We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$191
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,272)
Filter reviews
3,272 results
Traveler rating
702
1,304
736
322
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
1,304
736
322
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingour honeymoonwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
1,831 - 1,836 of 3,272 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort. Meeds to be updated and the grounds need some love. Everyone here is very helpful and nice. When we checked in we had paid for a partial ocean view and was given a free upgrade to a full ocean view. Great location you are in walking distance of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agypsy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Aloha TA family, everybody needs some love some time, and this TA Senior Reviewer sent a whole lot our way. Nice to know we met their expectations and they really enjoyed our perfect location and views. Always do your homework, so you too can enjoy your much deserved vacation without any surprises wherever your travels take you. Glad theses guest had a wonderful time. A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Royal Kona is a great choice if you want to be within walking distance of restaurants ad shopping. Many choices are literally right outside the front door. We had an oceanfront room with a great view of the lagoon. There is a nice pool area and open-air bar. If you don't want to spend the money for a pricey dinner at their restaurant (Don the Beachcomber's), I would recommend sitting at the bar and ordering from their menu. The Huli-Huli chicken sandwich is delicious. The one negative we had was that we were given a room with two double beds when we booked a king room. They didn't have any king rooms available the first night, and we had to wait until the next day, which is kind of a pain because you can't unpack. All in all, this hotel is a great value for the money.

Room Tip: The south side of the Lagoon Tower's rooms have been updated and provide a great view of the lagoon/ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGirl4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Aloha TA family, always nice to see that a TA Senior Reviewer had a terrific stay. Looks like we met almost all of their expectations. We try very hard to accommodate guest requests, especially bedding, though there are occasions when we are unable. Glad we were able to switch them to a nice ocean front room in the lagoon tower. The food and drinks are great as mentioned at the Mai Tai Bar, and we have special Happy Hour prices from 4p-6p daily too. Glad they had a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed one night in March 2013. Would stay there again.

Pros: Well kept grounds, clean large rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff, great location in Kona, Well priced,
Great location - close to airport (8 miles) so especially convenient after flying in from the mainland.
Hotel is about a 3 minute walk to Huggo's on the Rocks for great dinner and Mai Tais, BASIK cafe for awesome breakfast, and 5 minute walk to LAVA JAVA for morning coffee.

Cons: None really.

Parking will cost you additional $10 per night

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean Front Room if you can - it is worth it Ask to be located in the main building, not the side towers.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller187B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha TA family, I love the Pros, and love the Cons even better. Classic review from a well traveled TA Contributor. Glad to know they had a nice time, and enjoyed all the things we boast about, clean well maintained rooms and grounds, friendly staff, and perfect location. Everything covered and more. We'll look forward to their return soon, I hear it just snowed again in OH, "Lucky we live Hawaii" we say here! Much Aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a 5 night stay at the Hotel in February..chosen because of our great experience in 2012. The location proved again to be superlative- spectacular oceanside venue.. and this year , with dolphins cavorting ,and some whale sightings from our balcony!!
Our visit this year was made special by the staff- we recognized several from our visit last year, and , more importantly, they warmly acknowledged us as previous guests...
The morning hostess at the dining room is special-she advised that she has worked there for over twenty years- and gave us a farewell hug on our last morning....
Its all about the people, and this hotel has some great ones! They will be a big part of why we return in future...

Room Tip: Spectacular views from the oceanside rooms. Oceanside corner rooms are even better! Value is compromised by add on charges for wifi and parking, but still pretty good overall.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha TA family, it's reviews like this that make me realize why I do what I do. Our goal in life as hoteliers is to ensure that we meet and in most cases exceed our guest expectations. We strive to provide a clean well maintained resort, and warm friendly staff. Our food and beverage team always does a great job and doesn't disappoint either! Every so often "things" happen, regardless if its a five star or two star hotel, things just happen its inevitable. But its how the staff handles these situation that matters. Not sure where that came from, just trying to put things in perspective. So glad these return guests had an amazing stay, and we lived up to their every expectations, mission accomplished. We'll look forward to seeing them again soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here two years in a row. The room was adequate since we don't spend too much time inside anyway. I really liked the location relative to downtown. The open air bar faces the ocean and is a perfect spot to catch the sunset. Given the location and quality, the price was competitive and I would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onefishyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha! Nice to see our return visitors from AK had another nice stay. Appreciate that they enjoy the views, and location, which we boast about. We strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort, owning the best value for location in town. Make sure you do your homework, so you too will have a wonderful, well deserved vacation with no surprises wherever your travels take you. We'll look forward to seeing them on the return guest list again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews