We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$292
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$939
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Coast Resort(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,272)
Filter reviews
3,272 results
Traveler rating
702
1,304
736
322
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
1,304
736
322
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingour honeymoonwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
1,823 - 1,828 of 3,272 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros: convenient location to the Kailua-Kona "village," oceanfront, nice grounds and ocean-side bar, amazing view of the ocean, which is quite close with the commensurate, tranquil sound of waves crashing, and fairly friendly/helpful staff. Cons: (removable) dirt in subtle locations in the room on arrival, extremely (30-40 years) outdated and worn fixtures including sliding glass doors and electrical and plumbing fixtures, an unappealing wall paint color with slight peeling in places, scuffed/peeling baseboards, damaged balcony "turf" covering, no guidebook (of hotel amenities and nearby attractions, etc.), and a bed which was much too firm.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms in the other two towers (not the Bay Tower) are better updated. You should also know that weddings are held frequently in the sandy area next to the tower, and this is very loud until 10pm.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, I thought I responded to this too, please know I've already make contact with this guest and we've addressed the concerns in the room they occupied. We've taken care of this, and will look forward to seeing these guests when they return. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pricelined this for $110/night dbl/dbl.
Cannot beat the location.
is a tired hotel, but has the location going for it, but needs some updating. Don't overpay and set your expectations accordingly.
Our room was clean, but tired. bed/linens were all clean and that for us is what matters the most. The little mini fridge is a nice feature to put some drinks into at the end of the day. We stayed in the building directly south of the main check in counter.

Room Tip: Ask if anything with an oceanview is available
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron_kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha TA family, I replied to this last week, not sure why it didn't post. Main thing to remember, we're not the newest kid on the block, not claim to be, but we do strive to provide clean well maintained rooms and facility at the best value for location in Kona. Glad they had a nice time, we'll see them back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

1 star for the 1st room we were given. Room was in 1st floor in lagoon tower, ocean front. Initial impression upon walking in: stinky musty smell, dusty (sliding door shutters very dusty, shelf in closet doubly dusty, floor edges and carpet around the furniture were triple dusty). Seemed these areas were never cleaned. Bathroom was dark as one light bulb was burnt out. Bathtub overflow cover was black around the edges. Water stain on ceiling above the left side of the bed. Bed was lop-sided (lower on right side; maybe because guests who slept in the bed would roll toward right side to avoid getting leaked on from whatever was leaking from the ceiling above left side). Ants were on end tables (I was afraid to lay anything there). No privacy on lanai. Finally had enough after 1 hour of smelly dusty room, so asked for another room. At least they accommodated the request to be moved. 2nd room was way better (willing to rate 4 stars for the 2nd room).

Room Tip: Room in the Ali'i main tower was cleaner; the higher the floor the better.
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank xx162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha TA family, YIKES! Another bad one, sorry to hear these guests had such poor things to say about their room. I'm glad we were able to move them to another room. Sent them a personal email to determine what their room was on arrival. We try very hard to offer the best value for location in town. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location to walk the town. Right across from abc store and restaurants. We stayed in the Bay tower and had views of the bay and ocean. Clean room with fridge. Nice bar and restaurant on the water. Small pool but not crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracer243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha TA family, great to see another Senior Reviewer had a pleasant stay with us. We do have the best location, offering the best value for price paid in Kona. We strive to provided clean well maintained rooms and grounds, and are continually working to keep this up! I'm so glad they had a nice time and shared with us! Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunate , this was a bad experience for us , we have stayed in the lagoon building (there are 3 buildings ) . We got a room right next to the elevator , what I guess is ok . But the room was run down , old , dirty and unmaintained . There was mold in the corner of the room , next to the bed , so I have asked for an other room . that room was the same story but no mold , so we stayed . We were there only 1 night , which is good , because we wouldn't have stayed an other night . Maybe the rooms in the other buildings are nicer , but I would not stay here ever again . I have seen an other person's review with these same issues , and the pictures were totally accurate . They charge $10 for parking a night , what I did not like either . All in all they need better housekeepers and a whole facelift .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hungirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha TA family, looks like we missed the mark on this one. Have sent a personal message to the guest to determine which room they occupied, so we can rectify these discrepancies. We strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms, and seems we missed it here. We'll get to the bottom of this one, sorry they didn't enjoy their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews