We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$194
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$291
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$133
$114
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,039
$835
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $935/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kona Coast Resort(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,271)
Filter reviews
3,271 results
Traveler rating
702
1,303
736
322
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
1,303
736
322
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingour honeymoonwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
1,817 - 1,822 of 3,271 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Okay, so I paid a little more money for an Ocean Front room, and got upgraded to an amazing corner suite in the Lagoon tower with a huge balcony and the waves crashing quite literally 30 feet from our balcony. How amazing was it??? So amazing that every night after dinner, instead of going out we would stop at the ABC across the street and get some drinks and then just hang out in our room listening to the waves crashing. It was spectacular.

The room itself was a little bit dated, could use some updates, and was not the cleanest place I've ever stayed in (lots of dust on the wood panel closets.) But for Hawaii, it was pretty reasonably priced for an Ocean Front room. I was a little nervous about the security camera on our balcony... had they had an issue here in the past or something?

But I don't want to end on a sour note because our view and our entertainment (the ocean waves) were priceless.

Room Tip: The King corner suite in the Lagoon tower.... waves crashing 30 feet from you... best show in town.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Aloha TA family, great knowing these guest loved their room and view so much, they had a hard time leaving! Yes, our location is the best in Kona, especially for value too. Nailed it too, we're across the street from Alii Drive, with a myriad of shops, restaurants, night life, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier! I'm personally going to inspect the room to rectify the dusty cleanliness concerns, as soon as this guest replies to my personal message. Again, glad they enjoyed and shared. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ok I will start with YES this place is old like others have stated BUT it is my favourite place so far. Good on you Royal Kona for actually keeping a bit of history about the place! I loved it! My room was gorgeous. Nice older furniture with a little bar fridge that came in handy. 2 double beds, I slept we'll apart from the screaming children on the balcony next to us. The staff are lovely and the view... Devine! A short (or long if you want to go further) stroll to town and the salt water lagoon is beautiful. The pool looks well maintained and there are eating facilities within the resort. The travel desk is in the main lobby and they were fantastic in helping organise our tour. Forget the haters, this was my favourite and I will be back! Next time it will be longer than 3 nights though

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family,
Really nice to know these guest from Down Under really "get it" yes, we're not the newest kid on the block, or the fanciest, or a marble and glass palace. We're old school, Hawaiian Style, moderately priced for the best value for the best location in Kona. We strive to provide our guest with clean, well maintained rooms, (preferably without screaming children, but what are you gonna do?) and a well maintained comfortable resort for guests to enjoy. Again, glad they enjoyed their stay, we'll look forward to welcoming them back for a longer stay next time. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location , they upgraded our room, from ocean view to ocean front for $24 per night. Rooms need a major over in the tower we were in. Ocean front was WAY too noisy with constant ocean waves crashing !!! Seriously!!!! The towels felt like sandpaper they were do thin. The people were so nice at the front desk and guest services--all and all it was a good experience .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, its great to know they had a nice stay, and found us to be a great value, even though the sounds of the ocean kept them awake. Interesting fact is some people have never seen the ocean let alone heard the ocean, but have waited their entire lives to experience it. Different strokes for different folks, still glad they enjoyed their stay on the Big Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Put the luau at the Royal Kona Resort on your Must Do list. .Great food. The line went very quickly and the show was fabulous. The fire dance was spectacular. Go for the VIP / seating well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Aloha TA family, yes we've got a fantastic luau, noted to be the best in Kona for sure. With authentic music, dance and Hawaiian style food prepared fresh here on property, it's a wonderful cultural and entertaining experience. We even roast the guest of honor in the authentic Hawaiian Style Imu, (earthen oven) all day, each day. The Luau is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday Nights. Call direct for more information, glad they enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Kona for 9 nine days at the end of January. It was part of a flight/hotel/car package we booked through an online booking agency. The hotel stay included a buffet breakfast each morning at the hotel's restaurant (beautiful situation). The buffet had a wide variety of offerings including hot items: oatmeal, eggs, mexican egg casserole and waffles with an awecome fruit topping as well as a daily offering of meat: bacon, ham or sausage. The usual cold items included yoghurt, pastries and fruit. The variety of fruit didn't change from the papaya, oranges and pineapple offered each day. The hostess at the restaurant was courteous and very friendly.
You couldn't ask for a better location for a hotel - right on the water with a view across the bay to downtown Kailua-Kona or out to sea to watch the hump back whales. Restaurants and shops are all within easy walking distance. The hotel grounds were well maintained and the open air lobby area looked onto a koi pond and flowering shrubs.
We had a room on the third floor in the main building of the three-building complex with a view of the ocean and the small swimming pool area as well as "coconut grove" where the luau took place 5 nights out of the 9 we were there. We were concerned about the sound carrying up to our room (which it did), but the luau ended shortly after 8pm each night, so noise wasn't an issue.
Our room was a good size but definitely in need of some upgrading. Our bathroom fixtures were old and some floor and wall tiles were cracked. But everthing did work and the room was cleaned daily. Would we pay the nightly rate if it weren't included in a package deal? Likely not. But if it's part of another good package deal, we would return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, this was didn't get posted too, but I'm glad they had such a nice long stay with us. glad they found us a great value, and enjoyed everything we boast about on a regular basis, location, views, great food and beverage, and friendly staff. Did I mention great value? LOL Mahalo nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews