We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or condo? Hotel can't decide.”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Bennington, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hotel or condo? Hotel can't decide.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We liked the location of the Royal Kona along the strip and the oceanview/ocean front room. We had a corner room on the 7th floor. Unfortunately the smoke from the daily luaus came up to our room each morning and the noise from the luau on the one night we spent time in the room. (That was laundry night - 4 porta-potties were stationed in the lobby of the adjoining tower, where the laundry room was located, and the wind blew those odors into that tower - icky!) Otherwise, we liked the pounding of the surf below us (sounded like the wind at home!) and a beautiful view when the luau was cleared out and after the fire got going properly in the mornings.

Room was huge, and had a sofa bed in there, plus chairs, table and the very comfortable king-sized bed. Room was very tired, though - linens, pillows, bedspread, carpet and especially the bathroom are in major need of a makeover. Amenities consisted of a bar of soap and a bottle of shampoo. Threadbare towels. Dresser needed some basic maintenance - a little sanding and paraffin was all, but it bothered me that basic things like that are neglected. Cable guy came into the room Monday during the day while we were out, and we hadn't asked about cable or internet, so I asked why mgmt had allowed someone to enter the room w/o permission. No answer, just a shrug from the manager on duty.

I asked about printing out boarding passes, was told to come back in the morning, since there was a problem with the computer. Came back in the morning, was told that they couldn't print out boarding passes, as the one computer they had dedicated to that wasn't working. But I saw the Japanese tourists getting their passes printed, from the dedicated Japanese desk.

Pool area was very, very small and they had a private lagoon, but that was closed during our stay because of high surf. Snorkeling and swimming were discouraged.

ABC Store about a block away, and lots of neat little places for breakfast and lunch nearby. Attached bar was crazy expensive by local standards, so I only bought a Perrier there.

Parking is for a fee and you have to display a pass, as well as have a card for admittance in and out of the lot. Card worked maybe 60% of the time, so we had to talk to lot attendant often. Parking lot fills early.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha TA family, glad these guests shared their insight and concern.. We are definitely a hotel/resort, far from a condo. Yes, we had temporary resrt rooms in January while we renovated our bathrooms, but they were just that, temporary. Mother nature rules, if the surf is high, we close the lagoon for our guest safety, period. Our guest room amenities are modern and adequate, we're a moderate resort, if one is looking for 5 star products, they can be found at a 5 star resort. In regards to the cable repair, we were conducting maintenance, and the room was entered with a hotel staff security accompanying the cable repair man. We're open 24/7 and run high occupancy, sometimes this type of work is necessary. I hope they were able to enjoy the Big Island, sorry we weren't the perfect fit fot them, though I'm glad they shared. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    1,148
    642
    283
    184
See reviews for
559
1,442
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was a good hotel right on the beach. The food was good but we ate out most of the time.

We got a room which was on the left wing and the room was good. The hotel could be managed a little better but we didnt have much to complain given the price we paid.

Overall, a good hotel to sleep as in Hawaii you will spend very little time in the room ;)

Room Tip: Choose a room which has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saradindu_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha TA family, although these guests weren't blown away, it appears they had a nice stay, and hopefully not only found us to be a great value, but had a wonderful time on the Big island. We strive daily to improve our operation, to continue to offer clean well maintained rooms and grounds for the best value and location in Kona. Glad they shared, hopefully we'll see them again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We couldn't check out of this hotel fast enough. I think it's for an older crowd who doesn't mind a mediocre hotel with dated rooms and a lack of things to do. Even the hotel manager recommended a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha TA team, interesting review, sorry they weren't happy. We accommodate multitudes of honeymooners as well as families, international travelers and all walks of life. Interesting to know they felt so out of place. I hope they were able to have a great honeymoon regardless, and that they were able to take home many, many awesome memories. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I booked this hotel based on pictures and description. It is billed as a resort, but it really is a hotel that is a little overpriced. The room was OK, bed was OK, just nothing to really say wow.
Based on the prices for any additional stuff, I was glad to see that there was not an additional fee for using the elevator. Additional fee for parking, additional fee for Internet.

If I return to the area, I will look for other lodging..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyredvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha TA family, sorry for the delay, away on business. Sorry these guests felt we're over priced, we are the best value in Kona. Sometimes you win some sometimes you don't. We strive to provide a clean well maintained resort, we don't charge resort fees on top of parking, (check the competition) Although we didn't meet their expectation, we far exceeded most. Hope they loved Hawaii regardless, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the resort for our two week honeymoon. We had an ocean view room, which we watched the beautiful sunset most nights, fell asleep listening to the ocean waves and watched the dophins and whales most days. We made the most of the lagoon and enjoyed sunning ourselves in the cove. The resort location is spot on: close to shops, cafes and restaurants. The grounds are pretty, well kept and staff always friendly. We attended a Luau which was an enjoyable experience made wonderful by the open bar with Mai Tai's. We attended a couple of tours recommended by the hotels tour company, which were both amazing and we had an fantastic time.
A couple of points which pulled my rating down: overall our room was out dated and needed a good clean; front desk staff were not the most friendly of people and when we arrived after travelling for 36 hours a smile would have been nice.
I would recommend this resort to anyone to stay here and get a ocean view room, if only for the sunsets!!

Room Tip: Ocean View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TmDavies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Aloha TA family Happy Honeymoon to our guests! Glad they had a great time enjoying all the great things our resort has to offer. It's wonderful to know they loved the location, views, sounds of the ocean from the room etc. Sent a private message to see what room they occupied, will ensure a prompt once over for cleanliness, Sorry the front staff weren't sharing the aloha and smiles, that's a simple must, especially when their office is ocean front! Glad they shared, and so happy they had a nice honeymoon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A great location. Our room was in Bay Towers and it was adequate, beds a little worn, but ok, clean and with a great view overlooking a bay. Wanted to keep balcony doors open but being so close to Kona activity, it was rather noisy. Staff at the Royal Kona ready and willing to help you with any need. Food was pricey but a good breakfast buffet, and lots of other choices close by.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha TA family, glad they enjoyed their stay, the views and great accommodating staff. Sorry they found it to be a bit noisy. Although we're not the newest resort on the block, we do work hard to ensure the rooms are clean and well maintained. Our food is priced moderately, make sure to try the happy hour nightly from 4p-6p at Don's Mai ta bar. it's a bonus to know we're right on Alii Drive with many other dining, shopping and fun options too. Glad they enjoyed, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a pretty good hotel/resort. Its a little dated/old, but has an EXCELLENT view of the ocean and has a good bar/terrace to hang out in and drink a mai tai. Sleeping was very restful with the ocean waves lulling the guests to sleep. The Luau they have on some weekdays can get a little loud but ends at a reasonable time. Good proximity to the shops, restaurants, and other places to eat. It was very pleasant to walk down the main street after dinner during sunset. Totally loved their salt lagoon, which was basically a sheltered spot to swim in the ocean. Very nice and convenient. Overall, a good experience. PS, they charge $11 per day for room wifi.

Room Tip: The ocean suites are worth it for the waves lulling you to sleep. Also a beautiful sunrise/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Aloha TA family great review from another satisfied customer, glad they loved the grounds, bar, private lagoon, and were able to sleep well with the waves against the rocks. One note, our wifi is only $9.95 and is complimentary at Don's Mai Tai Bar, a perfect place to enjoy a beverage, watch for dolphins and check your email. Remember you're on vacation, try no to do too much work!So glad these guest "get it" and had a nice stay, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing