We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,589)
Filter reviews
3,589 results
Traveler rating
817
1,424
786
338
224
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
817
1,424
786
338
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon mai tai bar alii tower don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower the big island salt water lagoon shops and restaurants an ocean view room an older hotel on the rocks waves crashing open air watch the sunset coffee maker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,916 - 1,921 of 3,589 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location is EXCELLENT, beautiful views of the ocean. The hotel grounds are very nicely kept and gorgeous. The disappointing things were numerous: The hotel pool was closed, no mention of this on their websites or notification of the closing. No one was told pool would be closed. I was told I could go to a pool at some condos, but the first morning I went I found cigarette butts all over the grass where the chairs were. There were no restrooms to use there, nothing close by for refreshment except a coca cola vending machine. The rooms were very dated, the lamp shade was falling apart, coffee pot lid fell off when I poured coffee, the ice machine did not work, the noise from the "party area" was like a rock concert, trying to sleep with that music blaring right outside my room was impossible. If you don't want live music blaring with party goers ask for a room away from that area.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solonoproblems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, sorry these guests weren't able to enjoy our pool, the good news is we've completed the renovation, new tile and plaster and repainted the deck, a much needed improvement. Sorry they weren't made aware, we did contact our wholesale partners as well as made every attempt to contact our direct bookings. I hope they'll give is another chance next year, so they can come and enjoy our new pool, and our great location and value. Much Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has the best location in downtown Kona, within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops. I upgraded to a corner king in the Ali tower which was well worth it. The room had 2 sliding doors, a large patio, and a view of both the pool and ocean. The hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade – it is screaming –“Update Me”, but I would stay there again because of the location. The fitness center also needs to be expanded – way too small.

Room tip: Get an Ocean View Corner King Room
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payitforward2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, it's nice to see a senior TA contributor had a pleasant stay, and will return. Although we're not the newest kid on the block, and don't claim to be, we do strive to provide a clean and well maintained facility while offering the best value in Kona. Although a full renovation isn't on our horizon, rest assure we continue to make improvements every day. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had such high hopes for our brief stay at this resort. However it was not to be. The room was dirty - in fact my husband discovered blood on his pillows that hadn't been cleaned. I was offered a promotion of a buy one get one free luau that the resort failed to honor - which was primary reason i booked the hotel. When i called to talk to manager (the front desk indicated I needed to talk a manager Michelle) my messages were never returned. Please look for a different place to stay. The Courtyard down the road is much better.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, appears here there was some definite communication. We'll be researching to determine what happened and why. Our staff would never intentionally not return a call, we'll get to the bottom of this, and the luau price discrepancy. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel may be getting a bit old in the tooth, but is still an enjoyable place to stay. Don't listen to befitz812 - he/she sounds like an ex-employee or something with an axe to grind.
We found that the hotel was actually better maintained than many of similar age and the hotel and grounds layout is still very pleasing. Our room was clean, well appointed and maintained and generally very comfortable and easy to feel at home in. The lanai with a view over the courtyard and ocean was fantastic albeit not exactly private. What time we did spend in the restaurant and bar was very nice although bar service was a bit slow. As far as the front desk staff go, they could not have been better - they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and deal with our requests. In the lobby area, a very welcome little perk is ice cold fruit filled water dispensers - really nice on a hot day. Parking is very convenient and has a secure feeling.
My only real concern is that Ali'i Drive is not such a pleasant place at night anymore - shopping is good, and the market is great - but at night the Drive feels like spring break in Cancun - not a relaxing experience, and can be quite disturbing of your room faces that direction. I'm very pleased to see that the hotel management reads these reviews, it shows that they really do care about the experiences of their guests.

Room tip: Definitely take an ocean view room if you can - the view is wonderful. And try for a room facing away from the noise of Ali'i Drive.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, great to see our Canadian visitors had a wonderful recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments and reviews, and take the good with the bad. Most times concerns are legitimate, and we use the input to train and coach our staff. Our goal is to provide a clean and well maintained resort, while still offering the best value for location in Kona. Glad they were satisfied, and we'll look forward to seeing them when they return next year. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This "resort" was terrible. They charge resort prices & offer the quality of a budget motel. The rooms are badly in need of updating. I was woken up a minimum of 10 times in the night, due to noise from other guests or because of sheer discomfort (the beds and pillows were awful). If you are looking for a luxury vacation in paradise, do not stay at Royal Kona. You will be waiting your money on a sham of a hotel.

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank befitz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha TA Family, its unfortunate these valued guests had such an unfavorable stay with us. they've mentioned several things that most of our customers praise and rave about. I hope they were able to enjoy Kona regardless, we'll continue to strive to provide great value for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews