We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,589)
Filter reviews
3,589 results
Traveler rating
817
1,424
786
338
224
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
817
1,424
786
338
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon mai tai bar alii tower don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower the big island salt water lagoon shops and restaurants an ocean view room an older hotel on the rocks waves crashing open air watch the sunset coffee maker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 3,589 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The property is full of potential and the layout/design of the grounds is quite wonderful but the rooms need attention as do the hallways, doors, stairwells. Don't expect luxury in the rooms. We were in an "Ocean View" room that was modest and furnished in a pretty basic way. No microwave available. No ceramic cups for the coffee. Paper cups and plastic cups is all you'll find in these rooms. At least the rooms were clean and quite large. We tried to arrange to stay for another couple of nights after going to the other side of the island but the reservation staff was unable to ensure which tower we could stay in. We wanted the "Lagoon Tower." They couldn't commit to anything--even thought we were requesting dates only 3 nights into the future. Also, they charge $10 for wifi in the rooms but it's free on the rest of the property. A bit of a ripoff. I doubt I would stay here again.

Room tip: Don't get stuck with a room facing toward Kona. Very loud.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fromcanada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Aloha,

We are very sorry that there were some drawbacks to your stay. We are in the process of making improvements to the resort. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee which tower the guests will be placed in until check in. Our resort frequently sells out, thus making availability very limited. We place guests in the first available room of their room type, which potentially is in a tower that was not requested. Most of the time, we are able to honor these types of requests. However, we never guarantee because there is always a small chance we are sold out and unable to accommodate the location request. As a resort that does not charge a heft daily resort fee, we do strive to be fairly priced, and only charge for amenities utilized, such as wifi in the room and parking. We hope that despite some drawbacks, you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you would give us a second chance in the future.

Mahalo,

Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

This is a lovely property in a great location on the Big Island. An added bonus is the luau that is held right on property with good food and really nice entertainment; the setting couldn't be nicer. The only reason for a "4" instead of a "5" is that most guests walk down a driveway to get to a couple of restaurants on the same side of the street, and there is no sidewalk or pedestrian area indicated, so it is tricky walking among the cars. Also, at the designated crosswalk on the main road, some people gather to panhandle by the crossing button, so it feels a bit unsafe after dark. Otherwise, you could not get a better location with a more amazing view.

Room tip: Even the partial ocean view was really beautiful.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Aloha Patti,

Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the resort has to offer, including our luau. We would love to welcome you back to the resort on your next trip to Kona!

Mahalo,

Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

From the front desk to the restaurant personnel, they were all helpful and very pleasant to talk to.
Our room had a partial ocean view overlooking the luau stage. We were treated to the great shows almost every night.

Room tip: Request one overlooking the luau stage.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Aloha Dexter,

Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the resort has to offer. On your next trip, you should enjoy the luau as a guest! The food is delicious and the show is beautiful. We would love to welcome you back to the resort.

Mahalo,

Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We are an airline family, so we travel space available, I like to come down one to two days early before our week of using our time share, so if we don’t make the flight, we are not losing our timeshare days. We always stay at the Royal Kona for those one or two nights. Let’s start with the staff, very friendly, and a pleasure to work with, I really love the people at the Royal Kona! Don the Beachcomber bar, as a pilot who has been all over the world, Don the beachcomber bar is one of the coolest!! My family has seen the “green flash” here numerous times, and how many bars are surrounded by ocean! The rooms are fine, Kona is a place where hopefully you are out doing outdoor activities all day, and not hanging out at the hotel room! I always enjoy the Royal Kona, and hope you enjoy it too!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank S4483NQcharlesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are honored that you family stays with us so frequently! We are delighted that you enjoy your time in Kona year after year and have even seen the "green flash". It's a truly magical place! We can't wait to see you again and would love to make every stay even better than the last!

Mahalo,

Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

I have been traveling to Kona since 1983 2 years after my parents moved there. From the first time my Wife and I visited together in 1992 she has wanted to stay at the Royal Kona resort. This was our first time and we got an ocean front room. It was fabulous!! cozy and clean with Ocean Waves crashing all night long. Mmmmmm GREAT! Just a quick walk into downtown for a night out. Kailua Kona is just fantastic! In the immortal words of Za Terminator.... We'll Be Back!

Room tip: All rooms are great but try for an Ocean Front so as not to miss those delicious waves.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MANIFEST T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are delighted that you finally got to stay with us and reserved an oceanfront room. The views from our oceanfront rooms are absolutely stunning! We would love to welcome you back to the resort and would be delighted to help make your next stay even better! Hasta La Vista!

Mahalo,

Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews