tough decision when planning a once in a life time trip to Hawaii. Reading your review will provide confidence that someone found a great place to experience the Big Island of Hawaii.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
809 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Property: Aston Kona by the Sea
Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing