We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three star hotel with five star service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Three star hotel with five star service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our second stay this year at this gem along way from our Swedish home country. This beautiful resort is right on the waterfront with most of the rooms offering stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. The hotel grounds are kept in immaculate condition gardeners are out before sunrise raking up leaves and flowers that have fallen during the night. Everyone of the staff you meet has a smile on their face and always willing to help you in any way. Four times a week you can watch a Hawaiian show 'Luau' at the resort with a Hawaiian buffet and drinks included for $68 fantastic value and as good as any Vegas show. Food and drinks are wonderfully presented all around the resort you even have a poolside service. The rooms are large with everything you would need for a short stay fridge, iron and ironing board, safe,tv with heeps of channels and internet for a small fee. The beds are big and comfortable with quality bedding and towels.
Best value for money on the planet thankyou Royal kona resort.

Room Tip: Book a ocean view room you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Aloha TA Family, it's awesome to see our return guests from Sweden had another stellar stay. It's a long flight, but worth the wait. So nice to hear they appreciate the hard work we do to keep the grounds clean and well maintained, along with our rooms. I'm also glad they enjoy our food and beverage, and yes, we do have Kona's best ocean front luau too! We appreciate their loyalty, and will look forward to their return soon! Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    1,105
    606
    268
    179
See reviews for
530
1,373
107
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

At my arrival at Royal Kona, which was a part of a tour package, I choose to pay extra and upgraded to a waterfront suite. The room was felt dirty and smelled like disinfectant, the furniture was cheap and peeling, the carpet was stained, the towels also stained, there was mildew in the bathroom. It was the worst hotel experience I’ve ever had. The view was beautiful though. And it was not a $99 room where I think that may be expected. I paid almost $300 for the corner suite. I cannot image what the regular room looks like. The pictures on their website are very deceiving, take a look at the pictures I took and judge for yourself. The only reason I didn't leave was because it was the last two nights of a 2-week vacation and I was exhausted.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Love2TravelWithHim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Ouch, sorry to hear these guests had less than a stellar stay, I've sent a personal message to them to investigate further. We strive to provide clean and well maintained rooms for our guests while being the best value in Kona. I'm dissapointed it was the worst hotel experience they've ever had. I only wish they would would have contacted the front desk immediately to resolve rather endure and blog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a great hotel-location,value for money and no complaints-booked for me by manager of Flight Centre Manakau,Esther Paparoa who over past ten years has given me the best advice and service.She booked me for 3 nights but I stayed for six.Did need a car which got from Budget at the airport a convertible Mustang which was great in that weather.The hotel was near to bars ,shops,restaurants and had a lagoon to swim in.Of course the hotel was by the sea.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side of the building but had great sea views anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha TA Family, so nice to see our friends from NZ had a fantastic stay with us. Looks like we met and exceeded their expectations all around. We truly do offer the best value for location hands down in Kona. We are steps away from additional dining, drinking, shopping, farmers market, historical sites and more. Really glad they enjoyed, we'll look forward to their next stay. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, we had a corner room on the 4th floor with an ocean view, it was amazing..so relaxing, private balcony, beautiful sunsets, what more could anyone need.
Resort was clean with well kept reception areas. If I ever find myself on the Big Island I would definetly stay here. My only criticism was, there was only 1 coffee pack left per day, but more were supplied when requested.

Room Tip: Request Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syanmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha TA Family, nice to see another well traveled senior TA contributor had a great stay. I'm sure they did their homework first to ensure we were the perfect fit for their needs. They got the room category they desired, and could take in all the wonderful views and sunsets. As a friendly reminder, no matter where your travels take you, if you are not satisfied with your room or have any concerns, talk to the front desk immediately, they want to ensure you are happy and enjoy your stay, and will do what it takes to make it happen. Glad they enjoyed, we'll look forward to seeing them again too. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a Side trip to the Big island. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely especially having the magnificent view of the ocean. You sit only with a wall between you and the water. we ate lunch and breakfast at the hotel dining area and enjoyed every moment. Whilst in Kona try the snorkeling with Manta Rays - this was certainly the highlight of our trip. We went with a company called Sunlight on Water they were great to deal with and very accommodating. Would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha TA Family, great to see our friends from Australia enjoyed their stay with us. Although a quick one, they were able to enjoy the great location, beautiful ocean views, and our great food and beverage. We appreciate that they came to Hawaii Island on a side trip, hopefully when they return, they'll make Hawaii island their main vacation destination! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was on the top floor and only had only single glazing on huge corner windows. Therefore the air con on the roof and the roof of the next building roared all the time. It was so tiring and spoilt the whole week. I can't think why they hadn't installed noise reduction materials. Plus after travelling for over 26hours I wasn't too pleased to be woken up by over amplified shouting and singing at 6 am . I think it was a sunday church service. We reported that the smoke alarm had had the battery taken out but it was never fixed. The sliding window was so badly maintained it failed, it was so difficult to open, I hurt my hands everytime.

Room Tip: don't accept a room in the alii tower and take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha TA family, Its too bad these guests didn't have a great experience with us. Normally, our guests in the ocean front Alii building have nothing but raves. For the record, I've sent these guests a personal message to determine what room, and exactly when they stayed to research the noise concern. And, a local church was using our meeting facility from 8am for a couple of weeks, while their normal meeting place was being renovated. Early morning praise and worship shouldn't be a concern from now. Everyone, please, if you are not completely satisfied with your room, no matter where your travels take you, please bring it to the front desk or management attention, we'd much rather see you happy, enjoying your stay, then having to read about it later when it's too late to fix. Just a friendly travel tip. Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice for your Kona side getaway! We did our homework before booking this hotel, and we were very elated with our choice!

After reading other reviews we kinda new what to expect with our hotel room..Its not the Four Seasons but nor is the price. Our room (551 oceanfront, Lagoon Tower) was very clean, the bed was comfy and the view was AMAZING! Yes, the room is older and needs paint and other touch ups, but we found the accomodations excactly what we paid for and was more than we needed. It had a new flat screen TV in it..I'm assuming it worked, we never turned it on :)

As I mentioned the rooms are not "Four Seasons" quality, HOWEVER, the service from the front desk, housekeeping, bartenders, grounds keepers, parking lot attendents and wait staff definately was at or above the service you would expect from a 5 star resort. They staff at the hotel was top notch and beyond.

The property has excellent views and is situated perfectly in Kailua-Kona and is beautifully maintained. Tons of great restaurants and drink spots with fantastic ocean views within walking distance. The hotel also has one of the best Luau's I've seen.

NOTE: Being from Las Vegas and surrounded by bars, casinos, 5 star hotels, I do have to say the Oceanfront bar at the hotel was a pure joy to hang out at after a day of adventure. Carey our bartender went out of his way to ensure we were having a good time and he makes probably the best Mai Tai we've ever had on the Islands. He is also one of the best bartenders we encountered on the Islands or in Vegas.. He was a true gem during our entire stay. All the staff at the bar was great! Thanks to all!!! We will be back!

Darren & Heather, Las Vegas

,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hocktuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha TA Family, Need I say more? We pretty much met and in most cases exceeded their expectations. Glad they shared they did their homework, and were pleasantly surprised. For the record, the flat screens are new, and do work! LOL Our goal is to provide the best value, for the best location, bar, food and of course service in town. We'll continue to strive to reach our goal, and will look forward to welcoming these guests back soon. mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing