We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property Great Views”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property Great Views”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The property is beautiful. The view is great. The grill has great food and drinks that match the view. We were there during the March Madness of basketball and it was fun sitting in the bar with the big screens and mia tias.
The service was great. Everybody there wanted you to have a great vacation.
The big negative is the property, although beautiful, is tired. The property needs some help. We had a great ocean front corner room. (Which means we had a wrap around deck. Very nice.) The room looked over the ocean and the pool. Great location.
The location is why we pick this property and why I would pick it again. We could walk to town which had great shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are side rooms. We had an ocean front. Either would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wetravelsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Front Office Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to know these guests enjoyed their stay with us, and our amazing staff took VIP care of them. They have some great tips too! It's true, we're not the newest kid on the block, but we do strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort for our guests, allowing for the best value for location in town. Glad they have fun, we'll look forward to their return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    1,148
    642
    283
    184
See reviews for
559
1,442
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Hotel is amazing. We stayed in the Alii Tower and had a ocean view room. The location is central and you can walk to all the shops. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. Don' Mai Tai was the perfect place to sit in the evenings and watch the sunsets which were truly spectacular. The salt water lagoon was great place to chill and relax and sometimes swim with the resident turtle.

The rooms were pleasant and serviced daily. The only thing that let the rooms down were the extrememly old and uncomfortable beds.

We are planning on coming back to Hawaii in two years and will be booking in the Royal Kona again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Aloha TA family, nice to see our friends and Senior Reviewers from Down Under had a great stay. Their sleep concerns are troubling, please know I've sent them a personal message to determine which room they occupied so we can rectify that. Glad all their expectations we're met, we'll look forward to seeing them in 2015! Mahalo and A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the bay tower and the view was great, we were on the north side and listened to the waves crashing against the shore at night was wonderful. The entertainment from the restaurants next to our hotel could be heard on our balcony at night so we went to the abc store across the street grabbed some drinks and listened to the music at night until 9:30 or 10:00. Very relaxing. Lots of eating places and allot of shops all within walking distance of the hotel. The restaurant on site had an all u could eat prime rib supper on Thursday night and it was excellent. Do try the Luau on site Mai tai's are served punch bowl style ask for extra rum in your glass if you want a stronger drink. The food is very good and the show was Great, best show that we seen on our trip ( we seen two others on two different islands ). The preferred seating for an extra $5 was well worth the closer seat to the stage and our table was the first to go up to eat. Go back for more food too if you are still hungry. We only stayed three nights and we would stay here again next time and for a longer stay too. Staff all around was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ervin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha TA crew, great to see another TA contributor has a terrific stay with us. I'm glad we met, and in some cases exceeded their expectations. They took advantage of the great things our resort has to offer, 1. great value, 2. great location, 3. great food and beverage & luau, 4. did I mention great value? Again, glad they had a great time, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time around. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Okay, so I paid a little more money for an Ocean Front room, and got upgraded to an amazing corner suite in the Lagoon tower with a huge balcony and the waves crashing quite literally 30 feet from our balcony. How amazing was it??? So amazing that every night after dinner, instead of going out we would stop at the ABC across the street and get some drinks and then just hang out in our room listening to the waves crashing. It was spectacular.

The room itself was a little bit dated, could use some updates, and was not the cleanest place I've ever stayed in (lots of dust on the wood panel closets.) But for Hawaii, it was pretty reasonably priced for an Ocean Front room. I was a little nervous about the security camera on our balcony... had they had an issue here in the past or something?

But I don't want to end on a sour note because our view and our entertainment (the ocean waves) were priceless.

Room Tip: The King corner suite in the Lagoon tower.... waves crashing 30 feet from you... best show in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, great knowing these guest loved their room and view so much, they had a hard time leaving! Yes, our location is the best in Kona, especially for value too. Nailed it too, we're across the street from Alii Drive, with a myriad of shops, restaurants, night life, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier! I'm personally going to inspect the room to rectify the dusty cleanliness concerns, as soon as this guest replies to my personal message. Again, glad they enjoyed and shared. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok I will start with YES this place is old like others have stated BUT it is my favourite place so far. Good on you Royal Kona for actually keeping a bit of history about the place! I loved it! My room was gorgeous. Nice older furniture with a little bar fridge that came in handy. 2 double beds, I slept we'll apart from the screaming children on the balcony next to us. The staff are lovely and the view... Devine! A short (or long if you want to go further) stroll to town and the salt water lagoon is beautiful. The pool looks well maintained and there are eating facilities within the resort. The travel desk is in the main lobby and they were fantastic in helping organise our tour. Forget the haters, this was my favourite and I will be back! Next time it will be longer than 3 nights though

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family,
Really nice to know these guest from Down Under really "get it" yes, we're not the newest kid on the block, or the fanciest, or a marble and glass palace. We're old school, Hawaiian Style, moderately priced for the best value for the best location in Kona. We strive to provide our guest with clean, well maintained rooms, (preferably without screaming children, but what are you gonna do?) and a well maintained comfortable resort for guests to enjoy. Again, glad they enjoyed their stay, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Cali
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location , they upgraded our room, from ocean view to ocean front for $24 per night. Rooms need a major over in the tower we were in. Ocean front was WAY too noisy with constant ocean waves crashing !!! Seriously!!!! The towels felt like sandpaper they were do thin. The people were so nice at the front desk and guest services--all and all it was a good experience .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, its great to know they had a nice stay, and found us to be a great value, even though the sounds of the ocean kept them awake. Interesting fact is some people have never seen the ocean let alone heard the ocean, but have waited their entire lives to experience it. Different strokes for different folks, still glad they enjoyed their stay on the Big Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Put the luau at the Royal Kona Resort on your Must Do list. .Great food. The line went very quickly and the show was fabulous. The fire dance was spectacular. Go for the VIP / seating well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha TA family, yes we've got a fantastic luau, noted to be the best in Kona for sure. With authentic music, dance and Hawaiian style food prepared fresh here on property, it's a wonderful cultural and entertaining experience. We even roast the guest of honor in the authentic Hawaiian Style Imu, (earthen oven) all day, each day. The Luau is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday Nights. Call direct for more information, glad they enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing