We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Views”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Views”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the bay tower and the view was great, we were on the north side and listened to the waves crashing against the shore at night was wonderful. The entertainment from the restaurants next to our hotel could be heard on our balcony at night so we went to the abc store across the street grabbed some drinks and listened to the music at night until 9:30 or 10:00. Very relaxing. Lots of eating places and allot of shops all within walking distance of the hotel. The restaurant on site had an all u could eat prime rib supper on Thursday night and it was excellent. Do try the Luau on site Mai tai's are served punch bowl style ask for extra rum in your glass if you want a stronger drink. The food is very good and the show was Great, best show that we seen on our trip ( we seen two others on two different islands ). The preferred seating for an extra $5 was well worth the closer seat to the stage and our table was the first to go up to eat. Go back for more food too if you are still hungry. We only stayed three nights and we would stay here again next time and for a longer stay too. Staff all around was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ervin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha TA crew, great to see another TA contributor has a terrific stay with us. I'm glad we met, and in some cases exceeded their expectations. They took advantage of the great things our resort has to offer, 1. great value, 2. great location, 3. great food and beverage & luau, 4. did I mention great value? Again, glad they had a great time, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time around. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    1,139
    626
    281
    181
See reviews for
547
1,418
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Okay, so I paid a little more money for an Ocean Front room, and got upgraded to an amazing corner suite in the Lagoon tower with a huge balcony and the waves crashing quite literally 30 feet from our balcony. How amazing was it??? So amazing that every night after dinner, instead of going out we would stop at the ABC across the street and get some drinks and then just hang out in our room listening to the waves crashing. It was spectacular.

The room itself was a little bit dated, could use some updates, and was not the cleanest place I've ever stayed in (lots of dust on the wood panel closets.) But for Hawaii, it was pretty reasonably priced for an Ocean Front room. I was a little nervous about the security camera on our balcony... had they had an issue here in the past or something?

But I don't want to end on a sour note because our view and our entertainment (the ocean waves) were priceless.

Room Tip: The King corner suite in the Lagoon tower.... waves crashing 30 feet from you... best show in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha TA family, great knowing these guest loved their room and view so much, they had a hard time leaving! Yes, our location is the best in Kona, especially for value too. Nailed it too, we're across the street from Alii Drive, with a myriad of shops, restaurants, night life, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier! I'm personally going to inspect the room to rectify the dusty cleanliness concerns, as soon as this guest replies to my personal message. Again, glad they enjoyed and shared. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok I will start with YES this place is old like others have stated BUT it is my favourite place so far. Good on you Royal Kona for actually keeping a bit of history about the place! I loved it! My room was gorgeous. Nice older furniture with a little bar fridge that came in handy. 2 double beds, I slept we'll apart from the screaming children on the balcony next to us. The staff are lovely and the view... Devine! A short (or long if you want to go further) stroll to town and the salt water lagoon is beautiful. The pool looks well maintained and there are eating facilities within the resort. The travel desk is in the main lobby and they were fantastic in helping organise our tour. Forget the haters, this was my favourite and I will be back! Next time it will be longer than 3 nights though

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family,
Really nice to know these guest from Down Under really "get it" yes, we're not the newest kid on the block, or the fanciest, or a marble and glass palace. We're old school, Hawaiian Style, moderately priced for the best value for the best location in Kona. We strive to provide our guest with clean, well maintained rooms, (preferably without screaming children, but what are you gonna do?) and a well maintained comfortable resort for guests to enjoy. Again, glad they enjoyed their stay, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Cali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location , they upgraded our room, from ocean view to ocean front for $24 per night. Rooms need a major over in the tower we were in. Ocean front was WAY too noisy with constant ocean waves crashing !!! Seriously!!!! The towels felt like sandpaper they were do thin. The people were so nice at the front desk and guest services--all and all it was a good experience .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, its great to know they had a nice stay, and found us to be a great value, even though the sounds of the ocean kept them awake. Interesting fact is some people have never seen the ocean let alone heard the ocean, but have waited their entire lives to experience it. Different strokes for different folks, still glad they enjoyed their stay on the Big Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Put the luau at the Royal Kona Resort on your Must Do list. .Great food. The line went very quickly and the show was fabulous. The fire dance was spectacular. Go for the VIP / seating well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha TA family, yes we've got a fantastic luau, noted to be the best in Kona for sure. With authentic music, dance and Hawaiian style food prepared fresh here on property, it's a wonderful cultural and entertaining experience. We even roast the guest of honor in the authentic Hawaiian Style Imu, (earthen oven) all day, each day. The Luau is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday Nights. Call direct for more information, glad they enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Kona for 9 nine days at the end of January. It was part of a flight/hotel/car package we booked through an online booking agency. The hotel stay included a buffet breakfast each morning at the hotel's restaurant (beautiful situation). The buffet had a wide variety of offerings including hot items: oatmeal, eggs, mexican egg casserole and waffles with an awecome fruit topping as well as a daily offering of meat: bacon, ham or sausage. The usual cold items included yoghurt, pastries and fruit. The variety of fruit didn't change from the papaya, oranges and pineapple offered each day. The hostess at the restaurant was courteous and very friendly.
You couldn't ask for a better location for a hotel - right on the water with a view across the bay to downtown Kailua-Kona or out to sea to watch the hump back whales. Restaurants and shops are all within easy walking distance. The hotel grounds were well maintained and the open air lobby area looked onto a koi pond and flowering shrubs.
We had a room on the third floor in the main building of the three-building complex with a view of the ocean and the small swimming pool area as well as "coconut grove" where the luau took place 5 nights out of the 9 we were there. We were concerned about the sound carrying up to our room (which it did), but the luau ended shortly after 8pm each night, so noise wasn't an issue.
Our room was a good size but definitely in need of some upgrading. Our bathroom fixtures were old and some floor and wall tiles were cracked. But everthing did work and the room was cleaned daily. Would we pay the nightly rate if it weren't included in a package deal? Likely not. But if it's part of another good package deal, we would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, this was didn't get posted too, but I'm glad they had such a nice long stay with us. glad they found us a great value, and enjoyed everything we boast about on a regular basis, location, views, great food and beverage, and friendly staff. Did I mention great value? LOL Mahalo nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros: convenient location to the Kailua-Kona "village," oceanfront, nice grounds and ocean-side bar, amazing view of the ocean, which is quite close with the commensurate, tranquil sound of waves crashing, and fairly friendly/helpful staff. Cons: (removable) dirt in subtle locations in the room on arrival, extremely (30-40 years) outdated and worn fixtures including sliding glass doors and electrical and plumbing fixtures, an unappealing wall paint color with slight peeling in places, scuffed/peeling baseboards, damaged balcony "turf" covering, no guidebook (of hotel amenities and nearby attractions, etc.), and a bed which was much too firm.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms in the other two towers (not the Bay Tower) are better updated. You should also k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha TA family, I thought I responded to this too, please know I've already make contact with this guest and we've addressed the concerns in the room they occupied. We've taken care of this, and will look forward to seeing these guests when they return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing