We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian holiday”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Royal Kona Hotel. Looks a bit daggy from the outside - like a cruise ship on the point - but was clean and comfortable, all that we look for in an hotel. We were upgraded to an ocean front room that also looked out over the pool. We only ate breakfast once in the restaurant, as the restaurant wasn't open for dinner the nights that we were there. No matter though, loads of cafes just a short walk away. Would stay at RKH if we return to the big island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Aloha TA family, grat to know another guest from Down Under enjoyed their stay with us, and would definitely return. Yes, location is everything, so close to all you need from shopping, dining and night life, not to mention shops, galleries and historical sites. Yes, the resort is not the newest on the block, but we're the best value for location offering clean, well maintained rooms and grounds for out guests to enjoy. So glad they had a nice holiday in Hawaii, hope to see them again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Kona impresses you immediately with the ambiance of the lobby. The koi ponds and open air are great first impressions. We stayed in an adjacent tower and the rooms were spacious. The pool is nice, but if you are looking for a beach for kids, look elsewhere. The lagoon is nice, but rough and was full of sea urchins during our stay.
The location is perfect for seeing downtown Kona by foot. There are lots of places to eat nearby and plenty of ABC's.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Aloha TA family, nice to see our guests from TN found us to be a great location, and a great value. We're clean, well maintained and a great place for all. Our location to Alii Drive makes the Royal Kona a desirable place to stay, close to shops, restaurants, galleries, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier for water activities. Really happy they enjoyed their stay, we'll look forward to seeing them again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night just to put our heads down so the room and hotel was sufficient as it clean and had a good shower. It seemed like good value, check prices and specials on their website. But be aware they charge you for parking $10, wireless internet in your room, and breakfast not included.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belibeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Aloha TA family, nice to know our guests from AU had a nice quick stay. Yes, we are the best value in Kona, and do not charge a mandatory resort fee, unlike most the competition now days. Parking is a nominal fee, as with in room wifi, but we offer a complimentary wifi hot spot in the bar for our guest convenience. Glad they enjoyed, hope they had an amazing holiday in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yes a bit old fashioned and showing its age, but our sea view room had everything we needed including lots of space and a/c. Sitting on the balcony and watching the sea is as good as it gets. Location is perfect for the real Hawai'i experience - close to the main strip and one of the main pick up points for the various trips. Restaurant and bar are good value and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly - plus it has a very popular Luau.A special mention to Heather who helped plan our tours and gave us plenty of local info. And, of course, it's on Big Island - the most interesting of all the islands.

Room Tip: Sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Aloha TA family, really great to see our guests from the UK had a wonderful stay. Glad they loved the views from their room, and enjoyed all of the special things our resort offers, from views, location, food and beverage and our great accommodating staff. Hopefully we'll see them when their travels bring them back to Kona, we'll look forward to welcoming them. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel has a great ocean front bar and ok food, but the rooms are old and rusting. The bath had mold around the tubs edges, the sink and light switches were rusting. Musty smell is prevalent and some of the towels had holes in them and were stained. The furniture is attractive. The elevator is koa wood and beautiful. Good massage available from the spa. Koi pond, shopping, and dining on site, as well as a fitness center. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the room, get a lanai that faces the ocean for great sunsets and sunbathing. Good price, but shows its age.

Room Tip: Ask to look at rooms in your price range before you choose which to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Aloha TA family, sorry to see our guests from AZ felt our rooms were old and tired. We pride ourselves on having clean and well maintained rooms for our guests, so this is concerning. I've sent a personal message to them to find out which room they occupied so we can rectify immediately. Glad they enjoyed the rest of the resort and their stay, I hope they had a great time on the big island, glad they shared. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We ended up here because we (I) messed up the dates for our condo, so we needed two nights. Room was a good size with a great partial ocean view. The staff were friendly and the cocktail bar certainly worth visiting. Plenty of other restaurants within walking distance as well.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank traveller_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Aloha TA family, nice to know they found us to be an gem of a property. Although they had a short two day stay, they were able to enjoy all the wonderful things we boast about, from room views, great service, terrific food and beverage and did I say location? It's all about meeting and exceeding guest expectations, providing the best value for the best location in Kona, so glad they enjoyed and shared with us. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We reserved at The Royal Kona because we had stayed there before and loved it. Second visit was longer and did not disappoint. We loved the happy hour and great sunsets at the bar. The luau is excellent. I recommend corner king room. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valleygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Aloha TA family, wow, another solid satisfied guest. I love to see that we met and exceeded their expectations again, being their second visit with us. We truly strive to provide the best value for the best location in Kona. Again, not the newest resort but we definitely have the best location with the best views hands down. We'll look forward to them contacting us again for their next visit with us, do glad they enjoyed and shared their stay, Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
13.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $164 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing