We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is great! It's close to all restaurants/bars, sights, and shops. It's clean, a little dated, but nothing serious. All staff are very helpful and welcoming. The luau is great. Don The Beachcomber's Tiki Grill was fabulous! Didn't have one bad meal/drink when we went. This is one of the cheaper hotels in the area, and it's worth every penny! We tried the Lotus Spa on our first day...I wouldn't recommend, but I'll give that a fair review elsewhere.
Thanks for a great stay Royal Kona!

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View rooms, are just as good as ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayleyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Aloha TA family, great to hear these guests from Canada thought our resort was a great place to stay! They nailed, it, great location, food, beverage, luau, staff, did I mention location? LOL It's always nice to hear we've met and exceeded guest expectations, it's our goal to provide wonderful memories. We'll see them again I'm sure, A Hui Hou!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Royal Kona! We stayed in mid-April with great weather to enjoy the salt water lagoon on one side of the resort. The outdoor bar and restaurants were very nice too. We upgraded to an ocean front room so our balcony overlooked the prime view of Kailua-Kona. We walked everywhere in town but rented a car to see volcanoes.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingjaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Aloha TA family, glad these visitors from PA had a great stay in Hawaii and enjoyed the views, Don's Mai Tai Bar and our lagoon, not to mention the location that our resort offers. We hope to see them again on their return to Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is right on the lava rocks with the surf crashing all around. Never used the air-conditioning-just left the big sliding doors open all night. It's at the south edge of Kona town on the bay so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Get a King Corner room with a wrap around terrace, the Alii Tower is the main part of the hotel with the bars and restaurant. We stayed in the Lagoon Tower this visit- last visit was in Alii Tower. Lagoon was quieter with views of the lagoon and down the coast. Most of our "room time" was spent on the terrace and, like other reviews say, the rooms are a little dated but so what, the view and location trumped that. Go to Umekes for take-out poke and bring it back with a bottle of wine and watch the sunset from the terrace.

Room Tip: Get a King Corner room. They have a large wrap around terrace and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 180michaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, it's great to see another great review from one of our valued return guests. Great tips too about room locations and "pupu" suggestions. Like a say over and over, please do your homework wherever you travels take you. Make sure your budget matches your wants, needs and accommodation requirements. There are many choices on the island, choose carefully. call, ask questions etc. Our goal is happy guest, who return year after year. Looks like we nailed it here! Much mahalo, I Hui Hou! (until we meet again!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The property is beautiful. The view is great. The grill has great food and drinks that match the view. We were there during the March Madness of basketball and it was fun sitting in the bar with the big screens and mia tias.
The service was great. Everybody there wanted you to have a great vacation.
The big negative is the property, although beautiful, is tired. The property needs some help. We had a great ocean front corner room. (Which means we had a wrap around deck. Very nice.) The room looked over the ocean and the pool. Great location.
The location is why we pick this property and why I would pick it again. We could walk to town which had great shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are side rooms. We had an ocean front. Either would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wetravelsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Front Office Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Aloha TA family, great to know these guests enjoyed their stay with us, and our amazing staff took VIP care of them. They have some great tips too! It's true, we're not the newest kid on the block, but we do strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort for our guests, allowing for the best value for location in town. Glad they have fun, we'll look forward to their return again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Hotel is amazing. We stayed in the Alii Tower and had a ocean view room. The location is central and you can walk to all the shops. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. Don' Mai Tai was the perfect place to sit in the evenings and watch the sunsets which were truly spectacular. The salt water lagoon was great place to chill and relax and sometimes swim with the resident turtle.

The rooms were pleasant and serviced daily. The only thing that let the rooms down were the extrememly old and uncomfortable beds.

We are planning on coming back to Hawaii in two years and will be booking in the Royal Kona again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisawesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Aloha TA family, nice to see our friends and Senior Reviewers from Down Under had a great stay. Their sleep concerns are troubling, please know I've sent them a personal message to determine which room they occupied so we can rectify that. Glad all their expectations we're met, we'll look forward to seeing them in 2015! Mahalo and A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the bay tower and the view was great, we were on the north side and listened to the waves crashing against the shore at night was wonderful. The entertainment from the restaurants next to our hotel could be heard on our balcony at night so we went to the abc store across the street grabbed some drinks and listened to the music at night until 9:30 or 10:00. Very relaxing. Lots of eating places and allot of shops all within walking distance of the hotel. The restaurant on site had an all u could eat prime rib supper on Thursday night and it was excellent. Do try the Luau on site Mai tai's are served punch bowl style ask for extra rum in your glass if you want a stronger drink. The food is very good and the show was Great, best show that we seen on our trip ( we seen two others on two different islands ). The preferred seating for an extra $5 was well worth the closer seat to the stage and our table was the first to go up to eat. Go back for more food too if you are still hungry. We only stayed three nights and we would stay here again next time and for a longer stay too. Staff all around was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ervin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Aloha TA crew, great to see another TA contributor has a terrific stay with us. I'm glad we met, and in some cases exceeded their expectations. They took advantage of the great things our resort has to offer, 1. great value, 2. great location, 3. great food and beverage & luau, 4. did I mention great value? Again, glad they had a great time, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time around. A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Okay, so I paid a little more money for an Ocean Front room, and got upgraded to an amazing corner suite in the Lagoon tower with a huge balcony and the waves crashing quite literally 30 feet from our balcony. How amazing was it??? So amazing that every night after dinner, instead of going out we would stop at the ABC across the street and get some drinks and then just hang out in our room listening to the waves crashing. It was spectacular.

The room itself was a little bit dated, could use some updates, and was not the cleanest place I've ever stayed in (lots of dust on the wood panel closets.) But for Hawaii, it was pretty reasonably priced for an Ocean Front room. I was a little nervous about the security camera on our balcony... had they had an issue here in the past or something?

But I don't want to end on a sour note because our view and our entertainment (the ocean waves) were priceless.

Room Tip: The King corner suite in the Lagoon tower.... waves crashing 30 feet from you... best show in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Aloha TA family, great knowing these guest loved their room and view so much, they had a hard time leaving! Yes, our location is the best in Kona, especially for value too. Nailed it too, we're across the street from Alii Drive, with a myriad of shops, restaurants, night life, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier! I'm personally going to inspect the room to rectify the dusty cleanliness concerns, as soon as this guest replies to my personal message. Again, glad they enjoyed and shared. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $162 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing