We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY RESORT”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Royal Kona resort, Hawaii. we had 2 ocean view rooms which were nice. The bathroom was your standard size with a shower over the bath. The room was the standard hotel room with a large king bed (very comfortable). The only downside about the room was when you when onto the balcony - which was a good size with a table and 2 chairs to sit and look at the ocean - but the walls separating the next rooms balcony was too thin and if you went out on your balcony you could see and talk to the people next door. So no privacy at all.
the hotel was a lovely open plan style with lovely ponds and an open aired bar/ casual restaurant where you could order meals from the bar and sit by the ocean and walk the waves crashing on the rocks.
the breakfast in the restaurant was good - a small selection but adequate - sitting by the ocean to eat your breakfast was lovely.
the pool area is reasonably small but was lovely and the lagoon pool on the other side of one of the wings was a great idea.
the hotel is within walking distance of the town of Kona and that is great , as the bus service in Kona is pretty well non existant - so you wouldnt want to be too far out of town unless you had a car.
the hotel has a lovely "feel" about it, and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Aloha TA family, it's nice to see our guests from NZ had a great stay here in Kona. Whats even better is their expectations were met, and from what I can see, exceeded. We don't boast about being the newest, fanciest, marble and glass palace, but what we do pride ourselves on is providing a clean, well maintained resort, while offering the best value for location hands down. Really glad they enjoyed themselves, we'll look forward to their return again soon, a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,887)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chose to stay here again because of a positive experience last year but thought customer loyalty would mean better consideration.
Booked a Oceanview through a package and also booked a Partial Oceanview for our daughter and her husband separately later. All went smoothly last year and we were in a really nice spot on the right side of the main building. We learned this year when we wanted to rebook the same location that we had been upgraded and the online special was for a Partial Oceanview, which if we wanted could upgrade to be put in the same room. We declined but requested to be put on the same side we had stayed. We sent several emails back and forth expressing this and to book the morning buffet because it is quite a savings to book ahead if you decide to stay there.

Well when we arrived later in the evening to check in we were sent to a completely different building to the left and our partial/ocean was mostly front driveway and if you leaned over the balcony you could look through a palm tree keyhole to see the ocean not to mention the noise of the coming/going traffic. We have emailed the person we had requested and was told by her and her supervisor that no rooms are guaranteed. I appreciate that perhaps even booking - months - ahead we could not have the same room because we had been upgraded but would have appreciated even the same or near the room we had booked for our daughter, at least the same side and building which would have been selected from many room choices.
Of course when we tried to rectify the situation the next morning because we were told by the night staff they couldn't do anything till then, the hotel we were told was full. But, we had booked months earlier when it wasn't full. Fortunately we were able to "convince" the staff to give us a room on that side of the building and ended up in a room next to where my daughter had stayed the earlier year and were able to move in that afternoon and start our vacation. But that is our choice of optimum location for our personal choice and others may enjoy other locations in the hotel, but we had personally asked for at least a certain side.
The rooms and hotel are tired, yes you are in Paradise and you don't spend much time in your room but we like to enjoy morning coffee on the lanai and did enjoy this after the first day some days if you are fortunate you can see dolphins.
The hotel proudly displays a 4 from trip advisory but I feel is only a 3.
Location - Good if you are in the right spot, Breakfast Buffet - Not exceptional, do change it up a bit each day but by the 5th morning it had rotated enough that we only ate there on the 6th because we had prebooked, it was worth the 12.99 but I wouldn't have wanted to spend more.
It is an older icon and needs upgrading and many of the rooms in the other two buildings to the side were empty and used for storage.
We didn't try the luau and they do have a nice lagoon around the corner to snorkel and swim in e but you are not on the beach and it is close enough to walk around town so you decide.
The evening staff was very nice, the daytime staff was at first giving the attitude that is the way it is - too bad.
We weren't belligerent, and just insisted without raising our voices but because of this experience, which I put great stock in customer loyalty, we won't bother staying here again and will take our chances with vrbo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madzwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha TA family, it's sad to see a guest feels the way they do, especially a return customer. I tried to contact them via personal message on TA, but their account is not accepting emails, and they didn't specify their name or room number so I can research. For the record, when a customer has reached out to request specific rooms, amenities etc. we normally go out of our way to accommodate them, that's pretty much why we do this for a living. Our goal is happy, return customers. Apparently we missed the communication mark here, and it's pretty disappointing I must say. Hopefully they'll read this, and contact me direct. Mahalo for reading between the lines. Don't go VRBO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

just last week we had an opportunity to spend an evening at the Royal Kona. This hotel is aging rather well and is maintained properly. Our first day was about 13 years ago and the maintenance and upgrades suggest very little aging.
Its location is ideal in the Kona area. The prime attractive feature is the bar and lunch areas right next to an overhanging the water.
would stay there again.

Room Tip: the upper floor south facing rooms provide fantastic views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber27Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha! Great to see our return guests from Canada had another wonderful stay, albeit a lengthy hiatus! Glad they loved out location, and the awesome setting at Don's Mai Ta Bar which truly has the best views in Kona. Hopefully we'll see them back again sooner rather than later! Much Aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the Royal Kona last week and can't really say we enjoyed our stay. The outside of the resort looks great but once you get into the actual rooms the story changes. The rooms had a musky smell and looked really outdated. The bathroom, specifically the shower/tub was gross with green mildew all over the place.

Our room was right next to some sort of loud generator or pump that went all night and actually made the room vibrate slightly.

The staff were friendly enough but they nickel and dime you like crazy. 10 dollars per device to connect to the resort wifi was ridiculous. 10 dollars per day to park was even more stupid.

The rooms may be decently priced compared to other hotels in the area but the trade off is not worth it. Pay a little extra and stay a nicer place for a better experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 3rd level north side unless you want to hear a generator every second of...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha TA reviewers, It's too bad these guests has such and unfavorable stay, I truly hope the balance of their vacation in Hawaii was amazing and memorable. One note, if you are not satisfied with your accommodations, always check with the front desk, let them know (wherever you stay) in my experience, they will go out of their way to make you happy. Much Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit the Big Island before moving on to Maui. We had not been back there since 1999. When looking for a resort we opted for the Royal Kona. We got a great deal with a free 3rd night if we booked for two. We chose a corner king unit and were given a top floor room in the Lagoon Tower. Indications were that this tower was renovated. The room was very sparsely decorated for such a large room. The bathroom was not the best. The large wrap around balcony had a table and 2 chairs and they looked lost with so much space. We had stayed previously at their sister resort on Maui, the Royal Lahaina. There is no comparison and we were so disappointed with the overall condition of the Resort. It is very old being built in the 1960's and needs a MAJOR renovation. The property is located on a great piece of real estate and I can see why folks stay there. But it does not appear that anything more will be done to update the tired rooms. Even in the interior of the Lagoon Tower as we walked to the room we KNEW how bad the room was going to be. The place needs fresh coat of paint as we noticed scuffed doors and walls everywhere. The employees were great. They get a good crowd of folks staying here and that is probably why no major update is done. What a waste of a super location. We decided to check out the 3rd night and spent it at the Hilton Waikiloa Village. Sorry about this bad review but people should know what to expect. This property has so much potential

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grh812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha TA Family, Glad they enjoyed the wonderful location, views and staff. Our sister resort in Maui is truly another wonderful place to stay, but is like comparing apples and oranges, as is the pricing. Although we're not the newest kid on the block, we do strive to provide the best value for location in Kona. There are newer resorts, that have gone through extensive and extensive renovations, and their rates reflect that. Please do a little homework when you travel, wherever you go, and the hope is you'll not be disappointied in your accommodations. I sure hope the rest of their stay way awesome here on the Big Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This isn't the newest resort around, but it was very nice for what we needed (better than I expected). We just needed somewhere cheap to stay the first night we arrived before driving over to the other side of the island to see the volcano, and this one had the best deals when I quickly looked on a search site. From our balcony we had a great view of the ocean. It was quiet and we were able to get a good nights sleep. That was all we needed. We did not eat there and after a short stroll around the grounds in the morning we left again, but it would defiantly be on the list of where to stay if back there again. I do know that it is near some great places to eat, like Island Lava Java.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rygentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha TA family, another solid review from a Senior Contributor, glad they found a great deal for their one night with us. Too bad they didn't take time to stop by Don's Mai Tai Bar for happy hour drink and pupu specials! Great tips too, we're located conveniently on Alii Drive, steps away from dining, pubs, shops, galleries, farmers market, historical sites and the pier. Glad they enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here a while ago and it still pops into my head every once in a while when I find myself daydreaming. First of all, the physical beauty surrounding the hotel is simply gorgeous! Especially after driving from the airport to the hotel, it is not what you automatically expect Hawaii to be – but as soon as you come into Kailua-Kona everything seems dreamlike.

The ocean is beautiful and powerful on one side of the hotel, and on the other it is lush and green and a consistent incline with houses dotted along the side. Although youre not able to swim in the ocean right outside the hotel, it is just as satisfying to sit along the ledge and watch the waves crash against the black dried lava that forms the edge of the hotels property.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, and the layout was great. The balcony was a perfect size and provided us with a great view. The pool was also great! It was nice to swim so close to the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing while youre casually floating around in the pool. Theres also a lot of great casual seating around the hotel property, where you can relax and read a book and have a drink.

The hotel is also in walking distance from everything you could need in Kailua-Kona, so we walked to a new restaurant for dinner every night. Great location! Great hotel! I had a great stay, and I always recommend this hotel when people say theyre going to the Big Island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syorke25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha! I love the delayed response some of our valued guests have, when it's still cold, snowy, wet and gray out, how our Hotel and their vacation pops into mind! It's nice to know how they had such a great experience, from the drive to Kona, to just sitting around the resort, listening and watching the beautiful, warm ocean. I'm glad they shared, we'll look forward to their return again soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $160 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing