We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the poor reviews??”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
A TripAdvisor Member
HemelHempstead, England
110
Reviewed February 10, 2006

This was a wonderful end to a wonderful trip - nearly 4 weeks visiting the Islands, including over 2 weeks on the Big Island. We chose the Royal Kona Resort with some concern, but its location and facilities made us overlook the poor reviews we'd seen here - and were we thankful we had! There may be some poor rooms, but we were "upgraded" to a renovated room free of charge, and it was excellent. So was the service throughout, also the food. Being able to walk to a luau on our final evening in Hawai'i just put the crown on it all.

Certainly there are some minor details that need management attention - elevator indicator lights not working, wireless internet not working, concrete cracked in places - but the last of these was being worked on, and no doubt the others will be dealt with during the renovation.

The building work was in progress only during the working day, and only disturbed us when at the pool on a calm day; normally the surf drowned out other noise.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,461 - 2,467 of 2,915 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Escondido, Ca
120
Reviewed January 30, 2006

Jan 27, 2006
We have visited the Big Island many times, this was our first stay at the Royal Kona. We needed one, last night, stay due to condo arrangements ending early.

We used the internet, found the price was very fair, the rooms looked good and we were close to town and close to the condo which we had to check out of.

Upon checking in, we mentioned our honeymoon - last night on The Big Island. "Oh, we have a very nice room with a wrap around balcony:, was the response.

Upon entry of the room, we were instantly aware that The Royal Kona Resort website gave a completely false impression of the hotel's room accomodations.

Not only should this place not be called a resort, the unacceptable rooms should not be made available for the public to stay in.

Deplorable, outdated, unkept decor. Leaky toilet. Cheap towels, tiny and thin as if in use for years. Very noisy, over street room. And, yes, bed-bugs. We both came home with bug bite marks, which we did not have before we checked in.

The only reason we did not change hotels was because we were tired and it was already late.

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

We returned to the Royal Kona for a 2nd year in a row(Jan.11-17, 2006). I can only speak for the seventh floor in main tower but we found everything in excellent shape.There is new carpeting in the hotel hallways and rooms with freshly painted walls.Our room was clean and spacious.
We were happy to find our favorite restaurant, the Kona Ranch House(across the hiway from backside of Seaside Hotel nextdoor to Shell Gas station)open again under new ownership. The food was delicious and their famous cornbread, the best we have ever tasted, was again available.As of right now, it is only open for breakfast and lunch but are planning to open for dinner soon.

7  Thank deralte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Green Bay, WI
19
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Just returned from our first visit to Hawaii. Spent 5 nights at the Royal Kona because of a package purchased through Pleasant Holidays. The reviews on this site had me worried until check-in. I couldn't have picked a better location and facility for the our first visit. We stayed on the top floor of the Beach Building -- partial ocean view (just over the lagoon). Incredible views! The staff was wonderful and hotel was clean and convenient. If you are going to Hawaii to stay in your hotel... this is probably not your idea of the ideal place. We skipped the luau (listened & watched from poolside). What a great week!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We stayed over Christmas 2005 and enjoyed our visit. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the renovated room and we said yes and we were so glad we did. We stayed on the top floor and the rooms we neat and clean.(ok so it's not the ritz) BUT...If we needed something, housekeeping was prompt and polite at getting it to us. We had an 11 p.m. departure so we asked for a late check out and were able to do so at 2 p.m. I asked for a hospitality room and they gave us one for an hour closer to the time we needed to go to the airport. We were able to squeeze in a whole day of sightseeing. But now I know where all the other complaints came in! Yuck...we were glad we paid the extra $$. The old tower rooms were smelly, Very outdated, peeling paper, rusty..etc. I'm glad we only had the room for an hour. It is worth the upgrade! As far as the waves...people.....it is a natural occurance in the winter in Hawaii for higher than normal waves. The food at the morning buffets was delicious and kept up. The hotel staff was more then helpful and you make your vacation what it is. Thanks Royal Kona

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

I thought this was a beuatiful place to stay. The room was really spacious and with lots of fittings including a little kitchenette. I would have liked a singular light in the main bed area but lots of little lamps were there to give the light and i suppose if you wanted a nice ambiance it would have been nice. I would have to say the only things I found negative was that I could smell fresh paint in a number of places but they did have signs stating they were fixing up the place. A few more umbrellas could have been placed in the pool area as it got quite busy in the afternoon but still you could usually find a spot after a little while. The big problem I found was that the shuttle was unavailable and for someone who doesn't drive it ends up causing major problems in getting around (I got a few looks walking up the highway on route to were I needed to go one day). One of the staff mentioned it had been out for over 6 months due to a fault that they could fix in less than a week but she was unsure as to why they had not fixed it.
It is very centrally located contrary to this and taxis get there within 20min as it takes on average at most 20min to get to the majority of places on the tourist maps within Kona.
I found all the staff very friendly and always quite helpful. I will be staying there if I head over to Kona again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank purplebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
18
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed here in January of 2003 and it was horrible. The pool was closed the entire time we were there not even being worked on and the sign kept saying it would open the next day. The food in the restaurant was good but the carpeting was filthy and the worst was when high winds came up and they had to board up the windows WHILE WE WERE EATING! The windows were in such bad shape (needing paint or better yet replacement) they probably would not have stayed closed. The sad part is you can see that it was a very beautiful place at one time; why wouldn't anyone keep it up? The same company ownes the Royal Lahaina (Maui) and the Coconut Beach (Kauai) if it is still in exsistance. We had stayed at these hotels previously and they weren't the Grand Wailea but they were nice. After visiting again we noticed some neglect but after our last visit in 2003 we would rather spend a lot more money than stay at any of these hotels. This was our first stay at the Royal Kona and I couldn't even believe how nasty it was. The pictures are beautiful but the place is not. Again, you could definately see where it was once a very beautiful hotel. A shame really. I had also written bad reviews to the hotel chain itself on their opinion cards - never heard a word from them so I guess they do not care.

  • Stayed: January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $161 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing