We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went to Kona for a week of diving, and this place was the most inexpensive option in the travel package I put together. Having said that, I wasn't expecting much. The place is right on the water, and I was lucky enough to have an ocean view, so I got to hear the waves crashing the whole time. Didn't eat there, didn't go to the performances, so I can't speak to anything that made this a "resort." The rooms were pretty out-dated (except for the flat screen tv's), the beds were comfortable enough, and you have to pay for just about everything there once you've checked in (parking was $10 a day and internet was $10 a day too). One thing that was really nice was it's proximity to the town. Shops and places to eat are really close ... easy walking distance. If I had gone on vacation looking for a true "resort" experience, I'd look elsewhere. This isn't a bad place to hang your hat though if you're going to be off doing other things on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ten_mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, fair review. One note though, please know we do not impose a mandatory resort fee. If you don't have a car, you don't pay $10 per night to park, lowest in town FYI, if you don't use the wifi, and use your smart phone instead, you don't pay $9.95 per day, our fitness room is already complimentary, and no charge for that. We are the best value resort in Kona, with the best location, views and amazing food and beverage. Too bad they didn't have time to join us for that. I'm hopeful they enjoyed the awesome diving Hawaii Island has to offer, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    1,105
    606
    268
    179
See reviews for
530
1,373
107
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Lake CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived off the plane exhausted and would not spend the $850 a night for a villa
At the four seasons.
So we took the Royal Kona overlooking the sea.
The pace is pretty cheap $180. And we wanted to eat at Don the beachcombers.
DON'T have the breakfast buffet. It's not good. They only charge $17
Go elsewhere and have a great breakfast
They don't have room service!

Room Tip: No room service so plan to go out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackOntheroad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, one comment here, please do your homework when travelling, make sure your budget fits your palate. I truly hope they enjoyed their time on the Big Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Mai tais on sale at happy hour for $5! I'm a wine drinker but thought id try the local drink. It was fantastic! Beyond worth it! If in Kona stop by the hotel bar for a great drink for $5! I had a Mai tai later the same week not nearly as good and twice the price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettes711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, need I say more? If we can convince a wine drinker to switch to Mai Tais, our job is done here! LOL come on down, happy hour 4p-6p nightly!! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited from 4/18 - 4/22/2013 and was pleased with the accommodations. The resort was by no means in perfect condition, but the rates are reasonable, the ocean view was excellent and the staff were more than accommodating. We had a 5 year old and a 10 month old and were able to get a roll-away bed and a crib with very little hassle. The private lagoon, although not a pristine coral reef, had lots of fish to see for the beginning snorkeler. We also got to see a green sea turtle in the lagoon. We were more than pleased with the experience. There was moderately loud music every night, but it wasn't overpowering and it usually ended at a reasonable time. The location is AMAZING!! Loved the ocean-side experience and enjoyed the short walk to downtown Kailua-Kona. We will return as money allows.

My only complaint is that there is no microwave in the room which would come in handy for folks on a tight budget like ours.

Room Tip: The roadside rooms on the back of the towers are nothing special. I would spring for the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA crew, so awesome to know these guests had such a great experience in our Lagoon, what a nice surprise that a Honu (green sea turtle) showed up on key! They nailed it though, it's just a small, safe ocean entry, protected by the natural lava rock reef, no currents or waves to worry about, just a mixed bag of tropical fish, eels, crabs, etc. If you are diver Dan, and wanting to explore the wrecks of the pacific, you'll be dissapointed, so please choose one of the reputable operators near by! LOL We do claim to offer the best value for location, I'm glad we met and exceeded their expectations, we'll see them next time I'm sure! mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, direct by the village. I think the hotel was in the past very popular. But now, it's outdated. They have a carpet on the outside staircase, old bed, no wifi in hotel (or you have to pay a lot!), small assortment on breakfast. The pool and the lagoon is small too. Kona unfortunately has no sandbeach. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecileaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, glad these guests enjoyed our fantastic location, views and friendly staff. I've said in the past, we're not the newest kid on the block, nor sell ourselves as that. We do offer to travelers, the absolute best value for location, offering clean, well maintained rooms and grounds.
Hope they enjoyed their time on the Big Island! mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

As may be seen from reading other rewiews; this location has some strong pros, but prior understanding of the property is important.
Loaction is very close to main tourist area, but if you select for a building a little further away you do not hear any tourist or luau sounds. They have a luau several times a week and you can choose to either look down on it or be away from it, and not see or hear it from your room. Our room had an outstanding wrap around deck on a corner with mountain and ocean views. Rooms are basic but have nice window shades and typical ammenities for a hotel of this class. Maid service was fine and pool bar area typical for drinks and food but the view was very nice. They also have a small swimming lagoon which is great for a little cool off dip and a nice feature. Tried the main restauraunt for dinner and the food was quite nice with some unique offerings. It was served in a bento style and worth a try. Try to have a look at this location from a site such as google maps and you can see which building will offer the view you wish to see. Parking system was good.

Room Tip: Corner with ocean and mountain views are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to see these guests had a wonderful time, and found us to be unique! I'm glad they enjoyed their stay, from views, food and beverage and of course the location! They offer some great tips too. FYI, our luau, authentic food, music and dance operates M/T/W & F, from 5p-8p,.Expectations met, and vacation enjoyed, mission accomplished! Glad they had a nice time, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Kona Resort as part of a tour with Trafalgar in mid-March. We had a second floor room on a corner, overlooking the pool and the ocean. At first glance our room appeared to be adequate, but we soon discovered urine stains around the toilet, dirty bathtub, dark stains in the carpeting in the room itself, finger prints in the glass-top table, etc. Room maintenance folks attempted to "clean up" the room, but by that time our first impressions had been made and we were very disappointed and even hesitant to use the facilities. Friends in another room discovered cigarette butts on the floor outside their sliding door, which alarmed them since they had to sign a "no-smoking" agreement before entering the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha TA family, Its always concerning to read a review where a guest had such a bad experience. I've sent them a personal message to review which room they occupied, in an effort to rectify the issues they mentioned. FYI, we are a non smoking resort, with designated smoking areas, not everyone follows the rules, but we do our best to keep our guests informed. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing