We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in the 70's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 70's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel offers some great views and Don the Beachcomber bar is a must for a mai tai at sunset. The rooms are dated for what they charge. It is in good proximity to the shopping and restaurants on Alii Drive. Offers onsite Expedia Tour Desk.

Room Tip: Select a room in the Lagoon tower for good views, quiet, guest laundry access and a sneak peek at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolW617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Aloha TA family, a lot of really cool things came out of the 70's! LOL Sounds like they had a nice time though, and enjoyed the amazing location we dominate over our competition. We have great, clean well maintained rooms and grounds and yes, the best bar location in Kona with Happy Hour 4p-6p nightly, and some of the worlds best views and sunsets. Remember we do not impose mandatory resort fees like most resorts on island do, and strive to remain the best value in Kona. Mahalo Nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,116
    614
    275
    180
See reviews for
536
1,391
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms are a bit dated, which I actually prefer to the sterile, brand new rooms of larger hotels. The pool and Don's Tiki bar are the BEST! Perfect place for sunsets. If you're looking for a brand new modern room, don't stay here. Everything in Kona is within walking distance from this hotel. Check out the cool granite walkway into the hotel depicting the islands as you walk in. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iGo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha TA Family, I'll take vintage all day, we like to consider our resort "traditional" we're not a marble and glass palace, which you can find and pay for on island. We're not the shiniest penny in the jar, but strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds. Nice to know they loved the new pool, and the always fabulous Don's Mai Tai Bar food, beverage and staff. We welcome you to come experience for yourself, check with your local travel agent for great pricing. If planning to come in the first quarter, book now, as we are filling fast, no joke! Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Ma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lew & June stayed here for 6 nights and loved the location. The one and only glitch was the only swimming pool was being worked on and was not in operation for our entire stay. That was the one of the reasons we picked the Royal Kona. They did have a lagoon which was relaxing the last day of our stay. We were on the 2nd floor of the main building and had an excellent view of the ocean & overlooked where they had the luau's. They did an excellent job on their luau. When we booked from our room, we thought they would put it on room charges; and confused us a bit. They don't make it clear what line you go to when you line up; so we ended up spending a little extra time from one line to the other; but the show was excellent.The room was great; probably could have used a microwave; but we made do with what we had. Service was excellent. Our flight home was at 9:00PM, so we asked to keep the room until 6:00 PM for small add'l charge of $75 plus tax. Anne at the front desk did a great job of letting us keep the same room and we were thankful we didn't have to pack up and move to another! The maid on the 2nd floor was also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't know what side we were on except it was facing luau and we had excellent view of ocean. Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, It's always nice to hear our guests loved their stay. As mentioned, the pool is now open, and looks better than ever. Unfortunately it's never a good time to renovate, we're darned if we do and darned if we don't! LOL Glad they were able to enjoy our lagoon, the great ocean views from their room, and that they were able to enjoy the luau too. Gang, we do strive to provide clean well maintained rooms, while offering the best value for the best location in Kona. Appreciate the kind kudos or the staff too, we'll look forward to seeing these guests again next time! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Good locations , nice views.
Close to good restaurants.
Anyone going to big island please don't miss manta-ray snorkel, it's just beyond words.
You can do without a car @ this location.
Downside was room lacked some basic toiletries and studio had not much facilities to cook

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Parth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha TA family, it's great to see our guests from India really enjoyed their stay. They took advantage our of spectacular location, clean well maintained rooms (sorry they are hotel rooms not condo, so no cooking facilities) They did some amazing excursions and offer some really helpful tips too. I hope when their travel plans bring them back to Kona, they'll stay with us again! Much Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Royal Kona is a most excellent place to post up ! the staff is friendly and helpful , the rooms were clean and well kept and our ocean view was exceptional. They hosted a traditional pig roast Luau M,T,W, and F. it was $68 for all you could eat,drink and a real nice show we could watch from our room in the Ali'i tower . we were in walking distance to many shops and restaurants and the the soothing sound of the surf pounding the lava rock lined shore below made for the best night sleeps ever. a wonderfully refurbed pool overlooking the ocean and a private lagoon beach puts this place in my top 10 .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40zees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to see that we have another satisfied guest. They nailed all of the great things we offer, location, clean well maintained rooms, friendly staff, terrific food and beverage, luau, and again the location, we're right on the ocean. Ocean front dining, bar, pool, luau, and over 80% of our rooms have a view of the ocean. Glad they shared, we'll see them again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

As others said, it is an older hotel but the location can not be beat! We stayed in the lagoon tower on the top floor corner room. Did not hear our neighbors at all and the view is excellent! The bed was so comfortable and the room was cleaned every day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KapaaBeachShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to see our friends from Kapaa had a great room, stay and overall experience with us. We strive to provide a resort that's clean and well maintained, while offering great service and staff too. Please come see us and experience for yourself, we welcome you! Much mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Royal Kona is our favorite hotel in Kona. The rooms are great, the views are spectacular, and the staff is friendly.
Kona is a village, devoted mostly to tourists. But there are local treasures that support the local population as well--and they are all close to this hotel. So in addition to its beautiful seaside location, you can walk to what makes Kona real and desirable for a vacation stay. For example, the farmers market is just down the road--strawberry papayas 7 for $2! We had fresh fruit for breakfast every day: papaya with lilikoi, keitt mango,and apple bananas (I'll include a photo if I can here). Just a few blocks away is the Big Island Grill--huge portions of great food, from loco moco to fresh grilled fish: http://www.yelp.com/biz/big-island-grill-kailua-kona-2#query:Breakfast%20Restaurants And Kope Lani coffee, pastries, and ice cream, just a nice stroll down the street in the heart of Kona.
The bar downstairs is dramatic--waves crashing on the lava just in front of you--and the food and drinks are way better than you'd expect in a bar. Best sweet potato fries in the world, and simple things like Kalua pork sliders, amazing.
We've tried other hotels--including one that sounds like a relative owns it--and find this is the best choice.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is fine--better than you'd expect--and saves you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleTomSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha TA family, must be return guest week! Really nice to see such a great review. This guests also offers some great tips about Kona, love it. It's nice to know they find us to be such a great value, and that our location, food and beverage and amazing staff make it a place they want to return again and again. We'll definitely look forward to their return again, SAN is only a short flight across the pond! Glad they shared. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing