We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Views, and restaurant; Shabby Rooms and Decor”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Location and Views, and restaurant; Shabby Rooms and Decor”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This property and it’s restaurant are right on the water; the views are great. But the carpet in the rooms looks like circa 1970 as well as the decor. The management was kind enough to offer us another room after we complained, but it was the same. They explained this is an independently owned hotel. Therefore, there is no franchisor requiring updates which are needed at this property. Hence, you see the common complaints in other reviews posted here. If you are not picky, you might like this place. If you expect everything to be shinny new, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoTraveler32814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Aloha TA family, please remember, we're not the newest kid on the block, though as this guest states, we're in the best location in Kona, offered at a great value. Our rooms and facility are clean and well maintained, terrific views from the rooms and Don's Mai Tai Bar, and great staff. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    1,148
    644
    283
    184
See reviews for
560
1,443
112
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall this hotel served it's purpose to a t. It's well located and the views of the ocean are great. The only downside was the hotel needs some updates. The carpet is wearing thin and it needs a paint job. Noise was able to infiltrate pretty badly as well. It's close proximity to the village is very convenient and the pluses of this hotel certainly outweigh the negatives. Since we spent very little time in the room for the money it was definitely worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha TA family, I'm glad they found the positives outweigh the negatives. Although we're not the newest resort on the strip, we don't claim to be either, but we do pride ourselves on being clean and well maintained. We want to continue to offer the best value for location in Kona. Glad they enjoyed their stay, we hope they return again soon! Much mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ideal location if you want to be on the dry-west coast of Big Island. The ocean front rooms are nice, and the private laguna is a good each solution at 5 mins from your hotel room. But neither breakfast, more the parking or the WiFi was included in the room, so once you add say an extra 20$ per night for these three, it makes the RKR a bit expensive for what you're paying for, so there might be some better deals in kailua.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front, which was great. The corner ocean front rooms don't look like they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to see our guests who traveled all the way from France enjoyed the great views from their room, hope they saw some turtles in the lagoon too. As for perfect location he nailed it! We own the best spot in Kona. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Royal Kona to many times to count... Love this hotel. It's comfortable... Tremendously convenient and very affordable. No bells and whistles.. Or big slides for the kids!! Pool area is small, but offers amazing ocean side lounging . The Tiki Bar -casual and Dons Beachcomber are both in the hotel.. Excellent ambience and great food!! Royal Kona is my choice.. For weekends or extended stays.. Love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiismiles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha TA Family, seems like this valued, return guest had another great stay. All expectations met and exceeded. We truly strive to provide a resort that our guests find terrific value. With amazing location, views, service and food and beverage, what else does one need? We're glad they come to stay again and again, and will look forward to seeing them again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I liked this hotel. It was in a quieter part of "downtown" but was in easy walking distance to stores and restaurants. The room was clean and a good size. The bed was comfortable. The view was great and we only had a partial ocean view! My only suggestion to the hotel is to do so me updates, it had an older feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, another solid review, glad they enjoyed our fantastic location. Yes it's true, we're not the newest kid on the block, but we pride ourselves on providing a clean, well maintained resort for our guest to enjoy, at the best value in Kona. We'll look forward to welcoming them back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff. Jay the manager was great in so many was to help us enjoy our stay. The view from the room was beautiful, however our first room lack a little in privacy. The management help us with this by giving us another room and a better view. Thank you! The Royal Kona is located in the perfect spot. Everything you need like dinning, shopping etc is within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again. Also make sure you stop by the Expedia center downstairs in the lobby and talk to Chad. He is very knowledgable and helpful in helping you plan and enjoy the best excursions.

Room Tip: Definitely get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefighter446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, glad these guests had a great time. See, if you're not completely happy, talk to the staff, it's our goal in life to make our guests happy, and have amazing vacations and memories. Nice to know they enjoyed all the great things Royal Kona has to offer, from location, views, staff etc. I know we'll see these guests again, they're probably planning their return already! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We weren't happy with our standard room ... it had no view and a musty smell (Lagoon Tower). Peter (front desk) offered to upgrade us (great deal) to a room on the 5th floor with an ocean view (Bay Tower). It was a large room with a huge lanai ... loved it. We spent a lot of time on it watching the sunset, dolphins, swimmers, etc. The pool wasn't busy at all ... we spent a day at the lagoon near the hotel (great). It's a 40-minute drive to a fantastic beach... Hapuna Beach State Park. The Royal Kona resort is within walking distance to shops & restaurants ... go to Huggo's (good food & music - great ocean view) ... go to Bubba Shrimp (good food & great ocean view). We found the staff at the hotel & nearby restaurants very friendly & helpful. We had a great time celebrating my 60th birthday!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice, solid review, so glad our staff was able to accommodate their requests. Yes, our location is the best in Kona, and we have some amazing views from the majority of our rooms. To clarify, the room category "Standard" is our lead in, most economical category, although some actually have great views of the ocean too, just depends on where the room is. At our hotel, the rooms are all basically the same size, and shape, its the view that you pay a difference for. Categories rage from Standard, Partial Ocean, Ocean View, Ocean Front and Ocean Front Corner King. Glad they had a great stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing